Creating stems

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Creating stems

Postby worksong » Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:57 am

Hello,
I searched the forums here for an answer to this question to no avail, so here it goes:

In Nuendo (I was using 3.0) there was a way to create stem mixes without exporting a mixdown. It would take each track and combine or "smooth over" all manual edits, crossfades, etc, fill in spaces, etc, and make a new wav or aif that was the length of the entire project. I had a macro set up to do an entire project at once. I cannot find any evidence that Cubase 7 does such a thing. Is this true? Does Cubase 7 lack this ability? If it does do such a thing, does anyone know how?

Thanks in advance!

Dave
Mac Pro Quad 2.66 14gb RAM, OSX 10.7.5, Cubase 7.05, RME Fireface 800, UAD2 Quad
worksong
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:21 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Creating stems

Postby stereolost » Tue Nov 19, 2013 7:50 am

Maybe you are talking about audio=>bounce? It writes down all audio event changes, fades, slices etc., and creates new audio files from that. But that is only on audio event level - no inserts, sends or automation.
3.49 hHz Intel Core i7^ 16GB RAM
UAD Apollo Thunderbolt
OSX 10.8.4 - Cubase 7.5
stereolost
Junior Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 5:49 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Creating stems

Postby Grim » Tue Nov 19, 2013 2:46 pm

I had a macro set up to do an entire project at once.


http://www.meap.biz/
i7 930@2.8, 12Gb, W7HP x64, Cubase 7.5.20 x64, Steinberg UR28M, Alphatrack, Wavelab Elements 7.2.1.
User avatar
Grim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 100 times

Re: Creating stems

Postby Centralmusic » Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:55 pm

In Nuendo 5 / 6 you can use "Export Bounce Marker" - this very useful option is not available in Cubase.
Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3531
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 141 times
Been thanked: 124 times

Re: Creating stems

Postby stingray » Tue Nov 19, 2013 7:24 pm

Organise your audio tracks to Group channels, each of which is to be one of the stems you require. Assign the chosen Group channels as the input sources for an appropriate number of empty Audio channels. Record enable these Audio channels and press the Transport record button to record all the stems in one pass.
stingray
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Creating stems

Postby worksong » Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:57 pm

stereolost wrote:Maybe you are talking about audio=>bounce? It writes down all audio event changes, fades, slices etc., and creates new audio files from that. But that is only on audio event level - no inserts, sends or automation.


Audio=>bounce! That's exactly it. Thank you very much, Stereolost. And thanks to everyone else for the replies as well. Very helpful!
Mac Pro Quad 2.66 14gb RAM, OSX 10.7.5, Cubase 7.05, RME Fireface 800, UAD2 Quad
worksong
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:21 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests