Tempo detection - smooth tempo?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Tempo detection - smooth tempo?

Postby Bacizone » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:38 pm

Hi,

I like the new tempo detection from Cubase 6 and 7, however one thing is strange:

I am sure the audio snippet I get analyzed has a steady tempo, e.g 138 bpm only.
As a result, the Project > Tempo Detection function makes some jumps and spikes between 135-141 bpm.

Manual says that all I need is to switch on the "Smooth Tempo" option to eliminate jumps and getting the steady tempo.

But the "Smooth Tempo" option is always greyed out! I can NOT select this option.

How to make "smooth tempo" working?

thanks
Baci
Last edited by Bacizone on Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Bacizone
Member
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:47 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Tempo detection - smooth tempo?

Postby Bacizone » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:46 pm

Anyone who tried this feature?
i7 2600K - Gigabyte GAZ68X-UD3H - 16 GB Corsair Vengeance - TC Powercore Unplugged | Windows 7 64-bit | Cubase 7.5.x 64-bit | HALion 5 64-bit | Genelec 8030 | Focusrite Saffire
Bacizone
Member
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:47 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Tempo detection - smooth tempo?

Postby N8 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:18 pm

Did you select points?
W7 64bit, XP SP3,LE1/ LE4/SX3/ C4/ C6.5/ C7.0.2 64bit, CI1, Firebox

Gob-smacked at the number of contestants for Dwarf #7.

If the sum total of IQs on this forum were applied to lightbulb wattage, it would create a black hole.
N8
Member
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Tempo detection - smooth tempo?

Postby N8 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:19 pm

Why use tempo detection if you know the tempo? :?
W7 64bit, XP SP3,LE1/ LE4/SX3/ C4/ C6.5/ C7.0.2 64bit, CI1, Firebox

Gob-smacked at the number of contestants for Dwarf #7.

If the sum total of IQs on this forum were applied to lightbulb wattage, it would create a black hole.
N8
Member
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 8:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Tempo detection - smooth tempo?

Postby Bacizone » Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:27 am

Before I use this function, I'd like to test it to make sure it delivers precise results. Jumping the tempo up and down at song with steady tempo is suspious to say the least. Hence I am testing it on one of my song.

Did you mean to select the tempo track points? Yes, I tried, but nothing changed.
Bacizone
Member
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:47 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 11 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: marQs, MoPro, mozizo, mpayne0, plectrumboy and 12 guests