Cubase 6 has stopped working

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software

Cubase 6 has stopped working

Postby Peejay58 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:08 pm

Hi all,
After a laptop crash, and re-install, and reactivation process, I am now able to boot LE6 Elements. But after a few seconds into the boot I get the following message: Cubase LE AI Elements has stopped working. A problem has caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available. Close Program.

Any ideas ? not having much luck with support, I can upload a crash dump file if that helps.

I have the latest 6.07 patch installed and elicense.
I hope someone has had this problem and solved it. Many thanks,
Peter.
Peejay58
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 has stopped working

Postby Peejay58 » Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:19 pm

Update to above, the fail always occurs at start-up when initialising video player
Peejay58
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 has stopped working

Postby curteye » Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:06 am

Aloha P,

One approach would be to:

Try moving your 'Preference Folder' to a different
location and then re-start Cubase to see if the prob still exists.

HTH (hope this helps)
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5277
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Cubase 6 has stopped working

Postby Peejay58 » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:58 pm

Hi HTH,
I can't start up the program to enter the preference section, or am I misunderstanding your suggestion. I have looked in "all programs/Steinberg" but cannot find a preference folder that stands alone.
By the way, Cubase support seem awful slow in responding, is this typical ? are they likely to solve this one.
Cheers,
Peter.
Peejay58
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 has stopped working

Postby Jarno » Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:12 pm

Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier
User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Cubase 6 has stopped working

Postby Peejay58 » Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:04 pm

Hi all,
Many thanks for your help, problem is now solved.
For anyone who has encountered the same problem here is how I solved it:
Program files, Steinberg, Components, find Video engine.DLL and delete it.
Now opens correctly and runs well.
Now why couldn't support have told me that.
Peter.
Peejay58
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 5:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 has stopped working

Postby curteye » Thu Sep 26, 2013 1:25 am

Peejay58 wrote:Hi all,
Many thanks for your help, problem is now solved.
For anyone who has encountered the same problem here is how I solved it:
Program files, Steinberg, Components, find Video engine.DLL and delete it.
Now opens correctly and runs well.
Now why couldn't support have told me that.
Peter.



Thanks for sharing.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5277
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 208 times


Return to Older Cubase versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests