Help with MIDI please!

Help with MIDI please!

Postby Sickmoth » Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:27 am

Hey everyone. Having Cubasis on my iPad is awesome, but I am struggling to make the MIDI work.

I can successfully pull in Sunrizer and Alchemy to appear in the inspector, but getting the virtual keyboard to work with them is a major frustration. When I did manage to get Sunrizer responding, for some reason I got drum sounds on every key too!

I have not used MIDI on the iPad before, and am not sure how it works really. Is anyone able to provide some advice on settings please?

Ideally I need to know which settings to put in which boxes in the inspector, as well as what settings need to be specified in the apps I am trying to run. Yep, I am a MIDIot!

Having searched extensively online for answers, there was nothing... The manual didn't help much either :( .
Sickmoth
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:19 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with MIDI please!

Postby Skipp » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:13 am

See my last post here

viewtopic.php?f=183&t=30907

You need to set a different receive channel for each App. Cubasis should be sending out to "virtual midi" on the appropriate channel for each App. The input settings for each App vary but set them to Cubasis if the option exists.

That's generally worked for me so far
Skipp
Junior Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 3:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with MIDI please!

Postby Sickmoth » Mon Dec 24, 2012 3:54 pm

Thanks for that, but still having lots of trouble with MIDI, and I guess Steinberg is aware of all the issues with this anyway.

An update needs to arrive soon which deals with this - I suppose Audiobus to some extent will do it, but it would be nice if the system worked as it should. One shouldn't have to experiment with all sorts of variables to get something working - this should be a given, especially considering the price.

When I did manage to get Animoog working (almost) properly, it would not mix down as a wav (just got a blank track) and then when re-booting and inputting the settings again, it put drum sounds behind every MIDI event. So, not very good.

Please, Steinberg, get an update to us soon!
Sickmoth
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:19 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with MIDI please!

Postby surfer » Mon Dec 24, 2012 7:17 pm

I suspect until Steinberg implements Audiobus I'm going to have to play Animoog from Cubasis via midi, use Animoog's 4 track to record it., then audio copy/paste back onto Cubasis.
User avatar
surfer
Member
 
Posts: 373
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:37 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Help with MIDI please!

Postby Sickmoth » Mon Dec 24, 2012 9:57 pm

Yep, it's gonna be a lot of pasting! Not such a hassle really as so many apps come with metronomes now, but still...

One day in the future we will all have metronomes built into our ears, and possibly Audiobus in our pants.
Sickmoth
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:19 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Cubasis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests