How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Denis » Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:10 pm

How do I do this, ie. Cubasis midi -> App (ie. Sunrizer or any of the Korg apps) -> audio back to Cubasis, or is this even possible.

I can get audio from an app to Cubasis through Audiobus if I play the app directly, but I want to sequence it from Cubasis. It seems midi tracks are "hardwired" to Cubasis' internal instruments.

I'm sure I'm missing something as I see by other posts that people are doing it.

Thanks
Denis
Denis
New Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Akamarko » Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:27 pm

Denis wrote:How do I do this, ie. Cubasis midi -> App (ie. Sunrizer or any of the Korg apps) -> audio back to Cubasis, or is this even possible.

I can get audio from an app to Cubasis through Audiobus if I play the app directly, but I want to sequence it from Cubasis. It seems midi tracks are "hardwired" to Cubasis' internal instruments.

I'm sure I'm missing something as I see by other posts that people are doing it.

Thanks
Denis

I will do a quick video tutorial on this and post later today.
iPad 2, iPhone 5, Mac Mini
iRig Keys, iRig Mic, iRig guitar, You Rock Guitar (midi guitar) Mobile In Guitar, GarageBand, Alchemy, Sunrizer, Cubasis, Music Studio, Amplitube, Mobile POD, MultiTrack, bs-16i, SampleTank, AudioBus, AmpKit, JamUp XT, G2M
Epiphone Les Paul Special GT
Music For iPad
Akamarko
Junior Member
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Frieder » Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm

Hello,

the workflow should be the following:

- Open Audiobus
- Select Cubasis as the Output and verify that Background Audio is active
- Select Sunrizer as the Input and verify that Background Audio is active
- Add a MIDI track in Cubasis open "MIDI Connections" in the inspector and select Sunrizer as the output
- Tap the instrument icon of the MIDI track and select "No Instrument" to unload the internal instrument of Cubasis. (If you play on the keyboard of Cubasis you should be able to hear Sunrizer)
- Arm the MIDI track and record something on it
- Disarm the MIDI track and arm the audio track that is named "Sunrizer"
- Start Recording

Expected Result: The output of Sunrizer is recorded.

If this does not work let me know.

Kind regards,
Frieder
Frieder Loch, Software Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Frieder
Moderator
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Denis » Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:31 pm

Thanks Akamarko, that would be very helpful.

Denis
Denis
New Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Frieder » Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:32 pm

Akamarko wrote:
Denis wrote:How do I do this, ie. Cubasis midi -> App (ie. Sunrizer or any of the Korg apps) -> audio back to Cubasis, or is this even possible.

I can get audio from an app to Cubasis through Audiobus if I play the app directly, but I want to sequence it from Cubasis. It seems midi tracks are "hardwired" to Cubasis' internal instruments.

I'm sure I'm missing something as I see by other posts that people are doing it.

Thanks
Denis

I will do a quick video tutorial on this and post later today.


Hello,

You are amazingly quick :D Great work with your tutorials.

Thanks and kind regards,
Frieder
Frieder Loch, Software Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Frieder
Moderator
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby trupro » Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:33 pm

Frieder wrote:Hello,

the workflow should be the following:

- Open Audiobus
- Select Cubasis as the Output and verify that Background Audio is active
- Select Sunrizer as the Input and verify that Background Audio is active
- Add a MIDI track in Cubasis open "MIDI Connections" in the inspector and select Sunrizer as the output
- Tap the instrument icon of the MIDI track and select "No Instrument" to unload the internal instrument of Cubasis. (If you play on the keyboard of Cubasis you should be able to hear Sunrizer)
- Arm the MIDI track and record something on it
- Disarm the MIDI track and arm the audio track that is named "Sunrizer"
- Start Recording

Expected Result: The output of Sunrizer is recorded.

If this does not work let me know.

Kind regards,
Frieder


Frieder, when we do this, do we have to play/trigger Sunrizer or other app
from Cubasis controllers? Or can we play on the external apps keys/knobs etc to enter the midi data?

thank you

S.
trupro
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Denis » Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:43 pm

A big thank you Frieder, that was exactly what I needed to know - works well!! Your steps should be in the manual, would save people a lot of time.

Thanks again

Denis
Denis
New Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Crabman » Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:56 pm

you can save the steps"check if background audio is enabled"when you open something in audiobus because it puts every app automatically into background play/recording status.
iPad Mini Retina - iOS 7.1 - Cubasis 1.7.2
Crabman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:54 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Denis » Tue Feb 05, 2013 7:10 pm

Crabman wrote:you can save the steps"check if background audio is enabled"when you open something in audiobus because it puts every app automatically into background play/recording status.


I don't believe that's the case as I had to turn it on in Sunrizer after following his steps.
Denis
New Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Akamarko » Tue Feb 05, 2013 7:38 pm

Rather than bury this tutorial video at the bottum of this thread, I started a new topic here. viewtopic.php?f=183&t=34327
iPad 2, iPhone 5, Mac Mini
iRig Keys, iRig Mic, iRig guitar, You Rock Guitar (midi guitar) Mobile In Guitar, GarageBand, Alchemy, Sunrizer, Cubasis, Music Studio, Amplitube, Mobile POD, MultiTrack, bs-16i, SampleTank, AudioBus, AmpKit, JamUp XT, G2M
Epiphone Les Paul Special GT
Music For iPad
Akamarko
Junior Member
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Denis » Tue Feb 05, 2013 7:40 pm

Thanks Akamarko, Steinberg should put you on payroll ...
Denis
New Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Frieder » Tue Feb 05, 2013 10:19 pm

trupro wrote:
Frieder wrote:Hello,

the workflow should be the following:

- Open Audiobus
- Select Cubasis as the Output and verify that Background Audio is active
- Select Sunrizer as the Input and verify that Background Audio is active
- Add a MIDI track in Cubasis open "MIDI Connections" in the inspector and select Sunrizer as the output
- Tap the instrument icon of the MIDI track and select "No Instrument" to unload the internal instrument of Cubasis. (If you play on the keyboard of Cubasis you should be able to hear Sunrizer)
- Arm the MIDI track and record something on it
- Disarm the MIDI track and arm the audio track that is named "Sunrizer"
- Start Recording

Expected Result: The output of Sunrizer is recorded.

If this does not work let me know.

Kind regards,
Frieder


Frieder, when we do this, do we have to play/trigger Sunrizer or other app
from Cubasis controllers? Or can we play on the external apps keys/knobs etc to enter the midi data?

thank you

S.


Hello,

the MIDI-events have to be created within Cubasis (i.e., using the built-in keyboard). However, you can modify the parameters of your synthesizers while you record their output with Audiobus.

Kind regards,
Frieder
Frieder Loch, Software Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Frieder
Moderator
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Crabman » Wed Feb 06, 2013 1:28 am

Denis wrote:
Crabman wrote:you can save the steps"check if background audio is enabled"when you open something in audiobus because it puts every app automatically into background play/recording status.


I don't believe that's the case as I had to turn it on in Sunrizer after following his steps.


well,it's working here all the time.Dunno...
And it makes no difference for me if sunrizer is already active or not before i start audiobus.I definitely never have to switch background audio on manually.
iPad Mini Retina - iOS 7.1 - Cubasis 1.7.2
Crabman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:54 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby trupro » Wed Feb 06, 2013 5:20 pm

Frieder wrote:
trupro wrote:
Frieder wrote:Hello,

the workflow should be the following:

- Open Audiobus
- Select Cubasis as the Output and verify that Background Audio is active
- Select Sunrizer as the Input and verify that Background Audio is active
- Add a MIDI track in Cubasis open "MIDI Connections" in the inspector and select Sunrizer as the output
- Tap the instrument icon of the MIDI track and select "No Instrument" to unload the internal instrument of Cubasis. (If you play on the keyboard of Cubasis you should be able to hear Sunrizer)
- Arm the MIDI track and record something on it
- Disarm the MIDI track and arm the audio track that is named "Sunrizer"
- Start Recording

Expected Result: The output of Sunrizer is recorded.

If this does not work let me know.

Kind regards,
Frieder


Frieder, when we do this, do we have to play/trigger Sunrizer or other app
from Cubasis controllers? Or can we play on the external apps keys/knobs etc to enter the midi data?

thank you

S.


Hello,

the MIDI-events have to be created within Cubasis (i.e., using the built-in keyboard). However, you can modify the parameters of your synthesizers while you record their output with Audiobus.

Kind regards,
Frieder


Thanks again Frieder. So Cubasis will not record or send the CC messages, but can send note on/off/suss from the internal keyboard?

Thanks to all for the details in this thread, very helpful! :)
trupro
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 8:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How do I sequence another App from Cubasis?

Postby Frieder » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:53 am

Hello,

yes, the internal keyboard sends note on/off, sustain, and pitch bend messages.

Kind regards,
Frieder
Frieder Loch, Software Developer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Frieder
Moderator
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 2:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to Cubasis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests