2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby theRoyal1 » Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:52 am

MickGael wrote:
theRoyal1 wrote:
MickGael wrote:Btw, I submitted specific times comparing 6.5 to 7 for several kinds of projects to Helge. No word back yet. All of the test projects take 5 times longer to load and close in v7. It also takes longer to launch and close the apps themselves (with no projects).

What are your full system specs? (OS, SSD etc)
Did you originally create this in 32bit and are now opening in 64bit?
The e-license update is supposed to help with load times, have you tried that?
What is Largeish? 25, 40, 120 Tracks?

More info is needed form people with this problem in order to deduce and figure out why some do and some don't
Glad to oblige. :
My system specs:
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1090T
RAM: 16GB
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (64-bit) SP 1
6.5: 64-bit
7.0.1: 64-bit
Sound Card: RME Multiface (Driver v3.31)

All projects originally created in 64-bit.

eLicenser updated. No difference.

Small project = 1 instrument
Large = 5 MIDI tracks and 20 audio tracks

Still waiting to hear back from Helge.
I'd say that's a medium project :)

So far for me, the 3 things I'd look at 1st are the Drive configs, The SC/Midi Driver and if AMD is playing well with C7. i.e. the settings within Cubase...

QQ, Your Hard Drives, HDD or SSD and is everything on 1 drive or spread out?
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby MickGael » Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:10 pm

I appreciate your feedback. I have 4 drives: 1 each for OS, Programs, Data and Projects. As for the driver config, I was having no problems with 6.5. Can't imagine what it would be about the configs that C7 does not like.

Also worth noting: as of last night there was an updated RME driver (talk about timing!). After updating, the C7 load/close times are unchanged.

What internal Cubase settings would you suggest I look at? I wonder if Lapicide is also using an AMD CPU?
MickGael
Junior Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby galvinstephen » Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:47 pm

45 seconds here.

Longer than 6.5 yes. :cry:
Stephen Galvin
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 7.0.4, Sequel 3.0.1,

Desktop: Intel Duo 1866 MHz, 4GB RAM Intel SSD 120GB. Windows 7 Ultimate

Laptop: Lenovo Intel i7-2630 CPU @ 2GHz 8GB RAM. Windows 7 64bit. Intel SSD 120GB.

Focusrite Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
www.abcstudios.co.nz
galvinstephen
Member
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby Lapicide » Mon Feb 11, 2013 5:01 pm

I am using Intel Xeon.
MickGael, do you have 6.5 on the same system? I do and 6.5 is fine. So I wonder what changed. When opening 7.0 I don't see the "loading mixconsole" window , but with 7.01 I do see the "loading mixconsole" window especially all the inputs and outputs which go really slow when starting a project or opening an existing one.
Lapicide
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 6:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby MickGael » Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:55 pm

Yep, I still have 6.5 installed (working flawlessly), and I wonder the very same thing. I'm not in love with 7 generally, but these load/close times are crazy. Interesting catch on the "loading mixconsole"!

Still no word back from Helge, I'm afraid. I wish a Mod would at least chime in.
MickGael
Junior Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby doktari » Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:32 am

same problem here,

7.0 was fine but the 7.01 update screwed it up. Takes about 1 sec to load each input channel/track.
doktari
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby MickGael » Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:32 pm

Sure as hell hope that the imminent update fixes this. It has long since become very tiresome. :)
MickGael
Junior Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby Lapicide » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:53 am

MickGael wrote:Sure as hell hope that the imminent update fixes this. It has long since become very tiresome. :)


Same feeling here, I have been holding off on reinstalling from scratch, trying different video cards troubleshooting etc. hoping the issue will somehow for some reason improve with the update. Once I have some spare time I'll update, see what happens and go from there.
Lapicide
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 6:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby MickGael » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:12 pm

Curious to see if you experience any improvements in 7.0.2. I'm not. :(
MickGael
Junior Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby skug » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:15 pm

MickGael wrote:Curious to see if you experience any improvements in 7.0.2. I'm not. :(


Tried deleting your preferences?
skug
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby doktari » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:48 pm

just installed 7.02 and no change in load times. :cry:
doktari
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby doktari » Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:40 pm

skug wrote:
MickGael wrote:Curious to see if you experience any improvements in 7.0.2. I'm not. :(


Tried deleting your preferences?


hmm, which preferences?
doktari
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby suntower » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:08 pm

Question for Mick...

Are these projects imported from 6.x?

If so I am going to suggest that you uninstall/re-install from scratch... OR... don't bother trying to import. I say that well aware how often various numbskulls immediately jump to that as the cure for anything from acne to cancer.

However, I have had numerous (minor) 'flakeys' with Cubase 7 and -almost- all of them have to do with either
a) importing 6.0 CPRs
b) importing settings from 6.0

As vague and pseudo-science as this will sound, my strong feeling is that C7 has a -lot- of little changes to various file structures and just doesn't handle 'confusion' with certain elements of older CPRs and 6.x settings.

My issues have been with: MixConsole UI bugs. Retrospective Record periodically dying, Key Commands disappearing. Many program preferences being 'forgotten'. Generic Remote settings not working.

None of those problems seem to occur when I start with a 'fresh' project.

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby doktari » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:04 am

I tried renaming the defaults.xml, but this didn't seem to help load times.
I imported lots of the preference files from 6.5, but load times in 7.00 were fine.
Loading projects are slow no matter if they are a new 7 project or a 6.x or even nuendo 2.x.
7.02 did speed up the closing of preferences and device manager, from like 10 sec to 3-5. Still seems slow though.

Im on a i7 @ 4.0G with win7-64/cubase32/vst's on SSD.
doktari
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby suntower » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:11 am

Just out of curiosity: Why not run Cubase 64?

---JC

doktari wrote:I tried renaming the defaults.xml, but this didn't seem to help load times.
I imported lots of the preference files from 6.5, but load times in 7.00 were fine.
Loading projects are slow no matter if they are a new 7 project or a 6.x or even nuendo 2.x.
7.02 did speed up the closing of preferences and device manager, from like 10 sec to 3-5. Still seems slow though.

Im on a i7 @ 4.0G with win7-64/cubase32/vst's on SSD.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby doktari » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:14 am

some older vst's i use r not compatible, as well as compatibility for opening older projects that use non compatible vst64 plugs. I do mostly mixing/tracking so no real need for the extra memory of the 64bit.
doktari
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby suntower » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:21 am

Well... that does it for -my- technical acumen. I guess I wonder about interactions between the SSD and the HD. I've heard anecdotes from Adobe users re. large projects that actually run faster after disabling the SSD... turns out there is some issue where the 'caching' of the SATA controller between the HD and the SSD conflict.

What do I know. Just surprised. C7 really just seems like C6 with a new coat o' paint. But then, I never ran Cubase 32.

---JC

doktari wrote:some older vst's i use r not compatible, as well as compatibility for opening older projects that use non compatible vst64 plugs. I do mostly mixing/tracking so no real need for the extra memory of the 64bit.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 1TB HD, Win7/64 Ult
Second: Q8400 16gb RAM 3 1TB HD, Win7/64
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase 7.5, iCPro, WL7,
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby MickGael » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:48 pm

suntower wrote:Question for Mick...

Are these projects imported from 6.x?

If so I am going to suggest that you uninstall/re-install from scratch... OR... don't bother trying to import. I say that well aware how often various numbskulls immediately jump to that as the cure for anything from acne to cancer.

However, I have had numerous (minor) 'flakeys' with Cubase 7 and -almost- all of them have to do with either
a) importing 6.0 CPRs
b) importing settings from 6.0

As vague and pseudo-science as this will sound, my strong feeling is that C7 has a -lot- of little changes to various file structures and just doesn't handle 'confusion' with certain elements of older CPRs and 6.x settings.

My issues have been with: MixConsole UI bugs. Retrospective Record periodically dying, Key Commands disappearing. Many program preferences being 'forgotten'. Generic Remote settings not working.

None of those problems seem to occur when I start with a 'fresh' project.

---JC


Thanks for the responses above! For some reason, I no longer get email notification when subscribing to threads on this forum (despite the fact that I have not changed any account settings).

Yep, most of the projects began in 6.5, though the difference in load/close times is present even when starting a new project from C7. I really don't want to go through the hassle of an uninstall/reinstall unless I have no choice.

Both on here (and in KVR and Gearslutz) I am seeing other people experiencing the same problem. I have still not heard back from Steinberg Support on this. I would probably do well to work in 6.5 until this is resolved. Sure does feel solid by comparison.
MickGael
Junior Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby Maxim Komov » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:36 pm

Guys! I strongly recommend all those who experience such long times opening/closing projects, slow preferences menu browsing, to uninstall 7.0.2, cleaning all data on your HDD and registry and make clean install for Cubase 7.0. Then update to 7.0.2. Like I did 30 minutes ago. Problem fixed for me.
User avatar
Maxim Komov
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 9:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby MickGael » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:24 am

Ugh...

But thanks for the tip. I'll give it a try. :)
MickGael
Junior Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby Lapicide » Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:32 am

I deinstalled everything related to Cubase and all versions on my system. Deleted all folders etc. Reinstalled 7.0, and was pleasantly surprised. Noticeably faster, opening, closing, closing device setup. Then I installed 7.0.2, well back to long load times again. The loading popup slowly scrolls across, loading all channels 1 by one then loading mixconsole all inputs and outputs one by one. Again I wonder what was changed from 7.0.0 to 7.0.1 and 7.0.2.
Lapicide
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 6:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby Lapicide » Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:23 am

Seems I may have figured why I experience the slow down of loading projects with 7.0.1 and 7.0.2. The more vst plugins you have the slower the load. Strange that in 7.0.0 the number of plugins does not have an effect. I changed the name of the vstplugins folder, and 7.0.2 loaded almost immediately. I added plugin folders one at a time and slower and slower it would load. Now I do have a huge amount of plugins, like alot. I've been using Cubase since the 90's and have amassed a huge collection over the years. Guess it's telling me it's time to do some housekeeping.
Lapicide
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 6:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby Maxim Komov » Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:19 am

it's sounds strange, because i'm using a lot of vsts (UAD, Softube, Slate, Waves)... and it works fast.
User avatar
Maxim Komov
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 9:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby Lapicide » Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:41 pm

HMMM, that is strange. I see it load slow when no vst's are even in the project or a new empty project is started. I removed half of the plugins from the plugins folder and it speeds up. When I say alot of plugins I mean like alot present in the vstplugins folder, several hundred at least. 7.0.1 on up must be looking at the vst plugins that are installed when the project or even an empty project is started.
Lapicide
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 6:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 2:15 Minutes to Open Project?

Postby MickGael » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:03 pm

Lapicide wrote:I deinstalled everything related to Cubase and all versions on my system. Deleted all folders etc. Reinstalled 7.0, and was pleasantly surprised. Noticeably faster, opening, closing, closing device setup. Then I installed 7.0.2, well back to long load times again. The loading popup slowly scrolls across, loading all channels 1 by one then loading mixconsole all inputs and outputs one by one. Again I wonder what was changed from 7.0.0 to 7.0.1 and 7.0.2.


Interesting. Reinstalling all traces of Cubase is exactly what I do not want to do, and will be my last resort. And I foresee keeping 6.5 alive for the foreseeable future - still not sure about C7, but I do want a version that works as it should. No harm in trying to remove VSTs to see what happens. It's been close to 2 weeks since I contacted Helge and no word from Tech support.
MickGael
Junior Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:03 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boobar, gyorgyL and 4 guests