anyone had problems with parallel 32/64 bit C6 installation?

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

anyone had problems with parallel 32/64 bit C6 installation?

Postby WunderBro Flo » Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:54 pm

Hi guys,
I am having massive troubles after moving from my old XP system to my new Win7(64) system. I installed Cubase 6 32bit and the 64bit version as well, I read that this is possible and should cause no troubles. Then I installed my plugins (which is a pain because at least 5 different copy protection types are running, e-licenser, ilok2, codemeter, waves license center, native instruments service center....). Was not easy to get it all running. Then I copied my ControlRoom preset file the according folder of the Cubase32 installation.
Now I have troubles like this:
1 - Some plugins are simply not found by Cubase (even though they are in the right folders that are on Cubase´s list) - like the VST2 versions of SSL Duende native. It only lists the VST3 versions. Eventide Blackhole plugin, not showing up....

2 - Some plugins pop up with resetted settings or wrecked settings when I open up saved projects from my old XP system.

3 - Some plugins have greyed-out parameters like Cubase´s own bypass button and more. For example Antares MicMod does not do anything and most parameters are greyed out and non accessible.

4 - some plugins work but after saving, closing and reopening the project their settings are totally off and/or they are not even passing audio, muting the signal. I get this for example with Waves WNS all the time.

5 - When starting Cubase, the control room section does sometimes load the right settings (the ones it was closed with before) and sometimes another preset. The preset list of the control room section is way too long with multiple entries of each saved preset etc....



Does anyone have an idea what could be the cause of my ill Cubase installation? And what could be the cure?
Thanks a lot,
Flo

ps - the PC is from pc audio specialists da-x.de so that is unlikely the problem. I am using Cubase 6.5 which I updated to 6.5 from a 6.2 version. I do not necessarily need the 64 version installed, I want to use the 32bit version for sure to be compatible with old cubase sessions and plugins.
WunderBro Flo
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: anyone had problems with parallel 32/64 bit C6 installat

Postby cubic13 » Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:27 am

I have both Cubase 6.5 32 and 64 bits versions running here without problems, so it should also be your case. One thing after the other, I would first deactivate the control room completely : it will be time to look more closely at it once your plug-ins are functional... Few things to check at first :

1) What are, in the 'Plug-ins information' window, 'VST plug-ins' pane, the plug-ins missing in the list ?

2) What is the path used for each plug-in actually listed ? If you use the 32 bits version of Cubase, they should be, by default, in the C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\VSTPlugIns one.

3) Using the 'VST2 plug-ins paths' button, which paths are displayed here ? Check that all paths of your plug-ins supposed to be used are listed there. Otherwise, add the missing ones.

4) Do you have 'vstpresets' involved ? If so, you'll have to do a rescan of all the involved locations with Mediabay.

Be also sure that the ASIO driver for your audio device is the right one in the 'Device setup' window, 'VST audio system' entry. Check also that all the ASIO in/out pairs are correctly routed in the 'VST connections' window, 'Inputs'/'Outputs' panes.
DAW : i7-870 (HT enabled) - Asus P7-P55D-E - 16 Gb DDR3-1600 - 2 x WD Black Caviar 1 Tb - Radeon 6450 GPU (512 Mb) - Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64) / E-Mu 1616m PCIe + Behringer ADA8000
Soft & plug-ins : Cubase 5.1.1 (64) & 6.5.5 (64) + HSO / Emulator X3 / TruePianos / Ivory II / GSi Mr Ray73 MkII & VB3 / Sylenth1 / Alchemy / Loomer String / Arturia MMV / BFD2 / Ariesverb
Gear : Studiologic VMK-188+ / Akai MPD32 controller / Akai ME30P MIDI Patchbay / Korg 05RW / Roland D110 / Yamaha TX802 / Zoom G9.2tt / My really old ones (pre-MIDI era) : ARP Odyssey + Korg MS20
User avatar
cubic13
Member
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: near the Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: anyone had problems with parallel 32/64 bit C6 installat

Postby Dazeroth » Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:41 pm

I don't know if this will be of any help, but I needed to re-install both versions of cubase 6 (64 &32 bit) as the permissions in the "programs" and the "programsx86" folders which my system would not let me change, wouldn't allow either version of cubase access all the presets and VST sounds. I ended up installing the two versions in two folders in the root directory of the C drive in two folders which were aptly named.

I am in the awkward position where I am having beginner type problems quite a bit at the moment, and have more problems than solutions.
Dazeroth
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:40 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: anyone had problems with parallel 32/64 bit C6 installat

Postby WunderBro Flo » Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:37 pm

After some days of trying out things I have solved my problems. The cause was quite unusual, it´s the usb dongle hub combination that caused all this. I had a "dongle hub" with elicenser, ilok, ilok2 and ssl codemeter dongle connected to my main usb hub. I then connected the dongle hub directly to a usb-port of the pc and the problems were gone after reinstalling everything. needle in the haystack.
WunderBro Flo
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:39 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: anyone had problems with parallel 32/64 bit C6 installat

Postby Strophoid » Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:35 am

Ah yes, that's a known problem but for some people it works fine :?
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3897
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 113 times


Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests