Show in Finder

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Show in Finder

Postby Musicmind » Sat Nov 02, 2013 2:27 pm

Hi
Is this "show in Finder" function available in Cubase?
Use it all the time to locate my audio files.

Thanks a lot!
Musicmind (Mind the Music!)
Mac Pro 12 48Gb, Mac Pro 8 24Gb, Mac Pro 4 12Gb, Mac Pro G5 8Gb, MacBookPro, Apollo interface, Universal Audio (4 cards), Waves 9, Native Instruments, VSL, Arturia, Sound Toys, Euphonix MC Control + Mix, Neumann mics, DynAudio, Yamaha + Adam monitors, a lot of outboard AND Steinway Concert Grand A ;-)
User avatar
Musicmind
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:42 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Show in Finder

Postby curteye » Sat Nov 02, 2013 8:11 pm

Aloha M,

First I see this is your 2nd post so welcome to the board. :)

Musicmind wrote:Hi
Is this "show in Finder" function available in Cubase?


What do you want Cubase to show you in the Finder?

When it come to the Cubase programme
under normal circumstances the 'Show in Finder' command would
just take you to the 'Applications Folder' and then hi-light/select (show)
the Cubase app.

Also
if you are asking questions about the 'Finder' you
must be a Mac user. Listing your gear in your sig
(hard and software) would be helpful to the rest of us
helping/sharing with you.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4360
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Show in Finder

Postby Musicmind » Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:19 pm

Hi
Yes I'm new to Cubase and I'm on Mac. Or several mac sin A network.
i like the show In finder command to locate an audio file In Cubase outside Cubase.
Sometimes I work with cues with very long names with a lot of numbers, and a possible confusing and errors.
Then I find it reassuring to have the possibility so use the show in finder command.
Musicmind (Mind the Music!)
Mac Pro 12 48Gb, Mac Pro 8 24Gb, Mac Pro 4 12Gb, Mac Pro G5 8Gb, MacBookPro, Apollo interface, Universal Audio (4 cards), Waves 9, Native Instruments, VSL, Arturia, Sound Toys, Euphonix MC Control + Mix, Neumann mics, DynAudio, Yamaha + Adam monitors, a lot of outboard AND Steinway Concert Grand A ;-)
User avatar
Musicmind
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:42 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Show in Finder

Postby SteveInChicago » Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:25 pm

Show in Finder is available in Media Bay.

To followup on curteye's reques
curteye wrote:Listing your gear in your sig
(hard and software) would be helpful to the rest of us
helping/sharing with you.
could you kindly take the time to that? Go here: ucp.php?i=profile&mode=signature
i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 16gb: Mac 10.8.5,
Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 8gb: Mac 10.9,
Cubase 7.5.10, Nektar P6 controller
User avatar
SteveInChicago
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 186 times

Re: Show in Finder

Postby Musicmind » Mon Nov 04, 2013 1:50 pm

Hi SteveInChicago now it's done!
Just now I need this Show in Finder tool. First now I realize that Cubase 7 can put your audio files in ANOTHER folder than the folder where the project file resides. It could be a first timer error, but maybe it could happen again!
Musicmind (Mind the Music!)
Mac Pro 12 48Gb, Mac Pro 8 24Gb, Mac Pro 4 12Gb, Mac Pro G5 8Gb, MacBookPro, Apollo interface, Universal Audio (4 cards), Waves 9, Native Instruments, VSL, Arturia, Sound Toys, Euphonix MC Control + Mix, Neumann mics, DynAudio, Yamaha + Adam monitors, a lot of outboard AND Steinway Concert Grand A ;-)
User avatar
Musicmind
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:42 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Show in Finder

Postby Steve Helstrip » Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:10 pm

I've asked for this in the past, for the audio pool, but Steinberg replied with 'why would you need that'. I explained and heard nothing more.

Every other audio app I use (even itunes!) has show in Finder. Very useful to have.
Mac Pro i7, 12Gb, OSX10.9 MacBook Pro i7, 4Gb, OSX10.9
Cubase 7.5
Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial
User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Show in Finder

Postby Musicmind » Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:36 pm

Hi
I do agree.
I'm on a VERY long journey to find my new DAW after bern using Logic. So far: Pro Tools 11, Digital Performer 8, Logic X, Studio One and now Cubase 7.
The support forum standard is certainly of major importance so thanks for your answers.
Musicmind (Mind the Music!)
Mac Pro 12 48Gb, Mac Pro 8 24Gb, Mac Pro 4 12Gb, Mac Pro G5 8Gb, MacBookPro, Apollo interface, Universal Audio (4 cards), Waves 9, Native Instruments, VSL, Arturia, Sound Toys, Euphonix MC Control + Mix, Neumann mics, DynAudio, Yamaha + Adam monitors, a lot of outboard AND Steinway Concert Grand A ;-)
User avatar
Musicmind
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:42 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Show in Finder

Postby Steve Helstrip » Mon Nov 04, 2013 4:49 pm

Musicmind wrote:Hi
I do agree.
I'm on a VERY long journey to find my new DAW after bern using Logic. So far: Pro Tools 11, Digital Performer 8, Logic X, Studio One and now Cubase 7.
The support forum standard is certainly of major importance so thanks for your answers.


Your journey ends here ;-)
Mac Pro i7, 12Gb, OSX10.9 MacBook Pro i7, 4Gb, OSX10.9
Cubase 7.5
Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial
User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Show in Finder

Postby SteveInChicago » Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:00 pm

I have also always wanted Reveal in Finder in the audio pool.
i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 16gb: Mac 10.8.5,
Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 8gb: Mac 10.9,
Cubase 7.5.10, Nektar P6 controller
User avatar
SteveInChicago
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 186 times

Re: Show in Finder

Postby J-S-Q » Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:13 pm

I'm on Windows these days but used Cubase on Mac for years and I'm sure I remember being able to use the Show In Finder function from the Audio Pool (in the right click menu). Is my memory playing tricks? Have they removed this feature?
Cubase 7.5 64 Bit, Win8.1 64Bit
CPU: Intel 4930k. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte GA-EX79-UP4. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Corsair M4 SSD 128GB. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX
J-S-Q
Junior Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Show in Finder

Postby SteveInChicago » Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:20 pm

J-S-Q wrote:I'm on Windows these days but used Cubase on Mac for years and I'm sure I remember being able to use the Show In Finder function from the Audio Pool (in the right click menu). Is my memory playing tricks? Have they removed this feature?
Hm... I do not remember ever seeing it, but maybe my memory is not perfect. (did I say maybe? Don't recall. ;) ) But it's not there now.
Image
i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 16gb: Mac 10.8.5,
Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 8gb: Mac 10.9,
Cubase 7.5.10, Nektar P6 controller
User avatar
SteveInChicago
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4009
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 186 times

Re: Show in Finder

Postby J-S-Q » Tue Nov 05, 2013 3:24 pm

Yeah probably my memory! It's been 3-4 years since I used Mac as my main studio machine. They really ought to implement that feature on Mac (as it is on Windows) because it's certainly very useful.
Cubase 7.5 64 Bit, Win8.1 64Bit
CPU: Intel 4930k. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte GA-EX79-UP4. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Corsair M4 SSD 128GB. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX
J-S-Q
Junior Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BJ, ffg and 6 guests