Lemme know if I got this right...

Lemme know if I got this right...

Postby joe nerve » Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:57 pm

Newbie to cubasis here. Was having a difficult time figuring how to work with audio, cutting, editing, pasting... And just had a duh! moment. Please let me know whether or not I've got this right.

If I'm working with two tracks, taking the best parts of each to create a single awesome track, the best place for me to do that is in the main window, using the scroll bar to make my cuts, copies, erasures, etc? I was previously double clicking the tracks and trying to figure out what the heck I was doing. Do I now have this right, and if so, what's the point behind double clicking to open the additional window? Is that ONLY for normalization, fades, and that sort of editing? I'm a little confused cuz I would think that would be just as simple to do in the main window?

Also, I don't understand the play head scrubbing preview? Not yet noticing any difference with it selected or not.

Hope that made sense :).

I'm absolutely loving this program thus far. Bought auria a while back but got easily frustrated and went right back to recording w cubase on my PC. Cubasis is going to open a lot of opportunities for me. Very happy customer here.
Last edited by joe nerve on Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
joe nerve
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Lemme know if I got this right...

Postby joe nerve » Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:00 pm

Editing this post to thank simon below me for pointing out the obvious :), that I couldn't see. This forum is laid out a little differently than what I'm accustomed to.
Last edited by joe nerve on Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
joe nerve
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Lemme know if I got this right...

Postby Simonsnr » Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:35 pm

Hey joe, you can edit posts ...top right of post I know this because I too am a newbie, wrote a post asking all sorts of questions......and worked out I was ..well.. talking utter rubbish, so I deleted it :)
I'm not for one minute suggesting your post was like mine, but you do have the option to delete the whole thread if you wish.
Good luck with daddy cubase, can't help you cause I only have the baby version :)

This is the edit btw, just to double check you can. Option of edit, delete a '!' for some reason and 'quote' all in the top right of the window (on iPad)
Simonsnr
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:14 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Lemme know if I got this right...

Postby bry » Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:59 am

joe nerve wrote:what's the point behind double clicking to open the additional window? Is that ONLY for normalization, fades, and that sort of editing? I'm a little confused cuz I would think that would be just as simple to do in the main window?


In the main window you can edit and arrange the clips or song if you prefer.
In the "double-click window" you get to edit what's inside each of those clips.

You can't do audio or midi note editing from the main window, just crop, repositioning and basic levels.

Think of the clips as containers, the audio is inside. Cropping a clip doesn't crop the audio inside, but the edits you do after double-clicking an audio clip will be applied to the audio file (and be permanent).

This is kind of a basic explanations, but you'll probably get the point.
iPad Air + iOS 7.1 + Presonus Audiobox 1818VSL
bry
Junior Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:58 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 10 times


Return to Cubasis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests