mp3 import/export

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

mp3 import/export

Postby globalhiccup » Wed Oct 09, 2013 3:04 pm

Could someone kindly clarify for me:

Does Cubase 6.5.5 (full version) import and export MP3 files while in 64 bit mode? I can use MP3s in Cubase 6.55 when in 32 bit mode, but in 64 bit mode the option doesn't exist (greyed out). Which is a hassle, because I have to use another program to convert AIFC to MP3, or otherwise start up again in 32 bit mode.

If the answer is NO, are there any workarounds?


thanks for any answers and suggestions .......
Cubase 6.55
Nuendo
Mac Pro OSX 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
M-Audio Project Mix
lots of coffee
soundcloud
globalhiccup
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby jaslan » Wed Oct 09, 2013 3:56 pm

I use C6.5.5 (full version) in 64 bit mode and have no trouble importing or exporting .mp3.
HTH
J.L.
Core-i7 2820QM, 16GB RAM. Cubase 6.5.5 x64 on Windows 7. Scarlett 2i2. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 8. HALion 5. Jamstix 3.5. HSO VST Sound Set. Absolute VST+. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud
User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby globalhiccup » Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:04 pm

Thanks Jaslan ... I'll get in touch with Technical Support to find out what's the problem.
Cubase 6.55
Nuendo
Mac Pro OSX 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
M-Audio Project Mix
lots of coffee
soundcloud
globalhiccup
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby Strophoid » Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:11 pm

Same here, that should work fine.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3913
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 115 times

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby krudler » Wed Oct 09, 2013 11:31 pm

Since what you are calling "64 bit mode" is really an entirely different instance of the program, I'm guessing you have to tell it where the codec/dll for the mp3 encoder is? I think it's under the same thing where you tell it the VST plugs are, on a different tab.
krudler
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby globalhiccup » Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:03 am

krudler wrote:Since what you are calling "64 bit mode" is really an entirely different instance of the program, I'm guessing you have to tell it where the codec/dll for the mp3 encoder is? I think it's under the same thing where you tell it the VST plugs are, on a different tab.



Thanks Krudler ... well, under Plug-in Information/Audio-Codec Plugins, there is an item named MPEG 1 Layer 2. But the path for this is Cubase6.app/Contents/Components/au ...... in other words, within the program itself.

Any more suggestions welcome!
Cubase 6.55
Nuendo
Mac Pro OSX 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
M-Audio Project Mix
lots of coffee
soundcloud
globalhiccup
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby krudler » Mon Oct 14, 2013 5:53 pm

Shouldn't it be MPEG1 Layer 3? Don't remember exactly. But yeah, that's the spot. Maybe compare the entry in the 32-bit version and see what's there, then make the 64-bit one match.
krudler
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby jaslan » Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Have you considered a fresh install of Cubase and deleting the preferences?
Maybe something was corrupted or lost...
HTH
J.L.
Core-i7 2820QM, 16GB RAM. Cubase 6.5.5 x64 on Windows 7. Scarlett 2i2. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 8. HALion 5. Jamstix 3.5. HSO VST Sound Set. Absolute VST+. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud
User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby globalhiccup » Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:47 pm

krudler wrote:Shouldn't it be MPEG1 Layer 3? Don't remember exactly. But yeah, that's the spot. Maybe compare the entry in the 32-bit version and see what's there, then make the 64-bit one match.



well, yes, I thought it should be Layer 3, too. Will investigate. ... thanks for feedback
Cubase 6.55
Nuendo
Mac Pro OSX 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
M-Audio Project Mix
lots of coffee
soundcloud
globalhiccup
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby globalhiccup » Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:48 pm

jaslan wrote:Have you considered a fresh install of Cubase and deleting the preferences?
Maybe something was corrupted or lost...
HTH
J.L.


This is one thing I haven't done, and I think you are right! Will let you know the results! Thanks.
Cubase 6.55
Nuendo
Mac Pro OSX 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
M-Audio Project Mix
lots of coffee
soundcloud
globalhiccup
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby globalhiccup » Tue Oct 15, 2013 12:04 pm

well, I tried the fresh install option, including deleting the preferences, and including disabling plugins .... but the results are the same .... no sign of MPEG 3 in Plug-in information, only MPEG 1 Layer 2. MPEG 3 appears when I use Cubase in 32 bit mode. Does anyone have any idea of how I get the 64 bit mode to access the MP3 option which I see in 32 bit mode? I understand that the 2 versions are distinct programs, but do they have distinct locations separate from each other?

I sent a query to Steinberg support over a week ago, but have had no reply.
Cubase 6.55
Nuendo
Mac Pro OSX 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
M-Audio Project Mix
lots of coffee
soundcloud
globalhiccup
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby jaslan » Tue Oct 15, 2013 12:52 pm

I checked and I do have the MPEG 1 Layer 3 (in 64 bit version). The file is in the same location as the MPEG 1 Layer 2 file. I am on Windows and don't know if that has anything to do with it. I wish I could help but don't know what else to do except keep trying support. I hope you get it working.
J.L.
Core-i7 2820QM, 16GB RAM. Cubase 6.5.5 x64 on Windows 7. Scarlett 2i2. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 8. HALion 5. Jamstix 3.5. HSO VST Sound Set. Absolute VST+. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud
User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 102 times

Re: mp3 import/export

Postby globalhiccup » Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:54 pm

thanks Jaslan, will keep chasing support!
Cubase 6.55
Nuendo
Mac Pro OSX 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
M-Audio Project Mix
lots of coffee
soundcloud
globalhiccup
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests