Beginner's question: Why does Midi Recording not work?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Beginner's question: Why does Midi Recording not work?

Postby Imbabura » Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:20 pm

Hello,
the last time I did Midi Recording was in the Nineties with Voyetra Orchestrator, quite some time ago. Now I'm eager to do more recordings again and I'm looking forward to all the VST possibilities there are. So I bought Cubase Elements 7, but until now I never could record anything.

Does anyone of you have an idea what's wrong or where I need to check something?

My Midi Signal comes from a Piano, that's connected to my Notebook via a USB Midi Adapter.
It's plugged in correctly as the Adapter shows with one light on that it's plugged in and with
the other light going on and off that it receives a Midi signal.

When I first plugged the USB adapter in Windows 7 automatically detected it and said it's okay
and ready to use.

In Cubase Elements 7 I was able to chose it as Imput Source for a Piano Track.
However, when I try to record nothing is recorded. Of course the record ability is
switched on for the track and when I record something with the keyboard of my laptop
it works fine, but of course I need to be able to record from a Piano.

Where is the problem?
General problem in Cubase? I don't think so, other types of recordings work fine as mentioned above?
Problem with the Adapter? Don't think so, the lamp tells me it receives something when I play on the piano.
Problem with the adapter driver? Don't think so. Windows told me it's installed correctly and Cubase lets me chose it as an input source.

Where else can I look for the solution? Any idea?

Thanks for all ideas
Imbabura
Imbabura
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:04 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beginner's question: Why does Midi Recording not work?

Postby NWP » Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:28 pm

Try Use System Timestamp.
NWP
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:26 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: Beginner's question: Why does Midi Recording not work?

Postby Luis Dongo » Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:48 am

Imbabura wrote:Hello,
the last time I did Midi Recording was in the Nineties with Voyetra Orchestrator, quite some time ago. Now I'm eager to do more recordings again and I'm looking forward to all the VST possibilities there are. So I bought Cubase Elements 7, but until now I never could record anything.

Does anyone of you have an idea what's wrong or where I need to check something?

My Midi Signal comes from a Piano, that's connected to my Notebook via a USB Midi Adapter.
It's plugged in correctly as the Adapter shows with one light on that it's plugged in and with
the other light going on and off that it receives a Midi signal.

When I first plugged the USB adapter in Windows 7 automatically detected it and said it's okay
and ready to use.

In Cubase Elements 7 I was able to chose it as Imput Source for a Piano Track.
However, when I try to record nothing is recorded. Of course the record ability is
switched on for the track and when I record something with the keyboard of my laptop
it works fine, but of course I need to be able to record from a Piano.

Where is the problem?
General problem in Cubase? I don't think so, other types of recordings work fine as mentioned above?
Problem with the Adapter? Don't think so, the lamp tells me it receives something when I play on the piano.
Problem with the adapter driver? Don't think so. Windows told me it's installed correctly and Cubase lets me chose it as an input source.

Where else can I look for the solution? Any idea?

Thanks for all ideas
Imbabura

Hi Imbabura,

please check on Cubase's preferences under MIDI, that MIDI Thru is active and under MIDI Filter / Record, that "Note" isn't active.

Regards
Luis Dongo, Technical Support
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Luis Dongo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 55 times

Re: Beginner's question: Why does Midi Recording not work?

Postby hikarateboy » Sat Nov 23, 2013 2:14 am

Are you sure that keyboard is transmitting midi notes?
Cubase 7, Win7, AMD FX 6100 Black Edition, 16 gigs Ram, 2 graphics card, running 4 displays, RME Hamerfall 5296, 24 ch A/D I/O, CC121, Soundcraft TS12 console, tons more. Avatar taken in worlds record holder for quietest place on earth.
User avatar
hikarateboy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Beginner's question: Why does Midi Recording not work?

Postby MRGORDION » Sun Nov 24, 2013 8:22 pm

Check to ensure that the MIDI channel for the piano device is the same as the channel for your MIDI track. I had the same problem for a while.
Gear: KORG M3, X50 and Taktile-25, Steinberg UR824, MOTU MIDI 128
Software: Cubase7-64, Win7-64
PC: HP h8-1280t, Intel Core i7-3820 @ 3.6GHz, 12G ram
MRGORDION
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Donaudio, gmontano, Makumbaria and 3 guests