Question about expression maps

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Question about expression maps

Postby Blerg » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:02 pm

Hi all,

I've used expression maps for a long time now. However, I just got mojo horns which has key switches for main and release samples. I learned from the manual that by putting the release switches in group 2, I can enter two articulations for the same note. The problem is that mojo is only reacting to group 1.

I think I have mojo configured correctly because, if I just use articulation group 1 and add two key switches to it, mojo responds as expected. That's a problem because I would have make too many articulations to cover all the combinations of main plus release samples.

Do any of you know how to successfully and efficiently apply two articulations (main and release) to the same note?

Thanks
i7-3930K, Asus X79 Sabertooth 32 gigs ram, 1.5 TB SSD, Win7 64. MOTU pcie 424 & interfaces, 2xUAD-2 Quad + Octo. ISA and UA preamps. Cubase 7, PT11, Wavelab 8, various guitars, amps, soft and hard synths.
Blerg
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Question about expression maps

Postby papi61 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:10 pm

What Kontakt version do you have? I know for certain that version 4 couldn't do that, but version 5 can. I can't help you with Mojo Horns because I don't use that library.

Yes, you can enter two articulations for the same note, but the library must be able to handle that and you definitely need Kontakt 5. IIRC Mojo Horns has been available for several years, so it might not be 100% compatible with expression maps. Kontakt 5 has extra switches, but if the library was designed for an earlier version, they're not triggered. So, even if you use K5, it might still not work.
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Question about expression maps

Postby Blerg » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:19 pm

I'm using kontakt 5. I think it does handle two articulations because if I put two switches in one cubase map setting... It works. It appears that cubase is not sending both switches when the switches are split the way I described above.
i7-3930K, Asus X79 Sabertooth 32 gigs ram, 1.5 TB SSD, Win7 64. MOTU pcie 424 & interfaces, 2xUAD-2 Quad + Octo. ISA and UA preamps. Cubase 7, PT11, Wavelab 8, various guitars, amps, soft and hard synths.
Blerg
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Question about expression maps

Postby vic_france » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:47 pm

The explanation of VST Expression "Groups" is more than a little vague.. in fact they only serve to prioritize which VST Expression Slots are called up (and are really only useful when used in the Score Editor... I'll elaborate a little later ;) )
The important thing to realize, is that Cubase can transmit only one Slot at a time.
So, to have a Remote Key trigger two (or more) Articulations simultaneously, you must create a Slot with both the required key triggers contained in the same slot (upper-right section of the VST Expression Editor.. use the "+" to create additional triggers)... and (this is the important bit ;) ).. when playing live (or/and recording).. that slot must have its own.. single.. remote trigger note (center section of the VST Expression Editor.. not to be confused with the two trigger notes that are then transmitted by that slot).

For info, the way the Groups work in the Score Editor is as follows..
When a note has both the Articulation symbols present, it calls up that slot (which has one of the articulations in the Grp #1 column, and the other one in the Grp#2 column)... but that amounts to exactly the same thing as triggering that slot by playing the (single) remote key that you defined in the center section of the VST Expression Editor.

(Please don't shoot the messenger :P )
Mac Pro Quad-Core 2.66 gHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV l Mac OS X 10.8.5 l Mac OS X 10.6.8 | Cubase 7.5.20| Cubase 7.0.7| Cubase 6.5.5 | Cubase 5.5.3
vic_france
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Question about expression maps

Postby Blerg » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:06 pm

Thanks Vic... No messenger shooting here!

Unfortunately, if I understand you correctly, you are confirming my experiments. Do you agree that this means I have to create one articulation with two key switches for each combination of main and release articulations I want to use?

Thanks
i7-3930K, Asus X79 Sabertooth 32 gigs ram, 1.5 TB SSD, Win7 64. MOTU pcie 424 & interfaces, 2xUAD-2 Quad + Octo. ISA and UA preamps. Cubase 7, PT11, Wavelab 8, various guitars, amps, soft and hard synths.
Blerg
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Question about expression maps

Postby vic_france » Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:14 am

Yes, I confirm (one Slot per possible combination of desired articulations!)
Mac Pro Quad-Core 2.66 gHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV l Mac OS X 10.8.5 l Mac OS X 10.6.8 | Cubase 7.5.20| Cubase 7.0.7| Cubase 6.5.5 | Cubase 5.5.3
vic_france
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 70 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: airflamesred, Bystmeier, LittleWiggler, Makumbaria, pondwalden, Whispergift and 6 guests