Live guitar and C7

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Live guitar and C7

Postby cubawak » Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:11 am

How can I play/record guitar with effects while I'm recording?
Is it possible to do it?
For instance I would like to play guitar connected to my interface with plugin from cubase like vst amp rack and record it live in C7.
Cubase 7.5.0 64bit
WaveLab7
Windows Pro 7 64bit
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
16 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Akai MPK88
CH, QC, AI
cubawak
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Live guitar and C7

Postby fireinthefishtank » Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:35 am

I'm not sure if I understand your question correctly but:

If you want to to record the sound from you vst gtr amp into Cubase in real time and be done with it, then you can insert your gtr vst amp onto one of the inputs of your sound card in the mix console.

1. Open Mix Console > Insert vst gtr amp on Input 1 for example (or whatever the inputs are labeled like )
2. Create an Audio Track > select the same input you are using
3. Press record > and off you go.

Your amp sound will be recorded on the Audio track as you hear it. Any FX or plugins you insert on the input in the MC will be recorded as well.

Hope this helps!

F-
fireinthefishtank
Junior Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 4:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Live guitar and C7

Postby cubawak » Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:45 am

I think I did it
input - vst amp rack on
audio with the same input and stereo output
I don't hear VST Amp Rack... :-( just clean guitar.
Cubase 7.5.0 64bit
WaveLab7
Windows Pro 7 64bit
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
16 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Akai MPK88
CH, QC, AI
cubawak
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Live guitar and C7

Postby fireinthefishtank » Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:59 am

Did you make a dedicated Audio Track and engage the monitor button on it?

See pic.
Attachments
gtr print to track.png
(561.32 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fireinthefishtank
Junior Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 4:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Live guitar and C7

Postby cubawak » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:26 am

Yes - I did.
It's working. For some reaso I had to quit Cubase and reopen it. With the same setup working fine now.
Thank you.
Cubase 7.5.0 64bit
WaveLab7
Windows Pro 7 64bit
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
16 GB RAM
UAD2 Apollo Quad
Akai MPK88
CH, QC, AI
cubawak
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:59 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cmaffia, GargoyleStudio, Grim, Patanjali, stevont, VariMu and 8 guests