Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Post general topics related to Cubase 7, Cubase Artist 7 and Cubase Elements 7 here.

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby Bacizone » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:22 am

mozizo wrote:Edit 2: another related to navigation.. try ctrl+ scroll wheel .. Shift+scroll wheel and see what it does :)


When the Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Center is installed for my Microsoft Wireless Keyboard 5000, I do not see this vertical scrolling working in the Track Inspector. Previously the middle click + drag worked, but since the Microsoft app is present, the Ctrl, Alt or Shift + drag does not work all.

Any idea what works when Microsoft Mouse and Keyboard Center is installed for scrolling up/down in Track Inspector?
i7 2600K - Gigabyte GAZ68X-UD3H - 16 GB Corsair Vengeance - TC Powercore Unplugged | Windows 7 64-bit | Cubase 7.5.x 64-bit | HALion 5 64-bit | Genelec 8030 | Focusrite Saffire
Bacizone
Member
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:47 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby Bacizone » Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:22 am

Tip regarding stability: if you are still using the 32-bit, go for the 64-bit version of Cubase!
I changed to the 64-bit path a week ago and since that I face much less crash, Cubase is barely crashing now.

I often noticed while working with 32-bit Cubase that some background tasks (like Dropbox, Google Drive, etc.) take up quite a lot of memory, also opened browsers while working decreased memory a lot.

I have 16 GB RAM but it was useless as Cubase could use only 4 GB or so, I often noticed strange symptoms, like plugins opened without GUI, MixConsole freezes (did not react anymore) and memory intensive plug-ins or many instances of the same plug-in often crashed the whole app. When I quit browsers, Dropbox, etc. Cubase became functional again, but Windows Task Manager displayed the hard reality: around 4-5 GB physical RAM usage (including the OS) the whole system become unstable.

Now I think that many instability / errors seemed like "bugs" arised from the low amount of memory dedicated to Cubase!

I had the 64-bit version of nearly all of the plugins I am using (many of them are even VST3), a few are bridged with JBridge and things are really very smooth and responsive now. Projects now often take 8-9 GB of RAM which was impossible to finish on the 32-bit Cubase and even my backdrop apps, browser, etc. are opened and running in the background - no problems!

BTW it is not a good thing that Cubase become a memory hog over the years, but the only thing we can do is just to follow its ever increasing system requirements (or change to other DAW, but this is something I completely avoid and not an option for me at all due to spending so much time with the app, finished lots of work, etc.).
i7 2600K - Gigabyte GAZ68X-UD3H - 16 GB Corsair Vengeance - TC Powercore Unplugged | Windows 7 64-bit | Cubase 7.5.x 64-bit | HALion 5 64-bit | Genelec 8030 | Focusrite Saffire
Bacizone
Member
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:47 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby Paul Coyle » Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:10 pm

Ahoy,

More goodness collated into the 1st post.

man, you peoples are so clever.

Eiry
DAW W7 32Bit-Cubase 8.0 Wavelab 8.0.3-Core2 Quad Q9400-4 Gb Ram-Lots of HDD's-Dual Monitors-Old, but solid! Interface AD/DA Focusrite Liquid 56 (Mix Control 3.2)-Focusrite Octopre Platinum (Via Twin Light-pipe)-DBX 386 dual valve Pre (Via AES/EBU)Monitoring Genelec 1029A's-Yamaha HS10W Sub Console Yamaha PM2000 24/8-146kg of analogue goodness
User avatar
Paul Coyle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:17 pm
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby blob » Thu May 15, 2014 9:02 pm

Hi. This is a great topic. I've learned a lot of things!!.
So I'd like to share some way I use to work with Nuendo:.

1. Take a look at Direct Folders: http://codesector.com/directfolders
It provides the function Cubendo should have long time ago, remembering paths. It also let you go to a folder of your choice (previously configured) with middle mouse double click. Time saver. All the stuff from codesector is top notch (Terra copy bypasses windows copy engine. its 10 times faster)
2. I don't use Track Presets. This function seems broken/ not mature enough. Instead of I use export Track Archives. You can make templates of mixed channels (MIDi, FX,Groups, audio, markers etc.) and recall them from any folder!. Just use Direct Folders :). Takes 2 secs. As a bonus I can instantly recall different Generic Remote setups. Just use DF (from now on I will use this as the Direct Folders name :) )
3. I did post a way to make "fake" VCA" on the Nuendo forum. It is the way I like it :) .
Blue Cat company has got a suite of free gain plugins. The nice thing is they respond to MIDI and can be grouped!
So: Insert x amount of Free Gain plugin into desired channels. Group them. Configure them to respond to a Cubendo's MIDI channel. Instant VCA. Here the link : viewtopic.php?f=76&t=13972. And: I f you insert the in slot 6 you ride pre fader, slot 7 post fader or a mixture you desire. PT VCA is a joke in comparison LOL. :evil:
4. Another thing I was looking for was the soundminers ability to PREVIEW SFX with VST plugins. Solution: Just use Headphone Bus (assuming one is using Control Room). You can insert plugs into the bus and preview Media Bay in real time. Link: viewtopic.php?f=76&t=36417. It saves some bucks and lets you "design" sfx as you preview database. :geek:

More to come :)
Thank you for the great topic!!
blob
Junior Member
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby skillet » Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:01 pm

Rhino wrote:a macro "new track" assigned to a KC, along the lines of :
Code: Select all
- duplicate selected track
- select all events on the new one
- delete
- arm for record

this is a huge timesaver when tracking, since all the routing and FX are already done ...
cheers,
Rhino


Paul Coyle wrote:Ahoy,
@ Rhino That new track macro is gold
It even works for multiple tracks just as long as they're selected.


For me it doesn't arm the tracks because once you delete the items it goes to the first selected track and only that one is armed. This is because "Track Selection Follows Event Selection" is enabled which makes the first selected track the only selected track after delete.

However if you change the order of the last two it will work more consistently (i.e. With "Track Selection Follows Event Selection" enabled) though you loose track selection if on anything but Range Selection tools but duplicated tracks are still armed.

I also don't ever need any other tracks to be record enabled and usually they are monitoring through the tracks I am duplicating so they are already armed. So I added a Project Logical Editor for all armed tracks (already a shortcut for disabling only audio tracks in Mixer key commands if you need just that).

Code: Select all
- duplicate selected track
- select all events on the new one
- PLE - Disable Arming On All Audio, MIDI & Instrument Tracks
- arm for record
- delete


I use this all the time with Pro Tools and select what I want to duplicate so this would be a great help to get set up.
Attachments
PLE - Disable Arming On All Audio, MIDI and Instrument Tracks.jpg
PLE - Disable Arming On All Audio, MIDI and Instrument Tracks
(70.85 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Pro Tools Duplicate Selected Tracks.jpg
Pro Tools Duplicate Selected Tracks
(29.55 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by skillet on Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:45 am, edited 3 times in total.
OSX Version 10.10.2 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 7.5.30 (I use 75% of the time) | Cubase 8.0.5 (essential key commands broken and will not run in 64bit after hours with Steinberg tech support) | Pro Tools 11.3 | Logic 10.1 | Digital Performer 8.0.7

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: M-Audio Venom Keyboard, Roland A-33; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2
User avatar
skillet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Tue Jul 01, 2014 8:31 pm

blob wrote:4. Another thing I was looking for was the soundminers ability to PREVIEW SFX with VST plugins. Solution: Just use Headphone Bus (assuming one is using Control Room). You can insert plugs into the bus and preview Media Bay in real time. Link: viewtopic.php?f=76&t=36417. It saves some bucks and lets you "design" sfx as you preview database. :geek:


this is good stuff-- i would insert a realtime pitch shifting plugin for previewing samples in a transposed key at once.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=38182
lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 118 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby Ascender » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:12 pm

Great tips here and I appreciate this thread. Thanks all!
Ascender
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 5:44 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby Majic » Thu Jul 03, 2014 11:27 pm

Grim wrote:
So, a quick, short left click drag over the e to open the instrument.


Is this any different from the official click and hold to open the vsti?
I suspect this is all you are really doing and the short left drag is unconnected.



SHIFT + ALT click on 'e' will open all inserts on that channel.

SHIFT + click on 'e' will close all inserts.
Majic
Member
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:49 pm
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby skillet » Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:53 am

Xtigma wrote:rename all tracks inside a folder to the same name
type name in folder, hold down shift + press enter at the same time


This works with any modifier but the control key on a Mac. It seems like I once found a consecutive number method (not shift on selected input and output paths), like Logic does for Objects in the Environment.
OSX Version 10.10.2 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 7.5.30 (I use 75% of the time) | Cubase 8.0.5 (essential key commands broken and will not run in 64bit after hours with Steinberg tech support) | Pro Tools 11.3 | Logic 10.1 | Digital Performer 8.0.7

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: M-Audio Venom Keyboard, Roland A-33; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2
User avatar
skillet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby skillet » Mon Jul 07, 2014 3:56 pm

Command click on Inspector items to open more than one. Shift click on any of them to close all of them at once. Handy when you use Inspector shortcuts since there doesn't seem to be a shortcut to close them all at once. You quickly loose view of some items using the shortcuts unless you always toggle them. Thankfully toggling any item (that may be open already) now brings it back into view though.
OSX Version 10.10.2 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 7.5.30 (I use 75% of the time) | Cubase 8.0.5 (essential key commands broken and will not run in 64bit after hours with Steinberg tech support) | Pro Tools 11.3 | Logic 10.1 | Digital Performer 8.0.7

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: M-Audio Venom Keyboard, Roland A-33; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2
User avatar
skillet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby skillet » Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:40 pm

lukasbrooklyn wrote:However, a KC to 'close all' plugin GUIs that are currently opened on the screen, at once. pretty handy.


Do you know if there is a way to toggle them from open and closed for the currently open windows or plug-ins. Cmd+opt+ctrl+w is what it is for Pro Tools and it is so handy, I use that feature all the time.

Also is there a key command to open all plug-ins on selected track without mouse clicking (option+shift on the edit button). Something similar to what "Edit VST Instrument" does but for plug-ins.
Last edited by skillet on Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
OSX Version 10.10.2 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 7.5.30 (I use 75% of the time) | Cubase 8.0.5 (essential key commands broken and will not run in 64bit after hours with Steinberg tech support) | Pro Tools 11.3 | Logic 10.1 | Digital Performer 8.0.7

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: M-Audio Venom Keyboard, Roland A-33; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2
User avatar
skillet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby skillet » Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:47 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:Here's a little one...

The return and Enter keys no longer default to the Export button In Audio Export, and now you have to mouse or tab to the button.

But, you can assign Enter or Return (or whatever) to the Key Command "Perform Audio Export" and get that functionality back. On my system it did not interfere with any other use of those keys. (text fields were confirmed, focused buttons still got pressed.)


Did you edit the XML file manually? I get the pop-up this is already assigned to another key command.
OSX Version 10.10.2 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 7.5.30 (I use 75% of the time) | Cubase 8.0.5 (essential key commands broken and will not run in 64bit after hours with Steinberg tech support) | Pro Tools 11.3 | Logic 10.1 | Digital Performer 8.0.7

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: M-Audio Venom Keyboard, Roland A-33; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2
User avatar
skillet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:16 am

skillet wrote:
lukasbrooklyn wrote:However, a KC to 'close all' plugin GUIs that are currently opened on the screen, at once. pretty handy.


Do you know if there is a way to toggle them from open and closed for the currently open windows or plug-ins. Cmd+opt+ctrl+w is what it is for Pro Tools and it is so handy, I use that feature all the time.

Also is there a key command to open all plug-ins on selected track without mouse clicking (option+shift on the edit button). Something similar to what "Edit VST Instrument" does but for plug-ins.


there isn't unfortunately. (no to both.)

(might want to try going through the generic remote-assignable commands though; it's detective work but you may find some nice surprises there. lots more on top of what's available as a regular keycommand. just not this very feature i'm afraid. what you can in fact find as assignable commands via generic remote is to 'open insert # X'. you could then send 8 midi commands via GR to open up all 8 potential inserted GUIs on a given channel. again, not the best way of interpretting the concept of 'user experience' by steinberg.)
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=38182
lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 118 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby skillet » Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:03 pm

Great thanks Lukas for the ideas and help, happy that there is at least a way to implement it. I hadn't seen the insert slot feature so I'll have to set that up now.

Thank also for helping me end the mad hunt for the toggle open windows thing!
OSX Version 10.10.2 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 7.5.30 (I use 75% of the time) | Cubase 8.0.5 (essential key commands broken and will not run in 64bit after hours with Steinberg tech support) | Pro Tools 11.3 | Logic 10.1 | Digital Performer 8.0.7

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: M-Audio Venom Keyboard, Roland A-33; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2
User avatar
skillet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby mozizo » Tue Dec 02, 2014 12:04 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5P1afv ... ctE04CmSCw
a video shows how to use VSTI as Click source and record (Export) it as an audio..
(italian spoken but understandable anyway for non italian speakers as i am )
cubase Pro 8.0.5 64bit ,halion 5.1.1 , GA4.2 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 86 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby Paul Coyle » Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:34 pm

Howdy People,

Collated a couple more clever shortcuts into the 1st post.

As this thread gets bigger and more and more unwieldy I'm sure I'm missing a ripper tip here or there, if you spot any plz PM me or re-post below, I'll get onto it.

Should this be thread be sticky?

As always, thanks to all for your wiliness and especially for sharing it.
DAW W7 32Bit-Cubase 8.0 Wavelab 8.0.3-Core2 Quad Q9400-4 Gb Ram-Lots of HDD's-Dual Monitors-Old, but solid! Interface AD/DA Focusrite Liquid 56 (Mix Control 3.2)-Focusrite Octopre Platinum (Via Twin Light-pipe)-DBX 386 dual valve Pre (Via AES/EBU)Monitoring Genelec 1029A's-Yamaha HS10W Sub Console Yamaha PM2000 24/8-146kg of analogue goodness
User avatar
Paul Coyle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:17 pm
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 54 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby SteveInChicago » Tue Dec 30, 2014 4:42 am

Hi Paul,

I think this is a great use of the forum- and you've taken the trouble to maintain the original post, so I stickied it. If you continue to keep it going that would be great.

If you (or anyone) could flag posts off topic posts, I'll remove them to keep the thread clean. The moderators do appreciate when members flag posts since one can't (and won't! :P )read each post. :)
Cubase Pro 8 | Windows Pro 8.1 16gb | Mac 10.10.1 | 8gb | UR44
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 5188
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 140 times
Been thanked: 378 times

History Window

Postby alexis » Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:16 pm

This is a "I can't believe I didn't know that" kind of observation:

"In the history window, you can go up and down using the arrow keys. "

All these years I've been using the mouse which is really hard to do accurately in that window for some reason.

Thanks to greggybud for pointing this out in another post.

Also: can close the history window with a CTRL-W (Win), as long as it's in focus. Can't be brain-dead about that though, if it's not in focus Cubase wants to close the whole project. But it won't without a 2-step confirmation.
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness


Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro3; 0.2 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 164 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby mr0berts » Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:20 pm

lukasbrooklyn posted this very useful hint on replacing an audio file in your project by a new audio file, possibly influencing dozens of events:
Replace all audio clip instances - by lukasbrooklyn
To replace all instances of an audio event in a project (akin to exchanging a sample in a sampler), put your replacement sample in the pool, the drag it from the pool whist holding shift, and drop it onto the event to be replaced.

My question is: why is this not mentioned in the pool manual, or (if it is): where do I find such functions in the manual?
mr0berts
User avatar
mr0berts
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:07 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby puppypaws0123 » Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:31 am

Hedshaker wrote:When I clean my studio I always put the polish down in the same place else I spend the next hour looking for it 8-)




good tip ;)
puppypaws0123
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:26 am
Location: Mayfield Heights
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Fri Feb 06, 2015 6:54 pm

mr0berts wrote:lukasbrooklyn posted this very useful hint on replacing an audio file in your project by a new audio file, possibly influencing dozens of events:
Replace all audio clip instances - by lukasbrooklyn
To replace all instances of an audio event in a project (akin to exchanging a sample in a sampler), put your replacement sample in the pool, then drag it from the pool whist holding shift, and drop it onto the event to be replaced.

My question is: why is this not mentioned in the pool manual, or (if it is): where do I find such functions in the manual?
mr0berts


it's not there is it?

oh well..

let me update the original tip i made, which had been:

"this one isn't too known i guess: to replace all instances of an audio event in a project (akin to exchanging a sample in a sampler), put your replacement sample in the pool, then drag it from the pool whist holding shift, and drop it onto the event to be replaced."

try the same with mediabay -- it works much the same way. have your mediabay open on one half of the screen and drag + shift + drop audio files on events to replace all instances of that event. almost like browsing samples in a sampler.

i could think of a dozen improvements to this (like: "only exchange samples for events between locators" and so on), but still quite a powerful feature as it is (albeit uber-hidden).
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=38182
lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 118 times

Re: Tips Tricks And Workflow Goodness.

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:39 am

my script for alt+mousewheel vertical scrolling that some people have been requesting
viewtopic.php?f=226&t=75025
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=38182
lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 118 times

Previous

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests