Working with dual monitors

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

Working with dual monitors

Postby Bowman » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:25 pm

Hi, I got dual monitors as it helped with Reason. I could use the one for the rack mounts and the other for the sequencer screen. However with Cubase 6 I can't figure out how to use them. For instance, if I drag a mixer window to the edge of the screen it stops, not allowing the window to pass beyond the monitor screen. What am I doing wrong?
Bowman
"Play the music, not the instrument"-Unknown
Bowman
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:29 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Working with dual monitors

Postby NWP » Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:39 pm

Always On Top
NWP
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:26 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: Working with dual monitors

Postby Strophoid » Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:23 pm

Either always on top so you can drag stuff out of the Cubase window, or stretch the main Cubase window across both monitors first.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3944
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: Working with dual monitors

Postby Bowman » Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:00 am

OK, I got it to work by stretching the Cubase window across both monitors. Thanks for that advice.

I'm sorry but I don't understand what you mean by "always on top". I assume that this a setting for the different windows. In Preferences, I see that VST Editors are "always on top". So without dragging the Cubase window across both monitors, I can move the VST editor anywhere I want.

So, for example, how do I set my mixer to "always on top"?

Aaah.... found it by right clicking on the mixer window. That makes sense now. Thanks gents!

Bowman
"Play the music, not the instrument"-Unknown
Bowman
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:29 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kresbeatz and 4 guests