[ISSUES] VST performance related

Everything else...

Re: VST performance issues

Postby IMachine » Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:38 am

I also have problems with Cubase 7 - 64 bit and my RME Raydat running on (see my PC-signature).
I opened 2 VTSi:
1. SSD4
2. Omnisphere with two midi channels/instruments running.

NO FURTHER TRACKS! :(

When recording/playback with the second Omnisphere instrument I always have ASIO-peaks.
I even can set the highest buffer-size in RME.

I already have installed the latest ELCC-Version and my RME driver is up-to-date.

Never had problems with previous versions (Cubase 5 or 6).

Anyone new suggestions?

:shock:
p8p67 deluxe, Windows 7 64 bit, RME Raydat, 8 GB RAM, Cubase 7 64 bit, Cubase 6 64 bit, UAD, Zed R16
IMachine
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:29 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST performance issues

Postby Elektrobolt » Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:03 pm

Maybe they compiled Cubase with non-production compiler options? ;)

They'll figure something though, I am sure.
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: C7 CPU spikes / Unusable

Postby dela1230 » Tue Dec 25, 2012 12:18 am

noiseboyuk wrote:Ohhhhh.... maybe THIS is the reason I'm not upgrading for the moment.

To be fair, I always said to myself I'd wait a while for all the fixes to go through. This issue and the remote control ones are the two I'm watching most closely.

+1 on that.
If you rely on your DAW for work, and Don't like these little surprises, the best thing you can do is wait for a few updates to come our, ask people you know who have upgraded, and read these kind of threads on forums to identify what some problems might be. I also haven't updated, and this is the reason. 6.5 works well for me, and I don't feel that need to always have the newest version of everything and be on the cutting edge, and as a result, my system is VERY stable and reliable.
A good rule of thumb if you are one of those people who has have the newest update with the new gimmick's and bells and whistles...is to acknowledge that YOU are the beta tester. By buying and installing a major DAW program without checking for issues, compatibility conflicts, and other various problems...you are putting yourself in a position to be on the forum with everyone else spending the next three months doing all of the hard work for me and other folks who waited for a working version.
You could look at it 2 ways. One is that Steinberg should not release a version that has major issues, and is causing problems for so many people, and complain about it, and not be able to use the software, and be frustrated...and rightfully so. You should get a working version of something if you spend the money on it. The other way to look at it is understanding that there is almost an infinite of combination of ways to set up a DAW once you factor in the platform, OS bit kernel, OS version, Processor, RAM, plug-ins, VST instruments, Audio Card, Audio Hardware, etc, etc. The list goes on and on. If Steinberg waited for all of these issues to be discovered and resolved by their programmers...people would be on the forum screaming about how there are no new versions, because they would never get to everything on v1.00.
Not knocking the people who bought the new version and are unhappy with the performance. Just offering a bit of advice. I usually wait a min. of three months after a major update has been released, scan the forums, and rarely have problems when I actually make the change. The downside is that everyone gets to play with the new version before me, but I would rather have a functional and stable DAW than the newest, coolest thing. Personal preference. To each their own.
De La
dela1230
Junior Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST performance issues

Postby IMachine » Thu Dec 27, 2012 11:37 am

@dela1230:

Funny, that you have the 2nd coolest and newest thing....Cubase 6.5 which was the newest 'til December the 6th. :lol:
p8p67 deluxe, Windows 7 64 bit, RME Raydat, 8 GB RAM, Cubase 7 64 bit, Cubase 6 64 bit, UAD, Zed R16
IMachine
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:29 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Cubase 6 projects overloading in Cubase 7 ????

Postby Jinks » Thu Dec 27, 2012 5:51 pm

Hi

I've just recently upgraded to Cubase 7 from version 6.5, I've noticed that when opening most of my cubase 6 projects, Cubase 7 seems to overload and I end up with audio breaking up on play back, audio slowing down then returning to normal and in the worst case, Cubase 7 crashing

Now all of these projects played fine on cubase 6.5 and were nowhere near cpu overload, using buffer size 384, hyper threading off, my processor is an intel quad core 2.66 with 4gb of ram as Im using 32bit version of cubase

Anyone else finding this?
Jinks
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 projects overloading in Cubase 7 ????

