[SOLVED in 7.0.2] R-6056 "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

A read-only forum for all solved issues.

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby beatpete » Sun Jan 06, 2013 6:08 pm

Still, very scary...
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Steinberg MR816x, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.20 64bit
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit,Celeron G540,16 gb ram, VEPro.
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby puru » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:18 am

Hello to all,
Just a thought.
During Back Up Project there is an option I overlooked (keep current project active).
If it is enabled, though the project is saved under a new name in a new folder the old one is the active project and so all new recorded audio is saved in the old destination.
So I think you should disable the option - keep the current project enable - and see that after backing up the project the active project gets the new saved name, because I had the same issues and now it works as expected.

Hope it helps,

Puru
puru
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby Phil P » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:15 pm

Hi Puru,

The whole point of this is that "keep current project active" should be un-ticked so that you can immediately work on the newly created project based on your old project.

It is because many of us use back up and keep NEW project active specifically to start new work based on that project - That this is a problem.

If we were using it only to back up and keep the old project active there obviously would be no problem.

Thank again though.

Reminder - Work-around: Right click on track and set Audio Record Folder.
Phil Pendlebury: WWW | MEAP | System Info | Cubase Tips
User avatar
Phil P
Junior Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:54 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby Anthonie » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:48 pm

Phil P wrote:Reminder - Work-around: Right click on track and set Audio Record Folder.

I tried this workaround, but with me, new tracks are again recorded to the old folder!

Cubase 7.01; Windows7
Cubase 7.5.20 64 bits | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bits | 16 GB RAM | i5 3.3 GHz processor| SSD 256 GB | Steinberg MR816x | Steinberg Midex 8 | Motu Midi Express 128 | much hardware
Anthonie
Junior Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:40 am
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby Phil P » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:48 pm

Hi Anthonie, I suspect you are doing something slightly wrong due to my poor instructions.

Please double check that you did exactly this:

rclick.jpg
(82.89 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Select the AUDIO folder under the new project location. If the AUDIO folder does not exist, create it manually.

There is no issue with this feature, it works perfectly. You may have to repeat this for each track you record audio on.

Please confirm. TY.
Phil Pendlebury: WWW | MEAP | System Info | Cubase Tips
User avatar
Phil P
Junior Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:54 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby Anthonie » Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:48 pm

Phil P wrote:All following audio should go to the right place. There should be no need to do this for other audio tracks. It seems to only require setting once.

Hi Phil,
Thank you.
I followed exact the same steps.
It indeed works for the track for which I set the record folder.
But when I create a new track, the audio again goes to the old folder. So I have to repeat it for each track...
Cubase 7.5.20 64 bits | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bits | 16 GB RAM | i5 3.3 GHz processor| SSD 256 GB | Steinberg MR816x | Steinberg Midex 8 | Motu Midi Express 128 | much hardware
Anthonie
Junior Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:40 am
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby Phil P » Wed Jan 09, 2013 10:19 pm

You may have to repeat this for each track you record audio on.


From above.
Phil Pendlebury: WWW | MEAP | System Info | Cubase Tips
User avatar
Phil P
Junior Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:54 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby beatpete » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:01 pm

Here's another (I think better) workaround:

Create back-up to new location
Rename original project folder (i.e. add an "x" to the end)
record audio in new back-up (audio will get recorded to the correct folder)
Now you can rename the original folder back to it's original name (i.e. remove the "x") and all subsequent files recorded in the new back-up project will be recorded to the proper location.

This is still a workaround and I'm amazed Steinberg hasn't chimed in...
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Steinberg MR816x, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.20 64bit
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit,Celeron G540,16 gb ram, VEPro.
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby Phil P » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:20 pm

I wouldn't advise users to mess about renaming folders to be honest. To me - Always keep the fix in the application you are working in.

But if it works better that way for you that is great. And thanks for sharing :-)
Last edited by Phil P on Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Phil Pendlebury: WWW | MEAP | System Info | Cubase Tips
User avatar
Phil P
Junior Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:54 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby dlpmusic » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:31 pm

Does anyone know if Steinberg is addressing this HUGE problem as the fix is obviously not in 7.01 prerelease?
Cubase 7.52, I7 6 Core, 24 gb
Halion 5.x
dlpmusic
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby Anthonie » Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:10 am

Yes, this seems a serious problem in the program that more of us experience.
I can't find that it is recognized by Steinberg as an issue yet.
Should we only wait and hope that Steinberg is reading this thread?


| Cubase 7.0.1 64 bits; Cubase 6.5.4 64 bits | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bits | 16 GB RAM | i5 3.3 GHz processor| SSD 256 GB | Steinberg MR816x | Steinberg Midex 8 | Motu Midi Express 128 |
Cubase 7.5.20 64 bits | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bits | 16 GB RAM | i5 3.3 GHz processor| SSD 256 GB | Steinberg MR816x | Steinberg Midex 8 | Motu Midi Express 128 | much hardware
Anthonie
Junior Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:40 am
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby dlpmusic » Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:54 am

Can someone at Steinberg please comment on this so we know it is being addressed?
Cubase 7.52, I7 6 Core, 24 gb
Halion 5.x
dlpmusic
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby Anthonie » Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:25 am

The Repro:
1. Create empty project
2. Add an audio track
3. Arm "record-enable" on track
4. Hit record button
5. In the Pool, the Audio file is now in a folder, say C:\A
6. In the File menu, choose Back up Project
7. In Set Project Folder: Choose or create a folder, say C:\B
8. In Back up Project Options, name the project and uncheck "Keep Current Project Active"
9. In the Pool, the Audio file is now in folder B, as expected.
10. Add second audio track
11. Hit record button
12. In the Pool, the second Audio file is written in folder A.

Instead, it should be written in folder B, because that's the Project Folder, as stated above in the Pool.


| Cubase 7.0.1 64 bits | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bits | 16 GB RAM | i5 3.3 GHz processor| SSD 256 GB | Steinberg MR816x | Steinberg Midex 8 | Motu Midi Express 128 |
Cubase 7.5.20 64 bits | Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bits | 16 GB RAM | i5 3.3 GHz processor| SSD 256 GB | Steinberg MR816x | Steinberg Midex 8 | Motu Midi Express 128 | much hardware
Anthonie
Junior Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:40 am
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: "Back Up Project"-PROBLEM

Postby neilwilkes » Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:55 pm

There is a workaround for this so it is not a complete killer, and I have heard a rumour this will be fixed in the next update.
Workaround:
Reset record folder for any new audio tracks created. Simples!
record folder.png
To get this dialogue, set the right-click in prefs to NOT be "open toolbox"
(Prefs - Editing/Tools/Pop-up Toolbox on Right-click) - this gives you a proper context menu now.
(32.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Point the record folder to the correct location, and you are done.
Downside is that this will need to be done for all tracks created since the backup though.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request
neilwilkes
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1021
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Previous

Return to Solved Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests