Can you/how to create synth sounds?

For all users of Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 und HALion Sonic 2

Can you/how to create synth sounds?

Postby RobotNoah » Wed Apr 17, 2013 12:34 am

Hi guys, I bought Halion Sonic (as the Absolute VST bundle with Dark Planet, Triebwerk, etc.) in November, only a few weeks before I bought NI Massive. I soon found myself using Massive as my main sound creator and Sonic as a drum kit, but I've been wanting to utilize Sonic a bit more. After a few months of looking, I've yet to find any way to start off with a blank sound and add/edit oscillators in Sonic as a wavetable synth.

Does Halion Sonic have this function? From the screenshots I've seen, it looks like it does, but I couldn't find anything in the PDF manual, nor Google. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Also, I'm using Mac OSX 8 if that makes any difference.
Macbook Pro, 2.9 GHz Intel Quad Core i7, 8GB RAM, OSX 8
Cubase 6.5, HALion Sonic, NI Massive
Yamaha Motif xs8, Casio XW-P1, Korg MicroKorg, Roland TD-3, CI 1
RobotNoah
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 12:08 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Can you/how to create synth sounds?

Postby Elektrobolt » Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:05 am

Try loading the program "Init Program" into a slot.
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1317
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Can you/how to create synth sounds?

Postby RobotNoah » Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:24 am

Thanks for responding! Where is that option located? I'm on program 6 according to the multi program rack with the 'Load' tab selected, but I'm not seeing anything named Init Program. Is it supposed to be with the instrument sets, or am I looking in the wrong place?
Macbook Pro, 2.9 GHz Intel Quad Core i7, 8GB RAM, OSX 8
Cubase 6.5, HALion Sonic, NI Massive
Yamaha Motif xs8, Casio XW-P1, Korg MicroKorg, Roland TD-3, CI 1
RobotNoah
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 12:08 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Can you/how to create synth sounds?

Postby curteye » Thu Apr 18, 2013 2:41 pm

Aloha R,

IMHO
Halion Sonic is more of a sample playback plug with some editing capabilities.
and some other great features.
And while you might be able to create some sounds from scratch,
HAL SONIC is not really suited to that purpose.

You cant even import aif or wav samples into it.

If you want to stick with Steiny plugs, what you want is the full blown 'Halion' plug
There you can do it all.

BTW
I'm having a wonderful time creating new and different sounds with
Padshop. And I don't even have the 'Pro' version.

Good luck.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4342
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: Can you/how to create synth sounds?

Postby Elektrobolt » Fri Apr 19, 2013 1:46 am

RobotNoah wrote:Thanks for responding! Where is that option located? I'm on program 6 according to the multi program rack with the 'Load' tab selected, but I'm not seeing anything named Init Program. Is it supposed to be with the instrument sets, or am I looking in the wrong place?

Click on the drop down "arrow" (triangle) for one of the 16 program slots on the left hand side, as you would if you wanted to load a program into a slot. This way the browser comes up in "program" search mode. Now find and select the "Init Program".
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1317
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Can you/how to create synth sounds?

Postby RobotNoah » Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:37 am

Thanks everyone, still can't find "Init Program"(I must have either deleted it by accident or I'm blind, haha), but I think I'll give Padshop a good try and stick to Sonic for drum and organ patches.
Macbook Pro, 2.9 GHz Intel Quad Core i7, 8GB RAM, OSX 8
Cubase 6.5, HALion Sonic, NI Massive
Yamaha Motif xs8, Casio XW-P1, Korg MicroKorg, Roland TD-3, CI 1
RobotNoah
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 12:08 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Can you/how to create synth sounds?

Postby mpayne0 » Mon May 06, 2013 1:53 pm

At the least maybe you can layer in some sustained single timbre sounds into a few layers and carve into a rich sound, then put THAT into Padshop.

You don't have control over the soundsources you load into Halion, ie. you cannot alter the original waveforms. You can only add to them.
mpayne0
Member
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 39 times


Return to Halion Sonic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests