VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby HughH » Tue Oct 15, 2013 7:25 pm

A few comments and an easy request:

First: Love it! Very stable for me and so many possibilities.

Second: Read this whole thread and there are several excellent suggestions as to functionality enhancements.

MIDI would be cool but it would have to come with audio, whatever the performer is hearing as they play for reference (it's a delay thing - you could not generate audio on the studio side for performer monitor, obviously). Then sounds/performance could be edited as MIDI on the studio side. Nice.

Stereo would be great. At first I thought it would do this until I realized that the addition of the "Inst" track just gives you a separate talkback mic on the performer side. Needed, in some circumstances, though (mic on a guitar amp, FI).

Cubase/Nuendo Networking capability - in kinda real time - would be great. Either side records something and the other side sees it happening and could hear it too. That would require various delay compensations on both sides - a full+ version of VST Connect. And identical plugins. Of course jamming is impossible. It would get complicated: An audio recording on one side would be recorded from it's compressed web version on the other. Perhaps marked as such for possible future integration. Or - as an option - MIDI could be transmitted and recorded AND played back by the remote by any plugin. Whatever - A BIG jump . . . but a cool one.

That last idea is a big extension of the whole VST Connect concept, extending it beyond a remote performer to complete integration and mirroring of 2 running instances of Cubase/Nuendo.

My last comment: It seems to me that there are - without major changes - 2 basic uses for VST Connect.
1. The obvious. somebody far away adds a couple parts to whatever you are working on. Works pretty excellently as it is.
2. Obvious - but not properly implemented: Working together on a project.
And the thing is, this use only requires one little change in VSTC to be MUCH more do-able.

And it's already been mentioned: A rehearse mode.
Specifically, allow transmit of the full cue mix from the Studio side - including sounds/MIDI VSTis being currently recorded on the studio side - to the performer side in "Full" fidelity without the additional delay compensation on the studio side. The performer would be listening only. Again, no "jamming". Easy. All the functionality is already there.

This would allow real time (one side at a time) collaboration for songwriting and such, but ALSO . .
Some people (like me) have mentioned using VSTC as a way to play "ideas in progress" for Film and TV work to clients. This would allow the composer/editor (Studio side) to try new things in real time while the client listens! Brilliant.

Just ONE button: Activate cue send AND turn off additional delay compensation on Studio side. During play OR Stop. Piece of cake.

PLEASE don't wait for the BIG FULL VERSION to do this. Do it now, call it VST Connect SEplus, and I'll pay for it (hey . . I'll even beta it . . just sayin).

Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby musicullum » Wed Oct 16, 2013 4:59 pm

I can't reveal what's coming, but rehearse will be included.

Some other comments:
- in the Performer settings, there is one that can be set to mono, stereo, or dual mono. This way you can record 2 mono signals indepenently (dual mono). If you want to record a stereo instrument, the instrument channel on the performer side should listen to a stereo input. Recording 2 stereo sources independently is not supportet as only 2 channels are transmitted at a time.

2 side operation: I don't see how this should work. Do you mean both sides have the plugin, and at one time one side records, and at another time the other? That would of course be doable, but both recording each other at the same time isn't possible.
As for the first case, yes, it could be done, but we only have limited resources, so you will have to switch from time to time, sorry. Maybe someday :-)
musi
User avatar
musicullum
Junior Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Vadim Kupriyanov » Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:57 pm

Why vst connection not able to work on 2 computers in local net?
Best Regards,
Vadim Kupriyanov,
Moscow, Russia
Cubase 7.5, Halion 5, mac mini server i7 with Mac OS 10.7.5
+MacBookPro i5 with Mac OS 10.7.5
Vadim Kupriyanov
New Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:34 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby beats777 » Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:15 pm

I've read quite a few post here, but haven't seem to come across my problem yet. i can use vst connect template in the hub and hear, record and playback with my partner no problem. my situation is trying to create a vst connection within a existing song. i can see my partner and he can see me, but no audio at all. everything is setup correctly in the vst connection cue settings, tb track, monitoring track etc. i watched the video and did exactly what they did on a "new" project and worked, but can't seem to get it to work on a track that i made months ago. can it be done on a existing track? i say it has to, i just can't do it right. anybody?

cubase 7 64bit
windows 7 64bit
beats777
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 6:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Sunshy » Wed Oct 23, 2013 2:37 am

Hi, can anyone please post the VST Connect Template somewhere for me and post the link here? I have Nuendo 6 and it does not have the Hub feature with the templates. I can get VST connect to work, but for some reason it's recording the talkback and not the performer. Such a cool feature!
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit, UAD-1s, RME UFX, CMD-PD, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Sunshy
Member
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby musicullum » Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:35 am

beats777 wrote:I've read quite a few post here, but haven't seem to come across my problem yet. i can use vst connect template in the hub and hear, record and playback with my partner no problem. my situation is trying to create a vst connection within a existing song. i can see my partner and he can see me, but no audio at all. everything is setup correctly in the vst connection cue settings, tb track, monitoring track etc. i watched the video and did exactly what they did on a "new" project and worked, but can't seem to get it to work on a track that i made months ago. can it be done on a existing track? i say it has to, i just can't do it right. anybody?

cubase 7 64bit
windows 7 64bit

This should do:
Take your existing project.
a) create an Input (Devices/VST Connections) with your TB (Talkback) Microphone as input source, name it "TB/Performer".
b) insert the VST Connect plugin into the corresponding Input channel (not an audio channel, it has to be the Input channel). Its input is what the Performer hears (your TB Mic, along with the playback), its output is what comes from the Performer (which you want to hear and record).
c) create a group channel, label it "To Performer". Make sure its output is routed to your main mix output (default). Insert the VST Connect Cue mix plugin here.
d) for each track that the Performer should hear, send to that group channel (just like you would send to a reverb fx channel, for instance). I prefer to use real sends here, not multi-output routing.
Whithout beeing connected, when you run Cubase, there should be activity in this "To Performer" Group channel. Once you assured that, lower the Volume of that Group channel to zero (you don't want to hear it, only the Performer should), but do not mute it.
e) create an audio track, named "Performer Mon", its Input source is the "TB/Performer" Input, output to main mix (default). Engage the white/yellow Monitor button (next to the record button).
Now connect. Make sure the "Talkback" button on the top left and the TB rotary knob are engaged.
You should now hear the performer via the "Performer Mon" audio track/channel. The Performer should hear you (your TB Mic is sent via the VST Connect plugin in the Input channel). When you run playback, the Performer should also hear whatever is sent to the "To Performer" Group channel.
To record the Performer, create further audio tracks with the "TB/Performer" Input, but don't activate the monitor button there (to avoid confusing echo), just use the record buttons (Preferences/VST/Auto Monitoring should be set to "Manual").

This may sound a bit complicated but in fact that is what you also do when you record somebody next door: provide a headphone mix ("To Performer") of the playback and send your Talkback Mic to communicate. The one difference here is that recording and monitoring the Performer must be split (one "Performer Mon" channel with active Input Monitor, several record tracks with just record activated).

Of course, hardware i/o and connections on the Performer side should be set up correctly, you can remote control that in the Performer Setup. Also, do not mess with settings that you don't fully understand, eventually delete preferences (<your user folder>/appData/roaming/Steinberg/VST Connect SE.ini).

Hope that works...if not, drop me a PM, so far we have sorted out each and every problem :-)
musi
User avatar
musicullum
Junior Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby musicullum » Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:53 am

Sunshy wrote:Hi, can anyone please post the VST Connect Template somewhere for me and post the link here? I have Nuendo 6 and it does not have the Hub feature with the templates.

attached.
Sunshy wrote:I can get VST connect to work, but for some reason it's recording the talkback and not the performer. Such a cool feature!

You probably activated the "Mon" (loopback) button on the right. Don't.
The next version will warn you when you activate that function, because you should really know why you'd want to do that...
Attachments
VST Connect SE.zip
VST Connect cpr Template
(12.2 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
musi
User avatar
musicullum
Junior Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Sunshy » Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:40 pm

Thank you. I'm really excited about this new feature as I know many musicians from all over. Also, it will allow me to be even MORE of a hermit!
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit, UAD-1s, RME UFX, CMD-PD, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Sunshy
Member
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby beats777 » Thu Oct 24, 2013 1:27 pm

thank you musicullum. you da man!
beats777
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 6:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Letmein » Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:54 pm

I would love to get this to work but every time I load the connect se plugin on the group channel, my cubase crashes requiring a restart of my mac just to reopen the project
Letmein
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby musicullum » Thu Oct 31, 2013 6:33 pm

Letmein wrote:I would love to get this to work but every time I load the connect se plugin on the group channel, my cubase crashes requiring a restart of my mac just to reopen the project

What is your OS version? Probably, 10.9 (Mavericks), there are many problems with that, and this is most probably one of them. We are working on a solution. The current VST Connect 1.3 comes with Cubase 7.06, which is also not certified for Mavericks, sorry.
musi
User avatar
musicullum
Junior Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Letmein » Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:28 pm

ok thanks. Thats correct, I'm running Mavericks. I look forward to the update
Letmein
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby tekniq » Mon Nov 04, 2013 1:15 pm

tried two hours with a friend yesterday.

all we got was you arent conncted messages, while we were seeing the knobs getting turned by the other user

and I heard myself and everything no audio could be send received...

I dont want to go into details, I just hoped it worked right out of the box :(
tekniq
Junior Member
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:28 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby musicullum » Mon Nov 04, 2013 1:26 pm

tekniq wrote:tried two hours with a friend yesterday.

all we got was you arent conncted messages, while we were seeing the knobs getting turned by the other user

and I heard myself and everything no audio could be send received...

I dont want to go into details, I just hoped it worked right out of the box :(

Well the engineer has to have some basic understanding to set up his own and the Performers' connections (if the Performer is sufficiently skilled he can set his own up as well). So without details we can't help. If you start Cubase, load the VST Connect template, connect your mic and set Performer audio device and input, that should do, pretty much almost "out of the box".
musi
User avatar
musicullum
Junior Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Dewy75 » Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:05 pm

I'm having a strange issue where I can only hear the "recording person's" talk back mic, not the performer's audio. I use the Cubase template and have checked to make sure the settings are as described in the manual. When I activate the monitoring button on the Perform Mon. Channel it plays my mic, not the performers. If I deactiviate the monitoring button and put some audio on that track, it plays the audio, so I know it's routed properly...

I'm also able to record the performer on the Performer Rec channel.

Any thoughts?
Dewy75
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 6:58 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby musicullum » Mon Nov 11, 2013 11:54 am

Dewy75 wrote:I'm having a strange issue where I can only hear the "recording person's" talk back mic, not the performer's audio. I use the Cubase template and have checked to make sure the settings are as described in the manual. When I activate the monitoring button on the Perform Mon. Channel it plays my mic, not the performers. If I deactiviate the monitoring button and put some audio on that track, it plays the audio, so I know it's routed properly...

I'm also able to record the performer on the Performer Rec channel.

Any thoughts?

Most probably, you have activated the Loopback function ("Mon" button on the right side). This is only for controlling what the Performer actually hears, do not activate it for recording. The next version throws a warning when you activate this function for the first time.
Does that solve it?
musi
User avatar
musicullum
Junior Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby HughH » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:28 pm

Hi Musi!

musicullum wrote:I can't reveal what's coming, but rehearse will be included.



Very Cool . . . . uh . . .when?

musicullum wrote:Some other comments:
- in the Performer settings, there is one that can be set to mono, stereo, or dual mono. This way you can record 2 mono signals indepenently (dual mono). If you want to record a stereo instrument, the instrument channel on the performer side should listen to a stereo input. Recording 2 stereo sources independently is not supportet as only 2 channels are transmitted at a time.



OK. Yeah, I missed that. Great.

musicullum wrote:2 side operation: I don't see how this should work. Do you mean both sides have the plugin, and at one time one side records, and at another time the other? That would of course be doable, but both recording each other at the same time isn't possible.
As for the first case, yes, it could be done, but we only have limited resources, so you will have to switch from time to time, sorry. Maybe someday :-)


I understand. I got a bit carried away in my post. That particular functionality - which you correctly interpreted - is really a whole different product requiring a ton of development.

My BIG Request that I buried in there was the "Rehearse" thing - though it's not really a rehearse feature.
It would allow the STUDIO side to add things to the project while the Performer side LISTENED (only) in full fidelity.
And then, with a press of a button, the PERFORMER side could add something while the Studio side listened (as it already works), and so on . . .

Looking forward to it!!
Next week, you say??

Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby HughH » Thu Nov 14, 2013 1:57 pm

HughH wrote:
Looking forward to it!!
Next week, you say??

Hugh


Yep. Just as I thought . .

Thanks, Musi!

Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Letmein » Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:11 am

So I noticed connect pro is out supporting OSX 10.9, if I buy this product do you think it will work ok with Mavericks even though Cubase 7 doesn't officially support it?
Letmein
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Svenne » Sun Nov 17, 2013 12:20 pm

VST connect Pro should be included with Steinbergs "Pro" application Cubase 7! Is this Steinbergs future business model? Include a version that doesn't work properly with Cubase (just look at this thread), and is a mess when it does, just to drum up business for an outrageously expensive "Pro" version.

I, for one, will not waste money on this and I hope that more follow suite, just to make a point that we don't fall for this kind of behavior. If not it will not be long before Cubase becomes a collection of broken features that is only meant to drum up sales of expensive "Pro" versions of the features!

Cubase for €4000, anyone?
Cubase 7.5.20 [64bit] + IC Pro, WaveLab Elements 8, Mac Pro 2.8GHz 8-core 8GB, 10.9.4 Mavericks, Firewire Audiofile (to be replaced)
Svenne
Member
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:29 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Strophoid » Sun Nov 17, 2013 2:44 pm

I'm sorry Svenne, but I don't see anything in this topic that indicates that this doesn't work. What I do see is a dedicated developer working to sort people's problems out and helping them with setting this up.
It seems by far most people get this working with some help so I don't know what you're talking about.

Feel free to make a point by not buying though.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3893
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Spork » Mon Nov 18, 2013 12:35 pm

Letmein wrote:So I noticed connect pro is out supporting OSX 10.9, if I buy this product do you think it will work ok with Mavericks even though Cubase 7 doesn't officially support it?


... VST Connect Pro runs fine with Mavericks, but it needs Cubase 7. And the current version 7.06 has some problems with Mavericks. In fact, you could run in problems when you run Mavericks, Cubase and VST Connect Pro. But the upcoming Cubase update will fix that.

/Michael.
Spork
New Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 12:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby musicullum » Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:22 pm

This new thread dedicated to VST Connect is probably worth a look:
viewforum.php?f=221
musi
User avatar
musicullum
Junior Member
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Dewy75 » Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:43 pm

[/quote]
Most probably, you have activated the Loopback function ("Mon" button on the right side). This is only for controlling what the Performer actually hears, do not activate it for recording. The next version throws a warning when you activate this function for the first time.
Does that solve it?[/quote]

I had direct monitoring set on the UR824. Once I undid that I was fine. They should probably include that in the "quick start" instructions somewhere...

Thanks for your help.
Dewy75
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 6:58 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST Connect & VST Connect SE - Solution Thread

Postby Letmein » Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:12 pm

Spork wrote:
Letmein wrote:So I noticed connect pro is out supporting OSX 10.9, if I buy this product do you think it will work ok with Mavericks even though Cubase 7 doesn't officially support it?


... VST Connect Pro runs fine with Mavericks, but it needs Cubase 7. And the current version 7.06 has some problems with Mavericks. In fact, you could run in problems when you run Mavericks, Cubase and VST Connect Pro. But the upcoming Cubase update will fix that.

/Michael.


Thanks Michael looking forward to the update. VST Connect is something that really appeals to me, I can't wait to get it going
Letmein
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KDEF2004 and 6 guests