Postby Conman » Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:01 pm

Get a new computer. Even panhandlers can afford new computers at this time of year.
Basically you're trying to run 24 track analog tape on a cassette player. :roll:

Get modern (or at least 4 years behind time) or go back to vinyl.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."
Conman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2284
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 projects overloading in Cubase 7 ????

Postby Guest » Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:44 pm

Conman wrote:Get a new computer. Even panhandlers can afford new computers at this time of year.
Basically you're trying to run 24 track analog tape on a cassette player. :roll:

Get modern (or at least 4 years behind time) or go back to vinyl.


Wow......kitty has claws. :lol:

The OP should get a new PC, though. 5 years ago I has a much better CPU than he has. Cubase needs some juice to run efficiently. My C6 projects seem to run a wee-bit better with C7.
Guest
 

Re: Cubase 6 projects overloading in Cubase 7 ????

Postby CWS » Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:48 pm

Not sure what conman meant by the comment, your computer looks fine. 1st are you running Windows 7 and 32 or 64 bit?
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Cubase 7.5.30 64 Bit
PC I 7 processor HT Enabled
18 GB Ram
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R MB
USB 3.0
Presonus FireStudio
2- 120 GB SSD
Nvidia GT 240 Video Card
CWS
Member
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Cubase 6 projects overloading in Cubase 7 ????

Postby megacon » Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:36 pm

Don't worry about what Conman says. Your computer specs are fine. There is plenty of life to be squeezed out of what you got.
Macbook Pro 2.6GHz, 16GB Ram osx 10.9, Komplete Audio 6

Software : Cubase 7.5 64Bit, Ableton Live 9, Native Instruments Komplete 9 Ultimate, Izotope Ozone 5, Superior Drummer, Waves, Brainworx, blah blah blah......
megacon
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: VST performance issues

Postby AlakaLazlo » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:05 pm

I am also having performance issues in 7.0.1.
W7/64,i7/920,9gigs,3 drives, 2xMR816.
On opening an empty (new) project, asio average spikes into red.
Working on a project last night. 6 tracks, 5 audio w/ 3 instances of the Glue, and 1 Omnisphere. Had to raise buffers to over 1200 where 6.5 would run like that all day at 128.
Also noticed that even when Omni was frozen, that VariAudio was causing spikes (both sides) into the red. And I am also getting serious drop-outs. Even with buffers on max, if I use VariAudio to make a pitch change, then jog back to listen a few bars before my edits, when I hit play, the audio plays for a second or so, then drops out for 1/2 second or so, then plays normally and asio is peaked.
I suppose it could be an 816 issue w/ C7, but with so many people having performance issue on so many differet set-ups, it looks like C7 is the problem.
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cubase 6 projects overloading in Cubase 7 ????

Postby mroekalea » Thu Dec 27, 2012 11:06 pm

Well I had a Q6600 (quadcore on 2.4 ghz with 4 GB ram), with a 32 bit windows 7 it managed to run a 30 track project with up to 30 plugins running (about 15 plugins where really heavyweight regarding cpu-load), it barely runned, I had to maximize the latency to run this project, with C7 it didn't run without dropouts, indeed a new computer fixed it)

In my opinion the core 2 duo do not cut it anymore, so adjust yopur workflow (bounce tracks or do several mixdowns or freezing plugins could help)
Menoj
Win8.1, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, Cubase 7.5 & artist 7.5, wavelab 8 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, UR824+MR816X+Focusrite pro 26 IO, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 5, VG2, Arturia AF, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), HSO library, Fender Jazz basses, tube amps and 12 inchers!
mroekalea
Member
 
Posts: 533
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: VST performance issues

Postby Mikael » Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:58 am

I am runnning a heavily loaded Project for live performance with approximately 15 recorded audio tracks, 58 tracks in total, lots of plugins, on a very fast dual Xeon system with very low ASIO buffer size of 64 samples with rme audio hardware.

In Cubase 6.5, this project runs rock solid, at the performance limit of the system yet I never have any ASIO meter reds and never any crackles.

With C 7.0.1, I get reds in the ASIO meter quickly, and occasional crackles, and sometimes (rarely) I get a burst of crackles. Although cpu load (in the Task Manager) is a bit lower in C7 compared to C6.5, ASIO performance is worse in C7.0.1

I even get occasional ASIO spikes and the red light going on when the project is stopped and ASIO Performance drops down to 45%.

I like the many improvements of C7. However, for me, good and reliable ASIO Performance is the single most important thing, and C7 has an issue here.

Fixing this issue is, for me, most important.

Regards, Mikael

P.S.: EDIT:
Tested this issue under W7/64 and W8/64, it's the same on either operating System.
Last edited by Mikael on Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:47 am, edited 2 times in total.
SW: C 7.5.10 /64 & Wavelab 8 on W7/64 & W8/64
HW: 2 x Dell Precision T5500 Xeon 12-core workstations
Audio: 4 x rme HDSPe / Multiface II, 3 x Octamic II
Surface: 3 x Avid MC Mix, 1 x MC Transport
Plugins: Audioease, Lexicon, Neve Portico, Yamaha Vintage, SlateDigital, Izotope
Mikael
Junior Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Cubase 7 stutter/drop-out

Postby mrgullible » Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:16 pm

Just installed Cubase 7 on
iMac Intel 3ghz, 8gb , OSX 10.8.2

Recording a single mono live guitar track. No processing used. No plugins used.
While recording Cubase seems to freeze for seconds and then continues recording.

Downloaded Cubase 7.0.1.2078 update which doesn't seem to address the issue.

Added several more audio tracks to project. Same thing. Cubase also stops to take a breather while playing back.
Again, no plugins or processing used. Computer load barely gets the green bar going.

Using a 828mk2 Firewire and a new external 1tb HD (freshly formatted) on the fast USB bus.

I guess for production work I'll be going back to Cubase 6 until this is resolved.

Thanks

Peter
mrgullible
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

[ISSUE] Disk Usage peaking with eratic preload behavior

Postby AlakaLazlo » Sat Dec 29, 2012 12:10 am

C7.0.1-64 W7pro64 i7/920-9gigs 3 drives (Sys, Files, Samples) 2xMR816
I am working on a song that has about 50 active audio tracks. (Needs lots more, but can't get there as of now...)
Same system running C6.5 was able to regularly run songs over 200 audio tracks with lots of plug ins no issues whatsoever.
In addition to oft-reported ASIO overloads with almost no vstis open, I am now getting disk overload dropouts. Tried upping the pre-load from 2 to 3 seconds. Made the problem worse???
Noticed that when the system was paused (not playing) with pre-load at 2 sec, that the disk overload meter was at 0. Hit play and at several points, the disk overload meter peaks out and dropouts insue. (ASIO around 75%)
In pause, when I increase preload to 3 seconds, the disk meter peaks into red, then drops and continues to oscillate wildly between 1/4 and 1/2 scale (in pause!). Hit play and it peaks out and then bounced wildly, again peaking out at points causing drop outs.
Opened the computer resource monitor and the D drive is peaking pretty consistantly in C7. Should not be even close and it runs fine with much larger files in 6.5 with the disk meter never leaving 0. Computer resource monitor confirms.
To double check, I opened a song I finished a while ago in C6.5.3. 93 tracks. ASIO around 45% with no peaks and disk use shows 0 all the way through. Window's resource monitor shows Disk1 (my audio files drive) running around 10%
Opened the same track in C7. ASIO meter bouncing around 70% with occasional peaks into the red. Disk use bouncing around 40%. Windows resource monitor shows Disk1 at around 80% of scale.
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: VST performance issues

Postby BP3 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 1:42 am

From an earlier post of mine -

When using a test project I had Cubase 7 and then 6.5 both freeze up on my MacMini 2011 server. I was using the built in audio when the lockup first happened but I use a RME FF800 most of the time.

When I got 6.5 to open I was barely able to get into device setup. When I did, I found that somehow my device latency settings for the built in audio were changed to the lowest possible setting. The same was true when I changed to the FF800. I was doing a mix project with a very high track count and had the latency set to 256 originally, and all was working fine at that buffer.

It seems that some bug had changed these settings for both the built in and the FF800. Once my preferred buffer setting were restored, everything seems to be fine with launching and working in both 7 and 6.5.

If you encounter a similar issue, this is the first thing I would look at.


I have yet to play with 7.0.1 on Win 7. I'll see how it behaves there soon.
BP3
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Cubase 7 Disc Overload on realtime export

Postby JohnnyMackGuitar » Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:17 pm

Help every time I go to export audio i get a disc overload error. At some point in the middle of the project it just stops. When I do a non-real time export it works, but, and I could be wrong it seems to take an inordinate amount of time to complete.

I am running Cubase 7 64 bit, Win 7 64 bit, i7 ivy bridge,ASUS P8Z77-V PRO/THUNDERBOLT, 32 GB ram, 7200 USB 2 Hard Drive that I used successfully with WinXP32 and Cubase 6.5.

No write caching enabled for the hard drive.
MR816csx (connected via FW)
MR816x (connected via FW)
CC121
Win7 64
Cubase 64
Asus Intel_Socket_1155/P8Z77V_PROTHUNDERBOLT
i7 Ivy Bridge
32 GB Ram
Internal Kingston SSD 120GB (Only for OS)
JohnnyMackGuitar
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7 stutter/drop-out

Postby AlakaLazlo » Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:06 pm

Hit F12 and open your resource monitor. See if ASIO or disk use are peaking out. As you have no processing going on, its probably disk usage. Check my other thread here: http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 84&t=31792
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cubase 7 Disc Overload on realtime export

Postby AlakaLazlo » Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:09 pm

Disk overloads are a problem for me too. http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 84&t=31792
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: [ISSUE] Disk Usage peaking with eratic preload behavior

Postby wcb123 » Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:27 pm

Yep, since the 0.1 update im getting maxed out Disk Overload alongside dropouts too . Its also crashing more often since the update.
Windows x64 Pro
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Intel i7 980 @3.33GHz (12 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory - 48Gb
______________

Cubase 7
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Focusrite Saffire Pro24
Casio Privia 330
Quested s8r
wcb123
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:40 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: VST performance issues

Postby springtide » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:30 am

BP3 wrote:From an earlier post of mine -

When using a test project I had Cubase 7 and then 6.5 both freeze up on my MacMini 2011 server. I was using the built in audio when the lockup first happened but I use a RME FF800 most of the time.

When I got 6.5 to open I was barely able to get into device setup. When I did, I found that somehow my device latency settings for the built in audio were changed to the lowest possible setting. The same was true when I changed to the FF800. I was doing a mix project with a very high track count and had the latency set to 256 originally, and all was working fine at that buffer.

It seems that some bug had changed these settings for both the built in and the FF800. Once my preferred buffer setting were restored, everything seems to be fine with launching and working in both 7 and 6.5.

If you encounter a similar issue, this is the first thing I would look at.


I have yet to play with 7.0.1 on Win 7. I'll see how it behaves there soon.


Yep, that's the first thing I looked at. Since installing C7 does not overwrite C6, it is like a fresh install and none of the C6 settings were inherited. Had to set it up as C6 was, which was 256 buffer. I have fiddled with everything suggested in the multiple threads on this topic and not one of them has made any difference, so I went back to C6.5 (which, luckily, was not uninstalled when I "upgraded"). I won't bother with C7 until there's a fix, and it's quite clear to me that this is something that Steinberg must address. I guess I'll consider the $140 a down payment on C7x.

By the way, it most certainly is a disc issue, not CPU (if that makes sense). But I am baffled why I'd have a disc overload indicator without even having a project loaded!
Late 2010 iMac 2.66 GHz Intel Core i5 16GB RAM, OSX 10.6.8, M-Audio Fast Track Pro USB, M-Audio Oxygen 88 MIDI controller, Cubase 7 (but using 6.5 until they fix the disk load problem), Reason 6.5
springtide
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:14 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST performance issues

Postby AlakaLazlo » Thu Jan 03, 2013 10:54 pm

I had an on-line tech support session w/ Chris Dobbs from Steinberg this morning. He tried to be helpful and was a generally nice fellow, but all in all, it was not a very pleasant experience on several levels. His response to the disk overload issue (which was obvious even when disabeling numerous tracks) was to do a screen grab and say he would e-mail developers in Germany. His response to the fact that I have to run my MR816s at over 2000 on the buffers for a project that ran at 256 in C6 was "C7 uses more processor than C6" Damn straight Skippy... :twisted: His response to the fact that I can't track with 20+ ms of latency was to suggest I record in C6 and them mix in C7. Uh... I can't mix when my disk overloads and my CPU is pegged by project 1/4 as complex as those I can run in C6. He hemmed and hawed, and wiped out my preferences file just for the heck of it. Never got to the screwed up meters, or the MCU issues, or the controller editor issues, etc, etc, etc... At the end of the call, I requested a refund for C7 based on its buggyness, its clearly Beta state, and its uselessness to me. He refused and said I could leave a message for his boss. :evil:
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: [ISSUE] Disk Usage peaking with eratic preload behavior

Postby AlakaLazlo » Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:01 pm

I had an on-line tech support session w/ Chris Dobbs from Steinberg this morning. He tried to be helpful and was a generally nice fellow, but all in all, it was not a very pleasant experience on several levels. His response to the disk overload issue (which was obvious even when disabeling numerous tracks) was to do a screen grab and say he would e-mail developers in Germany. His response to the fact that I have to run my MR816s at over 2000 on the buffers for a project that ran at 256 in C6 was "C7 uses more processor than C6" Damn straight Skippy... :twisted: His response to the fact that I can't track with 20+ ms of latency was to suggest I record in C6 and them mix in C7. Uh... I can't mix when my disk overloads and my CPU is pegged by project 1/4 as complex as those I can run in C6. He hemmed and hawed, and wiped out my preferences file just for the heck of it. Never got to the screwed up meters, or the MCU issues, or the controller editor issues, etc, etc, etc... At the end of the call, I requested a refund for C7 based on its buggyness, its clearly Beta state, and its uselessness to me. He refused and said I could leave a message for his boss.
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: [ISSUE] Disk Usage peaking with eratic preload behavior

Postby JohnnyMackGuitar » Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:48 pm

I am sorry to hear about how terrible your meeting went with this Steinberg official. I too was expecting better performance with C7 but I was sorely surprised to find out I need more ram, more CPU, more resources and after buying a top of the line i7 with ivy bridge 32 GB ram, SSD internal HD and running it all on 64 bit I am still seeing performance issues!?!

Please update this software. My business is kind of at a halt till all this gets straightened out.
MR816csx (connected via FW)
MR816x (connected via FW)
CC121
Win7 64
Cubase 64
Asus Intel_Socket_1155/P8Z77V_PROTHUNDERBOLT
i7 Ivy Bridge
32 GB Ram
Internal Kingston SSD 120GB (Only for OS)
JohnnyMackGuitar
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [ISSUE] Disk Usage peaking with eratic preload behavior

Postby JohnnyMackGuitar » Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:36 am

Thanks for you input, still these issues need to be "sorted out" a little better or just call it a pre-release then.
MR816csx (connected via FW)
MR816x (connected via FW)
CC121
Win7 64
Cubase 64
Asus Intel_Socket_1155/P8Z77V_PROTHUNDERBOLT
i7 Ivy Bridge
32 GB Ram
Internal Kingston SSD 120GB (Only for OS)
JohnnyMackGuitar
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [ISSUE] Disk Usage peaking with eratic preload behavior

Postby SteveInChicago » Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:44 am

AlakaLazlo wrote: I requested a refund for C7 based on its buggyness, its clearly Beta state, and its uselessness to me. He refused and said I could leave a message for his boss.


I don't know if this is well known, but there is a 14 day return policy for stuff bought through the Steinberg online shop. see

"3. Right of withdrawal of the Customer/ Cancellation policy"

in https://shop.steinberg.net/cgi-bin/pages/tac

(I think it might German law, because Native Instruments (also in Germany) has exactly the same policy and wording)
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4882
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 308 times

PreviousNext

Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests