Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Mauri » Mon Jul 01, 2013 1:14 pm

[quote="jaslan"]I REALLY don't like that I have to be REALLY careful when using the mouse wheel in the mixer rack because I might change values in there./quote]

+ a BIG 1.

Mauri.
Australia
Steinberg forum member since aug. 2002

Cubase 7.5.20 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 8 | Windows 7 x64 Dual Boot on 2 x 128GB Crucial m4 2.5-inch SSD + 2 x 256GB Crucial m4 2.5-inch SSDs for samples and project/audio files | P5E | Q6600 @ 3.24GHz | 8GB RAM | Echo Layla 3G PCI | ASUS HD6570 | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | Acustica-audio Nebula and many libraries | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

Guitars: Formentin Signature Series (strat style) | Les Paul Junior | Epiphone Casino NA

Amps: Blackstar Series One 45w 2 x 12 Celestion combo | Rivera Knuckle Head 100 + 4 x 12 Celestion quad box
User avatar
Mauri
Member
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby Starsprinkler » Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:21 pm

I'm experiencing a lot of spikes (we ARE talking about the VSTperformance meter, right?), so what is this switch I hear you speak of? I would like to press

2BACH, i think the switch came with the 7.0.4 update. It's a txt file that should be placed in the cubase folder.
The instructions are included with the 7.0.4 download, and it's mac only if i'm correct.

The update is now part of 7.0.5, so there's no need for a switch anymore.
Starsprinkler
Junior Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby distante » Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:44 pm

Bredo wrote:
jose7822 wrote:Funny how someone who probably doesn't do this for a living can come up with a WAY better solution than a "professional" working at Steinberg.

Do you guys really think that it's the same to make a Photoshop "mock-up" as a working/living mixer GUI?

Isn't that hard either... I know it for experience...
Hear and See "Corazón" a Rock Song made with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( PC 64bits system / Core i7 3773K )
Scarlett 2i2 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( Laptop 64bits system )
*Always the latest version avariable.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart
User avatar
distante
Member
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby SteveInChicago » Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:51 pm

distante wrote:Isn't that hard either... I know it for experience...

What, specifically?
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4483
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby jpgtr » Mon Jul 01, 2013 4:35 pm

I REALLY don't like that I have to be REALLY careful when using the mouse wheel in the mixer rack because I might change values in there.


It would be nice to have the user-selectable "mouse-able controls".
2012 Mac Pro 10.8.4, 24 GB RAM, Cubase 7.0.6 (and 6.0.7), UAD-2 Duo
jpgtr
Member
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:06 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby jose7822 » Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:24 pm

Bredo wrote:
jose7822 wrote:Funny how someone who probably doesn't do this for a living can come up with a WAY better solution than a "professional" working at Steinberg.

Do you guys really think that it's the same to make a Photoshop "mock-up" as a working/living mixer GUI?
It's easier to take a picture than to make a movie ;-)

But I agree that the new GUI design is not as "proffessional" looking/working as it should be. And the designers are clearly not audio engineers, wondering who they consult?
The C7 Mixer GUI is becoming a farse.

I have been warned by the mods, so I can't say much more ;-)


Of course we realize that, but that's not really the point (and by the way, professional is spelled with one "f"). The point is that we had a very functional mixer already in C6. All Steinberg needed to do was to find a way to add the new features found in the current version to it. And if starting from the ground up was the best way to achieve that, then avoid removing previous features. The mixer mock up created by David does this. However, it seems to be trendy to remove features on every new release (and not just from the mixer). I don't get that, and never experienced it until I become a Cubase user. Was it always like this with Steinberg?
ASUS Maximus VI Hero | Intel Core i7 4770K (OC'ed to 4GHz) | 32GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (2400MHz) | ASUS ATI Radeon HD7790 | Corsair H100i Water Cooler | Corsair HX850 PSU | Windows 7 Pro (SP1) 64 bit | Cubase 7.5 64 bit | RME FireFace UCX | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad
User avatar
jose7822
Member
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby serenity » Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:35 pm

Pawel

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit / Cubase 7 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
User avatar
serenity
Member
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Strophoid » Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:43 pm

I quite like that color scheme actually :)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3873
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 110 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby gw » Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:51 pm

hello,
since up to date cubase 7:05 I have big problems. :(
Program blocks and stops working. Can not even save.
message: cubase no longer works. program is closed.

Previously mat cubase 7 never had that problem!

I can provoke the problem right away, for example, just mixer 3 to open. at other times I have the problem.

e Licenser I also up date ...

can anyone help me , thx
gw
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:21 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby aljames » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:16 pm

Marcus Bits wrote:
davidwhearn wrote:
From the first day of v7's release, I was worried. I even sent a very quick redesign http://goo.gl/imFyR to Steinberg, to show that they may have "thrown the baby out with the bathwater".


Steinberg, you need to seriously look at this offering of graphic talent. Its the users that are driving your business forward so please start listening to us. This user has practically done your job for you (on the GUI side anyway). What more could you ask for?

Al
Al James Musician * Songwriter * Producer - www.aljamesproductions.com

SYSTEM
Intel i7 930 Quadcore | Asus P6TSE | 12Gb DDR 1600 | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 512Gb (Mac OSX)



There are no passengers on Spaceship Earth. We are all crew.

aljames
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:23 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby mozizo » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:35 pm

G-string wrote:
mozizo wrote:
good point what would happen with a mono channel , where would the meter go then ?


with mono channel the cap would split for two narrow faders and meter show up in the middle. :idea: ;)



and how would the meter show up in the center when you have the groove for the fader in the middle ?

I was kidding of course.. :)
actually personally i don't like that mock up that much, for me some graphic improvements to MC as its now by adding thin line between tracks in fader area and fonts readable with more contrast will improve a lot..
also bring back the bypass buttons per channel in fader area, better buttons graphic and contrast(also for control room mixer) and color\brightness control for MC .
optional to lock sizing or give option for user to have 2 pre defined sizes to choose from. psychologically when having this sizing options the user deals with it too much !
i dont like when closing rack fader becomes super big..(maybe i'll find it useful some day ?? )
cubase 7.5.20 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1174
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby studioj » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:46 pm

Different folks for different folks I suppose... I always thought Cubase looked toy-ish and amateur in the past but now find the GUI to be quite pleasing and professional looking. Keep up the good work Steinberg!
studioj
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 5:45 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby distante » Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:08 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:
distante wrote:Isn't that hard either... I know it for experience...

What, specifically?

Make the GUI code from a external design, actually that the way it works.
Hear and See "Corazón" a Rock Song made with Steinberg's UR824 and Cubase 7

Do you want to show your music or any audio work made with Cubase? fb.com/groups/Made.With.Cubase/

My Stuff:
UR824 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( PC 64bits system / Core i7 3773K )
Scarlett 2i2 and Cubase 7 on Windows 8.1 ( Laptop 64bits system )
*Always the latest version avariable.
A bunch of Mics, Pres and Toys, Plugins and Heart
User avatar
distante
Member
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:30 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby mroekalea » Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:41 pm

Just a taught, why not make all the preferences object oriented?

For example; In the MixerConsole a extra tab named "preferences" where you have buttons with colors which change the object in colour in realtime which you last touched in the mixer, other functions vica versa. This way "You See What You Design In User Mode"
Menoj
Win8.1, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB with Cubase 7.5, wavelab 8 elements, HSO, MR816X+Focusrite pro 26 IO, Adam P22a + sub8, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 5, VG2, Arturia AF, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), HSO library, Fender Jazz basses, MB octaver, fender bassman 100, Orange AD200B, MB TTE500, TECAMP, Fender & FMC 12 cabs!
mroekalea
Member
 
Posts: 508
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Cubase / Cubase Artist / Cubase Elements 7.0.5 available

Postby Justus Hall » Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:46 pm

Starsprinkler wrote:
I'm experiencing a lot of spikes (we ARE talking about the VSTperformance meter, right?), so what is this switch I hear you speak of? I would like to press

2BACH, i think the switch came with the 7.0.4 update. It's a txt file that should be placed in the cubase folder.
The instructions are included with the 7.0.4 download, and it's mac only if i'm correct.

The update is now part of 7.0.5, so there's no need for a switch anymore.


It would be kinda weird if it was the exact same switch, because the switch provided in 7.0.4. didn't work out well for me and 7.0.5. works perfect on my system :?
Macbook Pro Quad Core i7, 16gb, SSD, RME UFX, V-synth XT, Elektron Analog Keys, Neumann TLM 103, Neumann KH 120a, Maschine, Novation SL MKII
Justus Hall
New Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Antonis Tarlizos » Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:51 pm

aljames wrote:
Marcus Bits wrote:
davidwhearn wrote:
From the first day of v7's release, I was worried. I even sent a very quick redesign http://goo.gl/imFyR to Steinberg, to show that they may have "thrown the baby out with the bathwater".


Steinberg, you need to seriously look at this offering of graphic talent. Its the users that are driving your business forward so please start listening to us. This user has practically done your job for you (on the GUI side anyway). What more could you ask for?

Al


sorry - but I don't like that design, and would pick cubase's current GUI over it any day of the week;
I am having a lot of crashes though as of 7.0.5; at closing the mixer mostly.
I get it once or twice per two hours of work
Intel i5, SSD-drive, 8GB RAM, Win8x64, Cubase 7x64,
My mission: use as little as possible non-Steinberg, non-StevenSlate and non-iZotope plugins
User avatar
Antonis Tarlizos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:12 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Paulwr » Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:06 pm

mroekalea wrote:Just a taught, why not make all the preferences object oriented?

For example; In the MixerConsole a extra tab named "preferences" where you have buttons with colors which change the object in colour in realtime which you last touched in the mixer, other functions vica versa. This way "You See What You Design In User Mode"


that could work. I'd just need to be able to save to my overall preferences as well.
Paul
Paulwr
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:52 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby greggybud » Mon Jul 01, 2013 8:43 pm

aas wrote:I'm afraid 6 months after v7.0.0 release and 5 updates the mix console isn't fully ready...

I'm still not convinced by C7 mix console apart the new channel selection panel. I can't believe Steinberg decided such a big change without users' advice or validation ?!!!


Personally I don't use the mix console very much. The console wasn't something I was wishing for in 6.5. But 7 has definitely taken a step backwards. It's still not ready.

As I mentioned many times before, I really feel the only saving grace for this mess is eventual total GUI integration with 3rd parties such as UAD and Waves...graphic integration into the mix console. Helge even admitted they were open to this idea a few months ago. This way for example if you own Waves SSL package, you get the SSL desk in Cubase. Steinberg may code the best ever EQ's and compressors. But I'm still going to want SSL's, API's, and Harrisons. Once this happens I will be happy to move on from the mixer in 6.5.

No offense Steinberg...you just need to refocus on what you do best.
Windows 7 x64, Wavelab 8, Cubase 7.5 x64, i7, 16g, SSD, 4 monitors, iCon QconPro, 4 TB HD, UAD-2, NI, Waves Mercury, and way too many synthesizers.
User avatar
greggybud
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby FilmNMusicMan » Mon Jul 01, 2013 9:04 pm

I really REALLY hope Steinberg management or designers, whomever was in charge of making C7 GUI is going through this forum reading every single suggestion and comment about their joke of a mixer layout. We are the people who support them year after year with upgrades.

We are the one's who when a novice asks "Which DAW should I choose?" we are/WERE the ones that would confidently say CUBASE. Eyes and ears open Steiny.
COMP: iMac Quad Core i5 2.5Ghz 8Gb Ram OSX 10.8
SOFT: Cubase 7.5.2/Reason 7.1
RACK: MR816csx/Presonus Eureka/PRE73+EQ73/Valley People Dynamite/Ashly CL52E & PQX571/DBX 166A/VLA PRO
SYNTH: Moog Little Phatty/DSI Tetra/DSI Evolver/Sequential Circuits MultiTrak/Korg MS2000B
FilmNMusicMan
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby ulesto » Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:12 pm

[quote="jaslan"]I REALLY don't like that I have to be REALLY careful when using the mouse wheel in the mixer rack because I might change values in there./quote]

+ a BIG 1.

Mauri.
--------------------
and another supermassive +1

A preference to disable value editing with scroll wheel.
[i}Mac Pro, OSX 10.9, MR816CSX, Cubase 7.5, Halion 5, Halion Sonic, HSO, Waves, UAD...
ulesto
Junior Member
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Weasel » Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:18 pm

A preference to disable value editing with scroll wheel.

This gets a huge +1 from me. The entire scrollwheel implementation in the Mixer is a mess. Depending on what's open in the rack, there are random erratic scrolling speeds. Trying to scroll the whole field has more than once upset a Send setting. It's just nuts.

David Hearn's take on what it should look like is more along the lines I'd like to see. And what the hell is going on with those huge fonts. This is like a knee-jerk reaction to making them more viewable. What's wrong with the smaller and BRIGHTER concept?
QuadCore 2.66 Nehalem w/8gbRAM - OSX 10.6.8 /10.8.5- C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU 424e/2804MkIII - PODxt - 2-MIDI Express 128's --- DualCore 2.8 iMac w/4gbRAM OSX 10.6.8 - C7.5.1/C6.5.5 - MOTU/ULmk3 --- D8B/V5.1 - GenX192

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....
User avatar
Weasel
Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby dlish » Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:37 am

I personally was completely fine with the 6.5 mixer. I don't (yet) see the point of a resizing mixer to the degree steinberg is trying to design it. The two sizes of the previous strips was completely perfect.

That is their main issue from a logical and design POV. A channel strip without a minimum with and maximum with should not even be considered. (In my humble opinion). It's been tried before and failed.

I do hope they will get a professional interface designer on board soon because Cubase starts to look like something my 2 year old has designed.
dlish
Junior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 4:12 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Tp3 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:21 am

dlish wrote:I personally was completely fine with the 6.5 mixer. I don't (yet) see the point of a resizing mixer to the degree steinberg is trying to design it. The two sizes of the previous strips was completely perfect.

I am personally completely fine with the 6.5 mixer.
I don't (yet) see the point of a resizing mixer to the degree steinberg is trying to design it.
At this point, I will never do. real mixer do not "stretch". I can not think of anything but marketing thing.

dlish wrote:I do hope they will get a professional interface designer on board soon because Cubase starts to look like something my 2 year old has designed.

I wouldn't go that far but I'd advise looking at things from other angles.

There's just too much colors and too much going on over there that going back to C6.5 makes me go : at last...home.

I'm so overwhelmed when working with MixConsole, that it's hard to focus on CREATION and MAKING MUSIC.

I think (just think) the a re-assessment of the interface should be made.

JMHOa2C
Tp3
Junior Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby Mark III » Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:08 am

From Guillermo Navarrete, Product Specialist

Regarding the mixer, the idea of a new mixer came from our customers and most of our endorsers and producers requested an overhaul of it.

Due to the complexity of the new features that we wanted to implement it had to be built from scratch. Part of the code has a big influence in other functions of the software as well as on the audio engine.
Yes, there is still room for improvement and some things need to be fixed or could be changed, and we are right now working in all of them.



I how wholeheartedly agree that Cubase needed a new mixer, but its the way it was implemented...needs a serious overhaul!

The mixer GUI needs to be brighter or at least user colour configurable & also much less cartoon-y. I think the added features are great but again ..it's all in the GUI.

Cheers.
Mark III
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:10 am
Location: UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.0.5 discussion

Postby mart » Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:50 am

Personally like the new mixer look overall. the Black background is easier on the eye for long days . Went back to 6.5 by accident the other day and the white shining out of the monitor felt brash.

However the new Insert hover idea on 7.05 has left me bringing up media bay nearly everytime I hit an insert meaning to bring up the plugin window. I really hate it! :-)
2008 MAC PRO 8 Core, 6 Gig Ram running BOOTCAMP Windows 64 bit Ultimate. Cubase 7.05. 2xUAD Quad, Protools HD3, Vienna Ensemble Pro with Slave Machine.
mart
Junior Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 4 times

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BFred, fantasiom and 2 guests