Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Postby rokus666 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 3:21 am

Hey all,

I am trying to record the exact note value into score from midi modifier.
For example:
Midi modifier(MIDI insert plugin) is set to pentatonic scale.
When I record MIDI data into piano roll or score view, it only shows me the original pitches, not the sounding pitches.

Is it possible to somehow tell score editor to record actual sounding pitches of the midi modifier scale?
__________________
Roko Djokovic
**** COMMODORE 64 BASIC V2 ****
64K RAM SYSTEM 38911 BASIC BYTES FREE
READY.
rokus666
New Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Postby rokus666 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 5:40 pm

Anyone?
I have to figure this out. it is important.
Also, midi transformer is crashing whatever preset I put in!
__________________
Roko Djokovic
**** COMMODORE 64 BASIC V2 ****
64K RAM SYSTEM 38911 BASIC BYTES FREE
READY.
rokus666
New Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Postby rokus666 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 5:40 pm

Anyone?
I have to figure this out. it is important.
Also, midi transformer is crashing whatever preset I put in!
__________________
Roko Djokovic
**** COMMODORE 64 BASIC V2 ****
64K RAM SYSTEM 38911 BASIC BYTES FREE
READY.
rokus666
New Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Postby rokus666 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 5:40 pm

Anyone?
I have to figure this out. it is important.
Also, midi transformer is crashing whatever preset I put in!
__________________
Roko Djokovic
**** COMMODORE 64 BASIC V2 ****
64K RAM SYSTEM 38911 BASIC BYTES FREE
READY.
rokus666
New Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Postby rokus666 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 5:40 pm

Anyone?
I have to figure this out. it is important.
Also, midi transformer is crashing whatever preset I put in!
__________________
Roko Djokovic
**** COMMODORE 64 BASIC V2 ****
64K RAM SYSTEM 38911 BASIC BYTES FREE
READY.
rokus666
New Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Postby el-russo » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:31 pm

Select the tracks containing parts you want to apply inserts to, then MIDI=>Freeze MIDI modifiers. That will transform the actual MIDI data within the parts on the tracks.

You might also investigate "Merge MIDI in Loop" function as it has a few additional options to offer.
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4
User avatar
el-russo
Member
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Postby rokus666 » Sat Sep 28, 2013 12:56 am

Thanks so much, this works like a charm! :D
Sorry for the multiple posts, not my fault...
best
__________________
Roko Djokovic
**** COMMODORE 64 BASIC V2 ****
64K RAM SYSTEM 38911 BASIC BYTES FREE
READY.
rokus666
New Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Postby rokus666 » Sun Sep 29, 2013 12:00 am

I was doing further experimentation with this.
I have realized that when you merge MIDI in loop changes the notes to the desired scale.
That is fine...

Lets say I wanted to record few different MIDI events with different modifier scales on the same track...
I can only hear one mode throughout.
In different midi events I want to be able to have different scales through MIDI modifier.
It only lets me have one scale per track.
Can different MIDI events on the same track have different scales from MIDI modifier?
__________________
Roko Djokovic
**** COMMODORE 64 BASIC V2 ****
64K RAM SYSTEM 38911 BASIC BYTES FREE
READY.
rokus666
New Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Midi Modifiers(MIDI Insert) Question?

Postby SteveInChicago » Sun Sep 29, 2013 4:38 am

rokus666 wrote:Can different MIDI events on the same track have different scales from MIDI modifier?

That used to be possible years ago when parts had inspectors of there own (Cubase VST 5?).

Have you looked at the inspector inside the Key Editor?
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4612
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 269 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ritz_on_the_rocks, vinja and 7 guests