What CMC units are you missing? (That does not exist)

This section is about Steinberg's CMC controllers

What CMC units are you missing? (That does not exist)

Postby cubace » Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:04 pm

Im missing av CMC-MC. A monitor control unit. Turn on/off click, master volume etc.
cubace
Member
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: What CMC units are you missing? (That does not exist)

Postby Home Studio 87 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:18 pm

A Control Room call "CMC CR" With monitoring clic talk & rounting (Mix/Cue) & with the possibilities of controlling the sends cues of the selected channel ! ;)
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 / Intel Corei7 2600k / 16384 Mo DDR3 / Seven x64 / UAD2 Quad & 2x UAD2 Duo / RME HDSP Multiface PCIe / CMC Controllers / Faderport / iPad 3 / Cubase 7.5 x64...
User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: What CMC units are you missing? (That does not exist)

Postby BriHar » Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:32 pm

Using the Control room in conjunction with the UR28M gives me everything I need in that department.
It would be nice if the CMC-EQ would automatically let the knobs be used to control the highlighted rack on the channel strip though, so perhaps a 'CMC-CS' channel strip controller might not be amiss.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Re: What CMC units are you missing? (That does not exist)

Postby Guest » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:29 pm

yes I must admit the CMC-CR sounds like a very good idea ,for your listen functions and choosing your monitors and mono mix , then maybe it might allow you to have the loudness meters on display instead of the CR .
good call ;)
Guest
 

Re: What CMC units are you missing? (That does not exist)

Postby cpechet » Sat Mar 30, 2013 10:47 pm

I would like an FD with real flying faders and TFT for channel information.
Windows 7/64 / Cubase 7.0.3 / Intel i7 2600 / 16GB / 512 GB Crucial SSD / Lynx Aurora 8ch FW / CMC FD x4 / CMC PD / CMC CH / CMC TP / CMC AI / http://www.vintagebin.ca
cpechet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What CMC units are you missing? (That does not exist)

Postby Guest » Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:13 pm

it would be nice if Steinberg or Yamaha came up with a mid priced controller instead of either end of the price scale and a real fader jobby would be lovely ;)
Guest
 

Re: What CMC units are you missing? (That does not exist)

Postby cpechet » Sun Mar 31, 2013 3:33 pm

Yes, I agree entirely although I must admit I do like the idea of the modular controller. I just think the CMC series is incomplete in terms of product mix (EG monitor section as mentioned in this thread) and lacks fundamental features which could take the product line to a new level. I recognize there are limitations in terms of what you can do with 500 mA per device which probably explains the absence of displays/motors etc. but perhaps the communication paradigm should be reexamined anyhow (who wants 8 USB cables lying all over the place?). In any event, I would like to see something evolve out of this whether it is a mid-priced integrated controller (something like the SSL Nucleus without the analog thingies) or even a Mackie-priced extendable controller with a sleeker form factor (I want to like the Mackie but it just looks so clunky to me). If the Avid C24 series had Eucon and an analog-free option (no pres etc.) I would jump at it.
Windows 7/64 / Cubase 7.0.3 / Intel i7 2600 / 16GB / 512 GB Crucial SSD / Lynx Aurora 8ch FW / CMC FD x4 / CMC PD / CMC CH / CMC TP / CMC AI / http://www.vintagebin.ca
cpechet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Steinberg CMC Series

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest