"Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

"Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby Progfan2112 » Fri Mar 01, 2013 3:24 am

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here but I spend a majority of my time working in and teching for Cubase.

Recently we've had an issue with the functionality of the Edit Active Part Only feature in regards to the Solo Editor button. To reproduce, see below:

1. create 3 midi tracks attached to sounds
2. create 3 regions with midi notes
3. open key editor
4. choose Solo Editor from the top-left menu
5. choose Edit Active Part Only
6. Press play

In Cubase 6 and prior, when you did this, you would only be able to edit (or lasso) the active part but you could HEAR both other parts that are not active in the Key Editor.

In Cubase 7, this is not the case. Whatever layer is Active is the one that is soloed and ONLY that layer. If I select a different one of the 3, it will switch to soloing only the newly selected active part.

One only has to repeat these steps across the 2 versions to see/hear the difference in behavior. Is this a bug or is it considered a bug 'fix' and the previous condition a bug?

The previous functionality is deeply integrated into our sequencing workflow so it's a bit frustrating that this is not available in the new version. One only has to think of a scenario such as editing rhythmic (pitched and non pitched) at once inside a larger composition to see how annoying it would be if, each time you wanted to lasso ALL of the bass notes and pitch them without pitching the drums, the drums cease to be heard.

If someone knows what's going on, I'd really appreciate a reply.

Thanks!!!


We're running:
Mac OS X 10.7.5. 3/33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 24 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Cubase 7.0.2 (Build 2107) in 64 bit
Progfan2112
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 12:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby keyplayer99 » Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:46 pm

Same here and a huge slowdown in my workflow also. I am starting a support ticket with the Progfan2112 posting as the essence of the question. I kept looking in the preferences setup for some solution to decide the Edit Active Part Only button's behavior, but there is none I can fine.
Windows 7 x64 Prof., Cubase 7.5 x64 i7-920 3.68GHz 24GB LASS 2.5 Complete, Omnisphere, Play: HW Brass/WW, Symphonic Orch (all mics), Symph Choirs, Gypsy, Stromdrum 2, Silk, RA, Goliath, Voices of Passion, Tonehammer Epic Frame Drum Ensemble, KONTAKT 4 Complete, K5, Halion Symph Orch, Ozone 5, UAD Solo Card, Kawai ES1
keyplayer99
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 6:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby SteveInChicago » Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:51 pm

I noticed this change too. It has benefits and a drawback, I suppose.

I don't know if you have noticed how the solo editor button and edit active part button interact, so to speak.

Building on the OP's example: I've opened two parts in Key Edit.

solo off, e.a.p. off: You can hear all the parts in the project currently playing and can edit all parts in the editor.

solo off, e.a.p. on: You can hear all the parts in the project currently playing and can edit only the active part in the editor.

solo on, eap off: You can hear only the parts open in the editor and can edit all of them.

solo on, eap on:You can hear only the active part open in the editor and can edit only the active part

To get the Cubase 6 behavior now, you have to solo all the tracks you want to hear in the project page, then go into key edit, turn off the solo editor button, and activate Edit Active Part Only.

I find this new behavior better. I agree there should be a pref to get the old behavior. I won't comment on the likelihood of seeing that– I have learned to be flexible, and the new way is now integrated into my 'workflow'.

"We've always been at war with Eastasia"
–George Orwell ;)
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4792
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 292 times

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby cbdmusic » Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:55 pm

Yes, I had and I'm still having difficulty adjusting to the new way the "solo editor" button now works in the key editor. I like the new ability to be able to solo an individual midi part from inside the key editor, but it is still slowing down my workflow, since I have years of muscle memory doing it the previous way.

The other danger is that with the "edit active part" button off I accidentally adjust and delete things in other parts that I shouldn't. I am having to re-train my brain to be diligent about turning the EAP button back on when I'm done "soloing".

There has got to be a happy compromise... could we have separate "solo editor" and a "solo active part" buttons? It would be great from within the editor to first solo all the midi parts we have selected and then go even further and solo an individual part.

Any other ideas?
Cubase 7.5.20; Mac Pro 8-Core, 32gb ram; RME Raydat; Novation remote Zero; Vienna Ensemble Pro; Terrabytes of Samples.
cbdmusic
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby SteveInChicago » Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:14 pm

I think it would make good sense to have a prefs option in the editing section of the preferences dialogue.

It's conceivable that they have something planned, but feature request in that forum would be a good idea.
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4792
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 292 times

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby BFred » Thu Apr 25, 2013 3:34 am

I would suggest to implement a drop down menu on the solo button to switch mode. the kind of menu used for the line tool.
Most Of the time I prefer the new edit active part behaviour but I agree, would be great to switch easely to the old way.
Fred

Cubase 7.5.20
iMac i7 2013 32gb
Mac OS 10.9.3
Apogee Ensemble
VE Pro 5
BFred
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby galvinstephen » Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:06 pm

Sigh. Maybe Steinberg need to get the original programmers back as consultants... :)
Stephen Galvin
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 7.0.4, Sequel 3.0.1,

Desktop: Intel Duo 1866 MHz, 4GB RAM Intel SSD 120GB. Windows 7 Ultimate

Laptop: Lenovo Intel i7-2630 CPU @ 2GHz 8GB RAM. Windows 7 64bit. Intel SSD 120GB.

Focusrite Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
www.abcstudios.co.nz
galvinstephen
Member
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby lsander » Fri May 10, 2013 4:49 am

i seem to remember being able to open more than 1 track at a time and seeing tow or more windows to work in with the project minmized....i used this to say line up the base in one track with the base drum in the another track...now i know about the edit in place function but want to know if the other fucntion still works..now ive been trying to do this the old way 4 to days i could swear that i did it ,that is had 2 tracks open and project window min but dont know how i did it ....sooooo HELP....lol
lsander
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby lsander » Fri May 10, 2013 5:15 am

one other thing...if i select two tracks then open the midi editor one track is layer over the and i cannot separate there windows
lsander
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby lsander » Wed May 22, 2013 9:54 am

thanks for taking the time to help ....soooo ... guess i just have to settle for the new ways of doing things :|
lsander
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cubase7

Postby SteveInChicago » Wed May 22, 2013 12:22 pm

lsander wrote:one other thing...if i select two tracks then open the midi editor one track is layer over the and i cannot separate there windows
Turn off Link Editors in Preferences>Editing to be able to open the parts separately.
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4792
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 292 times

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cub

Postby lsander » Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:46 pm

i was complaininng about editing in place feature but have found i really like it because i can see and edit all the tracks at thhe same time...multitrack editing is cool
lsander
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Edit Active Part Only" Solo Editor Function Problem_Cub

Postby lsander » Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:48 pm

and thanks for all the kelp u guys have given me when i come to this forum
lsander
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:13 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cagressett, Hippo, mart, matz67 and 7 guests