Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby BriHar » Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:51 pm

According to Helge, this update to the tools, specifically regarding the EQ issue should be released about the 18th of Feb. 2013.
;)
viewtopic.php?f=175&t=34317&start=25#p220278
As you slide down the bannister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland

Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Guest » Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:36 pm

yes i know and if you look through the thread you will see how outraged i am about the non committal of a date and yet there is still no notification on the cmc thread to confirm this
Guest
 

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby killawattz » Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:47 pm

I have a QC.

I think I'll refrain from buying C7 until this issue is sorted out.
killawattz
Junior Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby BriHar » Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:05 am

I wouldn't let it put you off. The issue will definitely be sorted,
There's a lot of stuff to learn in C7, and you can have concurrent installations of 7 and 6 or earlier versions.
By the time you're up to speed in 7 the update will be there. ;)
As you slide down the bannister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland

Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Guest » Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:32 am

on the other hand we have had this issue since the release of c7 and have no firm date for a fix so i would hold off till it's released
Guest
 

Re:

Postby jgaryt » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:28 pm

JMCecil wrote:Again, QC no longer goes into "dark" mode when exiting Cubase. It goes to MIDI mode with all of the QC knobs powered up. Please turn everything off when exiting Cubase.


RTM. This is by design. Just hit the "EQ" button, or other, to turn them off.
-jgaryt-
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cubase 7.0.2 | Windows7 64 | Xeon 3.5 | 16GB RAM | 2x24" LCD's | Logitech G15 Keyboard
CMC-QC | CMC-CH | CMC-TP | CMC-AI | CMC-PD | M-Audio Keystation Pro88 | M-Audio 88es | Akai MPK-mini | Focusrite Saffire 2x2 | Edirol UR-80 | Behringer X2442USB
Halion Sonic | Treibwerk | HSO | Dark Planet | DubStep VST | Groove Agent 3.0.2.14
JamStix 3.5.x | 4Front TruePianos 1.0.2 | IK Sonik Synth 2 | Amplitude Duo | T-Racks3
Oberheim Matrix6R | Roland JX8P | Korg MonoPoly | Yamaha RY30 | Yamaha PSR 640 | Ensoniq Mirage | Shure KSM32
1979 Kramer DMZ6000B Bass | 1960's Guild Freshman 3/4 Hollowbody | Greg Bennett Stratocaster Copy | Yamaha Concertmaster Acoustic
*piles of other stuff that sometimes gets used *
jgaryt
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 6:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re:

Postby JMCecil » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:53 pm

jgaryt wrote:
JMCecil wrote:Again, QC no longer goes into "dark" mode when exiting Cubase. It goes to MIDI mode with all of the QC knobs powered up. Please turn everything off when exiting Cubase.


RTM. This is by design. Just hit the "EQ" button, or other, to turn them off.

It used to NOT be by design ... It needs to turn itself off when I close the program that it is attached to like the other controllers do.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3716
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Lundin » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:26 pm

I read somewhere that all issues would be solved in this update.. but.. apparently not everything were solved?

1.
Hiding a midichannel from mixerview should hide it in the CMC-FD, but how i try i can't get it to work.
Inputchannels doesn't show up either..

2.
Using Zoom-function from TP in keyedit doesn't work anymore.. it zoom's the projectwindow in the background though.
Lundin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby JMCecil » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:31 pm

Lundin wrote:I read somewhere that all issues would be solved in this update.. but.. apparently not everything were solved?

1.
Hiding a midichannel from mixerview should hide it in the CMC-FD, but how i try i can't get it to work.
Inputchannels doesn't show up either..

2.
Using Zoom-function from TP in keyedit doesn't work anymore.. it zoom's the projectwindow in the background though.

I'm pretty sure we are waiting on an update to the CMC software to fix the problems.
EDIT: Apologies, I didn't see that it had been released.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3716
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby JMCecil » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:02 pm

At least the knobs are turned off when exiting. Thank you for that ... can you please just turn it off when exiting that app though? I mean even the fader stays on on the CH.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3716
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby BriHar » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:27 am

Well the QC now controls EQ as it should :D

The issue with going into Midi mode when quitting Cubase is as jgaryt stated "by design".
This is explained in the Operating Manual.
The QC can function as a standalone midi controller when not being used in Cubase. In order to facilitate this, it must be in midi mode. If it's just the knobs being lit, I believe you can change this e.g. using the editor.

I'm not saying your request is wrong, I'm sure that this behaviour could be made an option. So, perhaps in a later update...
As you slide down the bannister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland

Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby JMCecil » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:29 pm

BriHar wrote:Well the QC now controls EQ as it should :D

The issue with going into Midi mode when quitting Cubase is as jgaryt stated "by design".
This is explained in the Operating Manual.
The QC can function as a standalone midi controller when not being used in Cubase. In order to facilitate this, it must be in midi mode. If it's just the knobs being lit, I believe you can change this e.g. using the editor.

I'm not saying your request is wrong, I'm sure that this behaviour could be made an option. So, perhaps in a later update...

As I said before, I know it is by design. But, it is by a stupid design. If I want to use it as a stand alone MIDI controller, I can hit the MIDI button. If not, then you know ... stay off. At least the knobs are now properly zeroed.

But, no needed improvements like shift lock or the irritating "I'M HERE" message polling. Again by stupid design. It is in the MIDI spec, which the rest of the world implemented the way that doesn't irritate the users of their MIDI devices. So, back to unplugging them and in the closet they go until when/if there is another patch.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3716
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Guest » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:41 pm

and have you noticed the eq's are set up different for c7 it's "Q" and gain control instead of frequency and gain ? not the same as c6 ;)
Guest
 

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby BriHar » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:57 pm

filterfreak wrote:and have you noticed the eq's are set up different for c7 it's "Q" and gain control instead of frequency and gain ? not the same as c6 ;)

Only if you have the I/Q Learn button pressed as well otherwise it's freq and gain. It's explained in the manual.
;)
As you slide down the bannister of life, may the splinters never point the wrong way.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland

Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby JMCecil » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:58 pm

filterfreak wrote:and have you noticed the eq's are set up different for c7 it's "Q" and gain control instead of frequency and gain ? not the same as c6 ;)

hmmm ... since I had them boxed until the patch, I didn't notice. Doing this from memory ..

no mod
Top row = gain bottom row = freq

I/O button enabled
Top row = gain bottom row = Q

Isn't that how it was before?
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3716
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Guest » Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:03 pm

your so right jm i completely forgot about the learn button lol cheers chap ;)
Guest
 

Re: Known issues with Cubase 7 and CMC

Postby Lundin » Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:47 pm

Here's my list of stuff i can't get to work.. it would be splendid if somebody could verify.
Windows 8 64-bit
Cubase 7.0.2 64-bit
Tools 1.1.2 (XX-bit?)

1. CMC-FD: Excluding channels from view in mixconsole which should hide them from view in the faderstrip doesn't work - they still show up [CONFIRMED / Solved in 7.0.3 ]

2. CMC-FD: Touch-mode doesn't seem to work: The fader jump to where the finger is placed regardless of this setting in preferences. i.e setting this to eoither Jump or touch renders the same result.

3. CMC-FD: Setting a channel to "mute" or "solo" by using shift+ touching the faderstrip is no longer restricted to the bottom or the top of the faderstrip, it seems the "divider" is somewhere in the middle.

4. CMC-TP: Zooming in editors does'nt work

5. CMC-QC: When EQ gain on any channel is Zero the LED is still lit, i.e it's set to ramp-mode.. maybe this is possible to change but i couldn't find anything in the CQ-manual

There's probably more stuff
Lundin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 12:19 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Previous

Return to Steinberg CMC Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests