VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Postby alexis » Thu Sep 26, 2013 1:34 am

Hi -

What is different if one flattens from within VariAudio, vs. leaving VariAudio and then bouncing in the project page instead?

What I do now, because I'm unsure, is do both. Does that hurt to do?

Thanks much!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 91 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Postby C.LYDE101 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:18 pm

The quick response, IMO, would be Edit History.

If one still intends doing additional work on the audio file, leave till the end - thereby having the option to "undo" per step.
Cannot remember (not near DAW) the impact of real-time processing per track of affected audio vs audio that's been "flattened"
User avatar
C.LYDE101
Junior Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Postby alexis » Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:00 am

C.LYDE101 wrote:The quick response, IMO, would be Edit History.

If one still intends doing additional work on the audio file, leave till the end - thereby having the option to "undo" per step.
Cannot remember (not near DAW) the impact of real-time processing per track of affected audio vs audio that's been "flattened"


Thank you, C.LYDE101!

I thought maybe this was a completely obvious thing that only I didn't know ... the Ops Manual doesn't even define "flatten" ... but I guess it's, based on your very helpful comments and the lack of others that maybe it's not something that people know a lot about.

I haven't been at the DAW for ages, but I will check out the effect of flatten vs. bounce on edit history.

Thanks again!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 91 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Postby Parrotspain » Tue Oct 01, 2013 9:42 am

I would choose bounce over flatten for all aspects of audio pitch editing, because it is easier to cut and paste a small snippet of audio than it is to delve into edit history.

My usual workflow is:

1 Make copy of untouched vocal performance and put aside as safety/ restore option
2 Bounce sections of audio, say 30 seconds roughly (long sections make for slow graphic response in variaudio)
3 Work on variaudio, pitch, stretch etc until satisfied

In most cases I leave things at this stage. Sometimes I might duplicate the edited track and once again bounce audio.

This gives me the choice of being able revert, compare and rework small sections. With everything on screen, labelled and clear.

P
Cubase 6.5.5 Build 176
First system: Intel E8400 Core Duo. 4Gb. Still XP Pro SP2
Second system: AMD FX 8320 8 core 16Gb Win7 64 Biostar A960D+
Third system: AMD FX 8350 8 core 16Gb Win 7 64 Asus M5 A97
TC Powercore
User avatar
Parrotspain
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Postby alexis » Wed Oct 02, 2013 2:30 pm

Parrotspain wrote:I would choose bounce over flatten for all aspects of audio pitch editing, because it is easier to cut and paste a small snippet of audio than it is to delve into edit history.

My usual workflow is:

1 Make copy of untouched vocal performance and put aside as safety/ restore option
2 Bounce sections of audio, say 30 seconds roughly (long sections make for slow graphic response in variaudio)
3 Work on variaudio, pitch, stretch etc until satisfied

In most cases I leave things at this stage. Sometimes I might duplicate the edited track and once again bounce audio.

This gives me the choice of being able revert, compare and rework small sections. With everything on screen, labelled and clear.

P


Thanks, Parrotspain! I like the idea of making all the copies, especially that last one you describe after step 3 so as to have the VariAudio edits available later on for review or further editing.

Does no-one use the intended VariAudio function, "flatten"? How does it process the audio differently than bounce!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2251
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 91 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Postby Parrotspain » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:20 pm

I tend to avoid 'flatten' also, because I know that 'bounce' makes an exact copy of what I am already hearing...I don't want to risk 'flatten' and default to some low res algorhythm that I might not notice immediately if working fast. I'd then have to go searching for some buried undo in 'history'. So I stick to the method in my first post....very easy to correct and update.

P
Cubase 6.5.5 Build 176
First system: Intel E8400 Core Duo. 4Gb. Still XP Pro SP2
Second system: AMD FX 8320 8 core 16Gb Win7 64 Biostar A960D+
Third system: AMD FX 8350 8 core 16Gb Win 7 64 Asus M5 A97
TC Powercore
User avatar
Parrotspain
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:36 pm

Parrotspain wrote:I tend to avoid 'flatten' also, because I know that 'bounce' makes an exact copy of what I am already hearing...
P


it does not :/

viewtopic.php?f=196&t=37118
c6, c7.5.2, w7, i7 4930k 6core, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, SSL duende, RME HDSP, audeze lcd-2, avantone mixcubes, slate digital, ...
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Postby Parrotspain » Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:55 pm

I tested this Lukas...

1 recorded vocal
2 variaudio edited vocal
3 duplicated audio track
4 bounced duplicate track in place
5 reversed phase of duplicated
6 played both audio tracks together

Result = null

It works perfectly!

P
Cubase 6.5.5 Build 176
First system: Intel E8400 Core Duo. 4Gb. Still XP Pro SP2
Second system: AMD FX 8320 8 core 16Gb Win7 64 Biostar A960D+
Third system: AMD FX 8350 8 core 16Gb Win 7 64 Asus M5 A97
TC Powercore
User avatar
Parrotspain
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VariAudio: Flatten vs. Bounce?

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Wed Oct 02, 2013 5:09 pm

Parrotspain wrote:I tested this Lukas...

1 recorded vocal
2 variaudio edited vocal
3 duplicated audio track
4 bounced duplicate track in place
5 reversed phase of duplicated
6 played both audio tracks together

Result = null

It works perfectly!

P


good to be able to rely on this then, cheers!

(the issues with realtime vs bounce/flatten discrepancies relate to audio warping.)
c6, c7.5.2, w7, i7 4930k 6core, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, SSL duende, RME HDSP, audeze lcd-2, avantone mixcubes, slate digital, ...
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 49 times


Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests