7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby beatpete » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:25 pm

I've been trying to use Cubase 7 for almost a year now and, finally, with the release of 7.06, I'm using it full time (and loving it) instead of 6.55. Thank you Steinberg, it took almost a year and I felt a beta tester most of the time, but it's very useable now.
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.10
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit, Asus P5W DH Deluxe, Q6600, 8 gig Corsair XMS ram, , MR816 X(x2) VE Pro
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 652
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby artguy » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:50 pm

I'm running 6.5.5 on an old XP box and while it's stable, there is an issue with projects needing to be opened via the menu, i.e. they do not open via a project file.

I tried re-installing from scratch but maybe it is the OS that's the issue and quite honestly I cannot be bothered any more with it, as my new box is streets ahead in terms of stability and performance (Windows 7 x64).

C7 does require more resources that is true but for the increase in stability, it is more than worth the expense if it means having to purchase new hardware.

I'm glad I made the change!
User avatar
artguy
Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby rchaisse » Fri Sep 27, 2013 9:21 pm

beatpete wrote:I've been trying to use Cubase 7 for almost a year now and, finally, with the release of 7.06, I'm using it full time (and loving it) instead of 6.55. Thank you Steinberg, it took almost a year and I felt a beta tester most of the time, but it's very useable now.

DITTO !!!! I can finally relax and WORK !! thank you, Steinberg :P
Cubase 7.07, Win7 64-bit, Intel i5, 16gb ram, Dual-Monitors, Dual M-Audio 1010 interface
rchaisse
Junior Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 6:50 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby Rotund » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:59 pm

First, I would like to say thanks as well.

But maybe, just maybe they should thank us right back.
For all the beta testing, issue reporting and
ultimately not going over to the competitors.

How about it Steinberg? Do you appreciate us or not?
No one would mind if you actually did thank your user base.
How about a deep discount on one of your products that we don't own yet?

Customer loyalty is not something to take for granted ever, especially these days.
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.07, Nuendo+Nek 5.5.6, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby artguy » Sat Sep 28, 2013 12:19 am

Rotund wrote:Customer loyalty is not something to take for granted ever, especially these days.


The flip-side of this is, you don't get anywhere near the features or productivity from any of the competitors, period.

The reason for this is simple:

Steinberg create the standards as one arm, the second being the applications (cubendo) that implement those glorious and infinitely workable standards, third, product development continues in other realms such as plugins and software that again implement the standards Steinberg create.

SB thanking me?

For what...

making the product I buy better in the long run because I chose to be a part of a great endeavour?
User avatar
artguy
Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby Mirco Zappaterra » Sat Sep 28, 2013 11:30 pm

I am also moved to 7.06, I waited almost a year before deciding ....
I recently also cmc six and I am really happy ...
just no problem with macbook pro ....
I must say that compared to the mixer 6.5.5 is great ....
I know of no pc and win, but you can safely pass on mac osx ... at 7:06
I'm not finding any problem and I'm going through all my old projects and will get better with a mixer so .. ciaoooooo
That the world would be without cubase 7 and cmc six pack?
  I love this combination, a perfect marriage.
User avatar
Mirco Zappaterra
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby curteye » Sun Sep 29, 2013 2:02 am

beatpete wrote:I've been trying to use Cubase 7 for almost a year now and, finally, with the release of 7.06, I'm using it full time (and loving it) instead of 6.55. Thank you Steinberg, it took almost a year and I felt a beta tester most of the time, but it's very useable now.


Nice to read.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4681
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 143 times

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby boobar » Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:11 am

and in a parallel universe i have been using C7 since it came out no problems, mixer fonts always been OK etc. downloaded 7.0.6 and bingo i can't read the track names in MC as they have slipped below the window. it's a small problem but has brought my workflow to a grinding halt. tried resetting the mixer window as suggested in previous thread but no change
Cubase 6.02.64 bit Kontakt 4. B3. Battery 3
Windows 7 Intel i7 quad core 2.93 GHz. 8GB RAM
Presonus firepod. M-Audio Prokeys 88. SP cs5 mic and others
Taylor acoustic guitar. Ukelele. Ibanez bass. Piano
http://www.myspace.com/andyhamiltonthemadhatterz
boobar
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:00 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby artguy » Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:31 am

boobar wrote:tried resetting the mixer window as suggested in previous thread but no change


Have you tried deleting you preferences?
User avatar
artguy
Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby boobar » Sun Sep 29, 2013 8:41 am

thanks no i haven't are there unwanted consequences doing that
Cubase 6.02.64 bit Kontakt 4. B3. Battery 3
Windows 7 Intel i7 quad core 2.93 GHz. 8GB RAM
Presonus firepod. M-Audio Prokeys 88. SP cs5 mic and others
Taylor acoustic guitar. Ukelele. Ibanez bass. Piano
http://www.myspace.com/andyhamiltonthemadhatterz
boobar
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:00 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby boobar » Sun Sep 29, 2013 9:35 am

OK looked up deleting preferences in the knowledge base and opened in safe mode, disabled preferences but the problem is still there so i presume it has nothing to do with preferences
Cubase 6.02.64 bit Kontakt 4. B3. Battery 3
Windows 7 Intel i7 quad core 2.93 GHz. 8GB RAM
Presonus firepod. M-Audio Prokeys 88. SP cs5 mic and others
Taylor acoustic guitar. Ukelele. Ibanez bass. Piano
http://www.myspace.com/andyhamiltonthemadhatterz
boobar
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:00 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby boobar » Sun Sep 29, 2013 10:02 am

Found a whole lot of other strange stuff going on since 7.0.6 like no insert or send slots, no EQ panel so i think i must have a corrupt download. Tried downloading again and re-installing but instalation process says already installed no change. what can i do any help appreciated
Cubase 6.02.64 bit Kontakt 4. B3. Battery 3
Windows 7 Intel i7 quad core 2.93 GHz. 8GB RAM
Presonus firepod. M-Audio Prokeys 88. SP cs5 mic and others
Taylor acoustic guitar. Ukelele. Ibanez bass. Piano
http://www.myspace.com/andyhamiltonthemadhatterz
boobar
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:00 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby artguy » Sun Sep 29, 2013 10:30 am

boobar wrote:What can i do any help appreciated.


In that case, you may well need to uninstall and re-install the application.
User avatar
artguy
Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby boobar » Sun Sep 29, 2013 10:39 am

Thanks Artguy i presume by doing that i will loose all presets, key shortcuts etc. Jeeze I'm gonna have to sleep on it first but looks like i have no choice. Is there a way to just roll back to the last update which i was quite happy with and then wait for the next one
Cubase 6.02.64 bit Kontakt 4. B3. Battery 3
Windows 7 Intel i7 quad core 2.93 GHz. 8GB RAM
Presonus firepod. M-Audio Prokeys 88. SP cs5 mic and others
Taylor acoustic guitar. Ukelele. Ibanez bass. Piano
http://www.myspace.com/andyhamiltonthemadhatterz
boobar
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:00 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby artguy » Sun Sep 29, 2013 10:49 am

boobar wrote:Is there a way to just roll back to the last update which i was quite happy with and then wait for the next one?


Unfortunately not.

According to the version history, there is much to be gained from running 7.0.6.
User avatar
artguy
Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby boobar » Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:24 am

Thanks for your help artguy. I will sleep on it, bed time in NZ anyway and will re-instal tomorrow and let you know how i get on. i agree the version notes looked promising and feedback has been positive. i was particularly looking forward to workspaces functioning better, they've never worked for me. But this update has turned into a nightmare for me and i've managed to corrupt this positive thread to "finally i can't use Cubase"
Cubase 6.02.64 bit Kontakt 4. B3. Battery 3
Windows 7 Intel i7 quad core 2.93 GHz. 8GB RAM
Presonus firepod. M-Audio Prokeys 88. SP cs5 mic and others
Taylor acoustic guitar. Ukelele. Ibanez bass. Piano
http://www.myspace.com/andyhamiltonthemadhatterz
boobar
New Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:00 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby AP » Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:37 pm

Mixing projects all weekend with no problems. It's the best:D
Cubase 7.5.20, 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.9.4 UR28M, CMC.
AP
Junior Member
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby DaDa » Tue Oct 01, 2013 12:45 am

7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Not here.

6.5.5 is the way to go.
Faster and easier in so many ways !!
Mixer shows all important information at a glance !
Less clicking !
Faster opening and closing of plugin GUIs !
Mixer needs a lot less space for the same information !
All numbers are readable !
Better, less toyish, more ergonomic mixer design
( buttons with different shapes, better channel separation, less wasted space ... and more )
etc.
etc.

especially newcomers should try 6.5.5. ... the best Cubase ... so far !!
( it's included in every C7 license )
8-)

Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4,2gHz | 8gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 19" LCDs | System SSD |7tb Data HDs
RayDat | ProFire 2626 | UR 824
Win7 64bit | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | Samplitude 11 32bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore
User avatar
DaDa
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby Puma0382 » Tue Oct 01, 2013 9:06 am

DaDa wrote:
7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Not here.

6.5.5 is the way to go.

Not for me..! I've happily moved over to 7.0.6 now

DaDa wrote:Faster and easier in so many ways !!

Whatever you're used to... ;)

DaDa wrote:Mixer shows all important information at a glance !

Except it doesn't show all the inserts/sends and stuff in one go, like EVERYONE wanted it to (as was a major complaint in those big long whinging, complaining threads to Steinberg to change the frikkin mixer in C6.x.x PLEASE..!! Its so old and tired looking, etc, etc - go look at Logic, see, they can do it - oh, now - look at Studio One, see steinberg, it is so much better... PLEASE, when are you going to change it..?; if you don't change it I'm going to go with Studio One, etc, etc...)

DaDa wrote:
Less clicking !

Marginal, but agreed it does add up...

DaDa wrote:
Faster opening and closing of plugin GUIs !

Yes, agreed; I have noticed this

DaDa wrote:
especially newcomers should try 6.5.5. ... the best Cubase ... so far !!
( it's included in every C7 license )
8-)

Jan

Well, guess what..? Those newcomers/youngsters are in fact all absolutely LOVING the new C7 I'm afraid; every bit of it, flocking to it - go read a few posts on the SB Facebook page for evidence. A few whingers, but mostly, LOVING it..! They've no notion or desire whatsoever to go and seek out and install an 'earlier' release...

Be happy and make great music Jan with your 6.5.5 !! Good luck..!
C7.5.20; Win 7 32bit; Q6600 2.4 Ghz; 4Gb RAM; NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS; MIDISPORT 2x2; Delta1010LT;
WL8; Komplete9, StylusRMX
Puma0382
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby artguy » Tue Oct 01, 2013 9:17 am

Puma0382 wrote:Be happy and make great music Jan with your 6.5.5


Cubase 6 was built for Windows Vista/7 and does not include the enhanced audio engine of Cubase 7, nor the audio improvements let alone such features as MIDI chord recognition, safe mode and a driver chooser on start up.
User avatar
artguy
Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby mozizo » Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:14 am

and a driver chooser on start up.


is there a way to disable this ? actually i don't like it.. especially when the Driver popup window is hidden behind other programs window and i think cubase is stuck !!
cubase 7.5.20 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: 7.06 Finally I can use Cubase 7!!!

Postby artguy » Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:36 am

mozizo wrote:
and a driver chooser on start up.


is there a way to disable this ?


It only shows upon a fresh installation or when preferences are removed and gives those with more than one interface a choice as to which one is set as the default ASIO driver.
User avatar
artguy
Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:27 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anthonie, Imzadi, musicbender and 4 guests