Another export audio mixdown issue

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Thorsten Marx » Wed Apr 17, 2013 4:24 pm

Hi Dean,
we would hoverver very much like to even more investigate this problem. Do I understand correctly that you have identified one of the 300 audio tracks is causing this particular problem even when it has no sub lanes?
Thanks,
Thorsten
Thorsten Marx, Product Planning Manager Pro Audio
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Thorsten Marx
Moderator
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby riwe » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:05 pm

Thorsten Marx wrote:Hi Dean,
we would hoverver very much like to even more investigate this problem. Do I understand correctly that you have identified one of the 300 audio tracks is causing this particular problem even when it has no sub lanes?
Thanks,
Thorsten

But I also have this problem + "cpu overload" with much less tracks (more or less 40 tracks)...
N 6.5.30 (32Bit & 64Bit) + NEK | WL 8.5 (32Bit) | W7 Pro x64 | 16 GB RAM | RME HDSP MADI | UAD-2
riwe
Junior Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:11 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rickard » Fri Apr 19, 2013 3:34 am

Hi Thorsten

Yes, at one time I tried muting the particular track that had a lot of lanes on it and it mixed down properly. I also later found that sometimes the drive error might occur later in the song. Then I created a version of the track with all but the playing clips deleted (no multi lane clips) and still got the error. I transferred the project to another drive and still got the error and disk checked and defragmented the original drive but that didn't show anything or help. So far I have four songs that won't mixdown realtime because of this error. I have not been getting the CPU overload errors that riwe has been getting.

One thing that is really great about version 6 is that I can safely work then revert back to 5.5 to do a mixdown if I have to. It is a pain to have to do that but I am not dead in the water. I could send an npr file to you and or screenshots if that would help.

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby cjadams » Fri Apr 19, 2013 3:56 am

This sounds like file corruption or something. if you copy and paste that to a new project does it mixdown?
If not. then copy and paste the audio files to another folder and re-import them into the project. see if it works ok then.
Its possible that its something to do with those files them selves on any hard drive.
can you bounce them to another track and create new audio files then replace the ones on the track your trying? Maybe new media will do the trick.
CJ
cjadams
New Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rickard » Fri Apr 19, 2013 4:03 am

What makes me feel that this isn't an issue with file corruption, or a bad drive, or plugins etc, is that it all works perfectly well in N5.5. Even running a problem project in N6 from a different drive yields the same error.

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby psvennevig » Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:31 pm

Rickard wrote:What makes me feel that this isn't an issue with file corruption, or a bad drive, or plugins etc, is that it all works perfectly well in N5.5. Even running a problem project in N6 from a different drive yields the same error.

Dean


Hi Rickard,

Can I ask one thing? (Didn't see it in the thread) Is this with 32-bit or 64-bit version of N5.5/N6 ?

If it is 32-bit it can be explained by RAM usage. Because N6 32-bit uses more RAM than N5.5, and thus can make problems if you are on a brink for resources.

Best,
Pål
Nuendo 6.0.x, MAC pro, Macbook Pro 17" i7, RME MADIe, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.
psvennevig
Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rickard » Tue Apr 23, 2013 11:16 pm

I am using 64bit N6 and N5.5. Thanks for asking so that could be clarified.

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rickard » Fri Jul 18, 2014 5:43 am

OK. Once again this problem rears its head. There are two (2) serious problems with N6 with no workaround and I can not mixdown my song even though it plays back just fine. In N5.5 there was not a problem with mixing down in real time or offline on anything I had.

I had 2 projects where N6 created a glitch on a track that made it so that I could not mix them down offline and N6 can't handle the same track count of N5.5 so I couldn't do a realtime mixdown either. I complained with no solution or even acknowledgement of a problem from Steinberg but because the glitch showed up right away I was able to keep these 2 projects in 5.5 and so avoided the bugs in N6. Most other projects were fine.

I now have a song that I'm too deep into to be able to move back to 5.5 to avoid the bug. This song had over 175 active tracks that played without trouble in N5.5. I had to scale it down to only the essential tracks to help N6 handle it and got it to 110 active tracks but N6 will still not do a realtime mix without an error.

So the two problems are the glitch that N6 introduces on some tracks and the seriously hampered track count at mixdown in N6 preventing a realtime mixdown. Put together, I can't mixdown my song.

I have tried: replacing glitchy area with alternate takes in case the audio was corrupted.
bouncing glitchy area
moving project to another drive
Asio guard on and off
disabling automation on glichy track

The nearest automation was more than 10 seconds away anyway.

And why is the track count in N6 so seriously hampered that I can no longer do realtime mixdowns of large projects that worked fine in N5.5?!

All things are equal with these bugs. Same computer, same project, same drive, 64bit for N5.5 and N6. It is purely the difference between N6 and N5.5. And to repeat, I am not seeing a performance difference while running the project, only in Mixdown.

Steinberg, please help with this. I will help you track down the problem in anyway I can. I can send any files that would be relevent.

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby rbesser » Fri Jul 18, 2014 10:35 pm

Hi Rickard:

Did you try increasing the buffer size of your soundcard to see what happens?
rbesser
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 4:36 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rickard » Sat Jul 19, 2014 8:17 pm

Buffer is at max. I use all hardware monitoring so latency is a non issue so buffers in N5.5 and N6 are at the max. I am guessing that more people are not having this issue because track counts are not high. Are there people with high active audio track counts (100+) that have seen this or not seen this?

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby psvennevig » Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:01 pm

Rickard wrote:Buffer is at max. I use all hardware monitoring so latency is a non issue so buffers in N5.5 and N6 are at the max. I am guessing that more people are not having this issue because track counts are not high. Are there people with high active audio track counts (100+) that have seen this or not seen this?

Dean


Can you please try the mixdown with 512 samples buffer?
Nuendo 6.0.x, MAC pro, Macbook Pro 17" i7, RME MADIe, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.
psvennevig
Member
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rotund » Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:08 pm

I'm getting random audio drop outs and Nuendo will randomly stop recording.
Sometimes I get the "too many tracks" dialogue when this happens, sometimes I don't.
I can be recording 1 track or 16, doesn't matter.
The Audio just suddenly stops playing but the timeline keeps rolling on.

Happened on a new project that only had 3 tracks total!!!

This is with a relatively new eSata 1TB Glyph Drive.
Checked the drive for errors, none. Defragged even though it didn't need it.
Ran Anti Virus but I'm clean.
Re-ran the Windows Experience Index
and my Score hasn't changed since I built the machine.
This just started happening out of nowhere a few days ago.

If I move the project to my C system drive it works perfectly. No drop outs at all.
Tested my C Drive for 2 hours late last night as I have a session today and will be using the system drive. No Choice really.

Now the fun part....
Other DAWs do not exhibit this behavior on the same drive with the same files.
Ran a session for an hour and not a single hiccup in Reaper.
Nuendo 6 on the same setup, same drive, will hiccup randomly within 10 minutes.

I can't trust this software anymore at all.
Since the release of Nuendo 6, I been having audio weirdness, but it never dropped out of record before. The single most important thing a DAW does (Capture Audio) can't even be counted on anymore.
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Antonio Escobar » Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:28 pm

Keep an eye in the OS task monitor. I used to have issues with the videooutput driver
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rickard » Tue Jul 22, 2014 3:12 pm

As I said before, I leave the buffer size at the max that my audio card allows. The thing that is so strange to me and I really haven't made it clear is that N6 will do a real time mix without the glitch but not an offline mix. Why would there be a difference? I can see how a hard drive limit might create the opposite problem.

So to summarize, N5.5 has no problem with either realtime or offline mix downs on my large projects. N6 will either glitch offline or give "drive not fast enough" errors in realtime on the same project. And mixing down the N6 project in N5.5 is not an option as there is a difference in the sound.

I feel for you Rotund but I think we are experiencing different issues and it almost sounds like you may be having a driver issue. But the fact there are no problems if the project is run from the system drive is strange and would lead me back to looking at a hardware issue.

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rotund » Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:00 pm

Thanks for the input Rickard, didn't mean to hijack your thread.
Hope you figure out your issues. I'm still looking for the cause here.
Out of town at the moment and hoping a fresh perspective will win the day
when I get back to the studio.

Best of luck...
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rickard » Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:29 am

No problem Rotund. For all we know there could be a relationship.

I am hoping to find some kind of confirmation from someone else (again, it has to be a high track count project) who is having this problem. Also again I can send what ever Steinberg thinks they might need to analyze the problems. I would love to have the track count for N6 to be as high as N5.5.

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby mufi » Wed Jul 23, 2014 8:41 am

I had twice this problem in 5.x and it boiled down to corrupted automation. Try clearing automation on that track from Automation panel - Delete all automation in range.
Nuendo 5.5.6 64bit | Asus Sabretooth P67, i7 2600K, 8gb ddr3 | Windows 7 x64 | RME FF400 | BM Intensity | MCU Pro | Frontier AlphaTrack
mufi
Junior Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:00 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rickard » Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:47 pm

There is automation on the track but there is nothing going on within 10 seconds before or after. I can try getting rid of all automation on the track and see what happens.

Thanks

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Another export audio mixdown issue

Postby Rickard » Tue Jul 29, 2014 10:10 pm

Sadly 6.5 offers no improvement with this problem.

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Previous

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests