[ISSUE] NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

[ISSUE] NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Niekbeem » Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:21 am

Does anyone experience the same?

When I export mixdown realtime, the volume with which NUENDO 6.0.3 plays back is far louder than in NUENDO 6.0.2?
I haven't changed the volume-slider which appears when you export in real-time......
One can even see the level-difference in the ControlRoom-meters, but since there is no scale you can't meter it.....

Why is this?
Can we still trust this piece of software?

Any help or same experiences welcome.
Niek/ Amsterdam.
Nuendo 6+NEK / Pro Tools 11HD / Logic X / MixBus 2 / WaveLab 8.5
MacPro 5.1 12Core 2.4 GHz Intel Xeon/ 24GB RAM
MacBook Pro 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo/ 8 GB RAM
Mac OSX 10.9
MetricHalo 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Control
Niekbeem
Junior Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby troupeaudio » Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:24 pm

I'm experiencing the same thing. However, it was somewhat louder than N5.5 in N6.02 now it is much louder in N6.03.
Joel Schwelling
The Troupe/Windham, NH USA
N5.5.4 (carefully checking out N6)/Mac 2X3 Ghz Dual-Core/10.7.5/6GB RAM/Apogee Ensemble/UAD-2//Blackmagic
www.thetroupe.com
troupeaudio
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby troupeaudio » Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:54 pm

However, the mixed file is at the right modulation.
Joel Schwelling
The Troupe/Windham, NH USA
N5.5.4 (carefully checking out N6)/Mac 2X3 Ghz Dual-Core/10.7.5/6GB RAM/Apogee Ensemble/UAD-2//Blackmagic
www.thetroupe.com
troupeaudio
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Thomas » Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:22 pm

Confirmed
The playback-volume increases about 6db as soon as Nuendo performs the realtime audioexport.
Can't speak for 6.02 though cause I did the first realtime export today with 6.03

and yes: the control room routing is correct !
Last edited by Thomas on Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:40 am, edited 2 times in total.
Win7 64 - i7 X980 - 24 GB Corsair DDR-3 - Corsair CSSD F120GB2 - 2x Seagate Sata3 2TB - Apollo Quad - UAD2 - Nuendo 6.5.20 64 - WaveLab 7
Thomas
Junior Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Headlands » Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:49 pm

Confirmed here, as well.
Nuendo 6 and Cubase 7.5, Win 7 x64, 16GB RAM, UAD2-QUAD, Lynx Aurora 8, RME HDSPe, lots and lots of toys.
Headlands
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:13 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Lydiot » Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:03 pm

With previous errors apparently trashing preferences helped. Have you guys tried it in this instance?
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby etl17 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:55 pm

One more confirmation here.
Nuendo 6 / Cubase 7.5 / Wavelab 8 / Windows 7 x64 / Custom build PC 990X, 24GB RAM / RME HDSPe / UAD 2 Quad / PoCo MkII
etl17
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Lydiot » Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:06 am

Did you guys try rebuilding preferences?

(Sorry for harping on about this. I understand it was probably lost or overlooked among the posts by the many SB employees chiming in on this)
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Thomas » Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:37 am

sorry for being slow-witted: what do you mean with "preferences" ?
My project templates or the complete N6 App preferences ?

As for the templates: yes I always rebuild my templates after installing a new N version
Win7 64 - i7 X980 - 24 GB Corsair DDR-3 - Corsair CSSD F120GB2 - 2x Seagate Sata3 2TB - Apollo Quad - UAD2 - Nuendo 6.5.20 64 - WaveLab 7
Thomas
Junior Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Lydiot » Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:02 pm

Actual app preferences.
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby troupeaudio » Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:45 pm

Trashed prefs. Still 6db louder on output.
Joel Schwelling
The Troupe/Windham, NH USA
N5.5.4 (carefully checking out N6)/Mac 2X3 Ghz Dual-Core/10.7.5/6GB RAM/Apogee Ensemble/UAD-2//Blackmagic
www.thetroupe.com
troupeaudio
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby jansmoczynski » Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:18 pm

Same situation, Guys form steinberg please, please check your products before upload it for us. I can;t belive you don't do at least one mixdown for try if everythink is ok.

I lost few hour of this day with this fake!

:(((((
jansmoczynski
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:57 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Thomas » Fri Mar 29, 2013 5:44 pm

Bredo wrote:Does this effect (or was it affect ;-)) the exported file and/or the playback only?


No, the exported file is correct, it affects only the playback volume during the mixdown
Win7 64 - i7 X980 - 24 GB Corsair DDR-3 - Corsair CSSD F120GB2 - 2x Seagate Sata3 2TB - Apollo Quad - UAD2 - Nuendo 6.5.20 64 - WaveLab 7
Thomas
Junior Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Lydiot » Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:11 pm

jansmoczynski wrote:Same situation, Guys form steinberg please, please check your products before upload it for us. I can;t belive you don't do at least one mixdown for try if everythink is ok.

I lost few hour of this day with this fake!

:(((((


I like your idea of having them check the software before they send it out. Heck, they might even want to check to make sure boxed version and download version is the same.
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby riwe » Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:33 am

jansmoczynski wrote:Same situation, Guys form steinberg please, please check your products before upload it for us. I can;t belive you don't do at least one mixdown for try if everythink is ok.

+100
N 6.5.30 (32Bit & 64Bit) + NEK | WL 8.5 (32Bit) | W7 Pro x64 | 16 GB RAM | RME HDSP MADI | UAD-2
riwe
Junior Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Big K » Sat Mar 30, 2013 11:58 am

Maybe the community should give them the time, then, to check e v e r y t h i n g ?
How about a Nuendo 6 release around 2015? As I see it now, N6 is comparatively well engineered and stabil.
For me, there are no real showstoppers in it, at least not for my shows...

And it couldn't, since I have never been so valiant to install major upgrades on my
production machines, right away. At least, I don't use them for production before
I know them well and the usual bugs have been revealed and fixed, like this one will be, soon.

I am quite sure that the first forum members are already copying and tweaking some of their older posts to read:
When will Nuendo 7 be released..(.LOL ...). We need it urgently, because Cubase might be a millisecond earlier
on the market and all world breaks down ...

;)

Big K
Presonus Studio ONE, Harrison Mixbus!, Nuendo 5.5.6 (6.5), WL6 (7), RME, UAD, PoCo, Win7 64, i7 3930K, 16 GB RAM, Intensity, Melodyne, Spectrasonics, VSL, Brainworx, Genelec 5.1, sevaW lla, LAWO, Sony DASH 3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware & excellent acoustic studio design in new rooms.
User avatar
Big K
Member
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby riwe » Sat Mar 30, 2013 12:27 pm

Big K wrote:Maybe the community should give them the time, then, to check e v e r y t h i n g ?
How about a Nuendo 6 release around 2015? As I see it now, N6 is comparatively well engineered and stabil.
For me, there are no real showstoppers in it, at least not for my shows...

And it couldn't, since I have never been so valiant to install major upgrades on my
production machines, right away. At least, I don't use them for production before
I know them well and the usual bugs have been revealed and fixed, like this one will be, soon.

I am quite sure that the first forum members are already copying and tweaking some of their older posts to read:
When will Nuendo 7 be released..(.LOL ...). We need it urgently, because Cubase might be a millisecond earlier
on the market and all world breaks down ...

;)

Big K

But in this case it worked with the initial release of N6. This error was introduced with the update...
N 6.5.30 (32Bit & 64Bit) + NEK | WL 8.5 (32Bit) | W7 Pro x64 | 16 GB RAM | RME HDSP MADI | UAD-2
riwe
Junior Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Lydiot » Sat Mar 30, 2013 3:56 pm

Big K wrote:Maybe the community should give them the time, then, to check e v e r y t h i n g ?
How about a Nuendo 6 release around 2015? As I see it now, N6 is comparatively well engineered and stabil.
For me, there are no real showstoppers in it, at least not for my shows...

And it couldn't, since I have never been so valiant to install major upgrades on my
production machines, right away. At least, I don't use them for production before
I know them well and the usual bugs have been revealed and fixed, like this one will be, soon.

I am quite sure that the first forum members are already copying and tweaking some of their older posts to read:
When will Nuendo 7 be released..(.LOL ...). We need it urgently, because Cubase might be a millisecond earlier
on the market and all world breaks down ...

;)

Big K


Dude, seriously, you don't think it's an issue that realtime mixdown plays back louder in a flagship DAW for post-production? Or you don't think it's an issue that it works and then gets broken in an update?

I'm all for supporting software and being realistic, but what people are doing in this thread is EXACTLY what you're proposing: They've waited for the previous "lesser" versions of Nuendo 6 to go through "maturation" - remember the release was 6.0.2, not .0. So we waited while Cubase users beta-tested the basic sequencer for us "in the wild", and then we got our first release, bugs and/or issues were reported, and SB was pretty good at addressing them.

But it is NOT good to introduce issues in updates. Either someone is completely ignorant as to how people actually work with an application, or their testing is seriously lacking. (And seeing that they released seemingly different actual code in download versus boxed initial release, despite same naming, it's not unreasonable to worry about their internal testing/validation). Many people will mix a show and then audition the "final" version while it runs in realtime. Imagine your outboard gear receiving a higher level once you start your realtime render.

I might have cut people some slack if this was the initial release with a fix coming shortly thereafter AND if someone at Steinberg thought it was worth their time to at least acknowledge that there's an issue here.

Now? Not so much.
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby troupeaudio » Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:21 pm

I overall like what I've seen of N6 and would be using it now. This bug is keeping me from doing that.
Joel Schwelling
The Troupe/Windham, NH USA
N5.5.4 (carefully checking out N6)/Mac 2X3 Ghz Dual-Core/10.7.5/6GB RAM/Apogee Ensemble/UAD-2//Blackmagic
www.thetroupe.com
troupeaudio
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Big K » Mon Apr 01, 2013 4:20 pm

I might get this whole problem wrong...
Isn't there the "export audio mixdown" fader popping up for adjusting the "audition volume"?
If this bug affects only the playback during realtime export and not the exported file, which is 100% o.k.,
why don't you just pull the fader down to your liking?

Please explain, if there is more of a problem to it ....
:?:
Big K
Presonus Studio ONE, Harrison Mixbus!, Nuendo 5.5.6 (6.5), WL6 (7), RME, UAD, PoCo, Win7 64, i7 3930K, 16 GB RAM, Intensity, Melodyne, Spectrasonics, VSL, Brainworx, Genelec 5.1, sevaW lla, LAWO, Sony DASH 3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware & excellent acoustic studio design in new rooms.
User avatar
Big K
Member
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Headlands » Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:10 am

Big K wrote:I might get this whole problem wrong...
Isn't there the "export audio mixdown" fader popping up for adjusting the "audition volume"?
If this bug affects only the playback during realtime export and not the exported file, which is 100% o.k.,
why don't you just pull the fader down to your liking?

Please explain, if there is more of a problem to it ....
:?:
Big K



My audition volume fader has no indication of the decibel level it's at, so I have no idea where to move it get the proper level with this bug. It's crucial for the work I do...
Nuendo 6 and Cubase 7.5, Win 7 x64, 16GB RAM, UAD2-QUAD, Lynx Aurora 8, RME HDSPe, lots and lots of toys.
Headlands
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:13 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Big K » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:33 pm

OK, if this is crucial for your work you have all the rights to be miffed.
Of course, introducing a bug to a new version is not in order.
I haven't seen the problem for myself. I listen to the final mix and then export it
w/o listening to it. Instead, I check the whole works / the exported file thorougly afterwards.
I understand,for some tasks this might be just too time consuming.
Anyway, I am sure they'll fix this a.s.a.p. and someone there will have to pay extra into the coffee box.
;)
Big K
Presonus Studio ONE, Harrison Mixbus!, Nuendo 5.5.6 (6.5), WL6 (7), RME, UAD, PoCo, Win7 64, i7 3930K, 16 GB RAM, Intensity, Melodyne, Spectrasonics, VSL, Brainworx, Genelec 5.1, sevaW lla, LAWO, Sony DASH 3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware & excellent acoustic studio design in new rooms.
User avatar
Big K
Member
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby troupeaudio » Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:33 pm

I spent all morning seeing if I was missing something and came up with nothin'. This is a big deal for those of us who have to hit a certain spec for our deliverables.
Joel Schwelling
The Troupe/Windham, NH USA
N5.5.4 (carefully checking out N6)/Mac 2X3 Ghz Dual-Core/10.7.5/6GB RAM/Apogee Ensemble/UAD-2//Blackmagic
www.thetroupe.com
troupeaudio
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Phonetical » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:37 pm

In all honesty, I've never exported and monitored at the same time. Or if I have, I've dimmed my monitors.

For me the spec measurement is happening either when I print, so there's no monitoring issue (and it's realtime just like the export monitor), or after the file is completed I will drop into Dolby MM and run a faster than realtime measurement at that point.

What spec is dependent upon the volume that you're listening to on export? I totally get that it's disconcerting that the output monitoring volume changes from when you're mixing and when you're bouncing - this should work correctly. I'm more curious what measurements are being taken during the realtime export that is being monitored? SPL?

Personally, I think we all should get used to initial software releases being buggy - they always have been, and I think they always will be especially with the demand for bigger and better things. I'm running N6.0.3 on 10.7.4 in 64-bit, but have my N5.5/10.6.8 32-bit partition ready to go.

I'm not defending Steiny, but I certainly think we, as Nuendo users, have far more ears on what we're asking for/what needs to be fixed than other communities. Feels like we users play a bigger role in the R+D for the next versions, and that has much value to me.

Cheers all -

kp
OS 10.7.4 / 16GB RAM / 2 X 2.26GHz Quad Core // N6.06 // MC Pro / MC Artist // Apogee Ensemble
Phonetical
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:24 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: NUENDO 6.0.3: REALTIME MIXDOWN LOUDER?

Postby Lydiot » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:57 pm

Phonetical wrote:In all honesty, I've never exported and monitored at the same time. Or if I have, I've dimmed my monitors.

For me the spec measurement is happening either when I print, so there's no monitoring issue (and it's realtime just like the export monitor), or after the file is completed I will drop into Dolby MM and run a faster than realtime measurement at that point.

What spec is dependent upon the volume that you're listening to on export? I totally get that it's disconcerting that the output monitoring volume changes from when you're mixing and when you're bouncing - this should work correctly. I'm more curious what measurements are being taken during the realtime export that is being monitored? SPL?


Some people will have metering on the main output. They may or may not use Control Room. So anyone who is checking the playback/render is going to have all levels all off. And I expect it'd be a rude awakening if you mix everything, take a break during which you "reset" your ears and "lose perspective", then come back and everything seems way loud. What do you do at that point? You have to stop and investigate. Wasted time.

Phonetical wrote:Personally, I think we all should get used to initial software releases being buggy


Why are you talking about "initial releases"? This is 6.0.3.

I think it's not only reasonable to expect each update to improve upon the previous version by fixing bugs, but I think it's fair to get a comment when crap breaks during an update!

What does this tell us about QC?



Break a key-command: I can work around it. It'd be annoying and would slow me down, but it's just a key command. Monitoring and levels should NEVER be messed with. EVER!
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests