MIDI clock out

MIDI clock out

Postby ltf3 » Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:42 am

Hi

Getting very frustrated with the fact that MIDI Clock from Cubasis V 1.7 just doesn't work!

Auria's clock out works fine with a several rhythm apps and synths so it's not the receiving app's issue... Its cubasis. Plus the On/ OFF implementation is terrible. I think it just tires to send data to any app that will listen, so even routing apps get effectively by passed! At least provide a destination selector so I can tell what I'm meant to be doing.

Come on SB ... This is really fundamental. Next update please?
Lee

Cubase 7, Nuendo 6, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), MR 816 cs, OS 10.8
ltf3
Member
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby sterno » Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:27 am

I just purchased Cubasis today and am likewise frustrated that this core feature is seemingly broken.
sterno
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby ltf3 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 6:57 am

All right!

I finally found a decent drum machine which will sync to Cubasis' MIDI clock out!

It's the Molten Drum machine ... Set it to receive Clock In on all ports ( not just the Cubasis one ) and it starts, stops and follows Cubasis tempo!

Supports audio bus to record it once the beat is right, has a great grid pattern editor, per beat velocity , 8 tracks each with an assignable sound, import your own samples, per sound synthesis and some Filter effects and global reverb and compression. LOve it!

Hope this helps someone!
Lee

Cubase 7, Nuendo 6, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), MR 816 cs, OS 10.8
ltf3
Member
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby Crabman » Mon Dec 30, 2013 3:35 pm

yes,Molten was the only one that worked for me too.Unfortunately is the soundquality pretty bad when i start to edit samples.It just sounds too cheap,sounds losing all pressure i.e...

I'm still waiting for the first Drum Machine with IAA.I have enough IAA synths for now but i REALLY want a drummer.
iPad Mini Retina - iOS 7.1.2 - Cubasis 1.8.2
Crabman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:54 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby surfer » Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:58 pm

Yamaha Synth Arp and Drum Pad supports IAA
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/synth-a ... 20055?mt=8
User avatar
surfer
Member
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:37 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby Sinapsya » Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:40 pm

iElectribe works too….Start/Stop and tempo sync
Sinapsya
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby Crabman » Tue Dec 31, 2013 1:41 am

Sinapsya wrote:iElectribe works too….Start/Stop and tempo sync


Nope,it doesn't.At least not for me.It's running but runs a few but very noticable clicks behind.
iPad Mini Retina - iOS 7.1.2 - Cubasis 1.8.2
Crabman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:54 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby Hiltmann » Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:50 pm

Hi All,

iElectribe and electribe SX Hardware and Virus Access works fine here. Start/Stop and tempo sync.
Midi Monitoring from incoming cubasis midi values looks correctly.

Maybe it's an receive App Issue.

Please can you send us an detailed description ?

best jan
Jan Hiltmann, Product Planning / Quality Assurance
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
User avatar
Hiltmann
Steinberg Employee
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:41 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby Crabman » Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:00 pm

Hallo Jan,thanks for the reply.

I'll give it another try later and report back.So far i tried it with the usual tips before.Close all apps,restart the device,clear ram etc.pipapo

A midi latency option would be very handy and a good solution for this problem too ;)
Besides starting too late the iElectribe worked really well.Tight.
iPad Mini Retina - iOS 7.1.2 - Cubasis 1.8.2
Crabman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:54 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby sterno » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:03 am

I can confirm that you can use MidiBridge to route Midi Clock from Cubasis to most other apps as documented here: http://forum.audiob.us/discussion/1564/ ... m1#Item_24
sterno
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby Sinapsya » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:16 pm

What you think to add support for Midibus: http://www.audeonic.com/midibus/
Sinapsya
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:52 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby ltf3 » Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:25 am

Sinapsya wrote:What you think to add support for Midibus: http://www.audeonic.com/midibus/


I would love it!
Lee

Cubase 7, Nuendo 6, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), MR 816 cs, OS 10.8
ltf3
Member
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: MIDI clock out

Postby Gburks » Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:09 pm

sterno wrote:I can confirm that you can use MidiBridge to route Midi Clock from Cubasis to most other apps as documented here: http://forum.audiob.us/discussion/1564/ ... m1#Item_24


Even using an iPad Air, this workaround is not very dependable. There is latency, and Midi bridge drops the connection frequently. We need a better implementation of Midi clock sync that other apps can see without this workaround.
Gburks
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 4:16 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Cubasis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests