Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby Hemansu » Tue Dec 31, 2013 12:44 pm

How to fix high disk usage ? Pls show anyother cheap & reliable options than replacing a new hard drive or switching to SSD ?

Thank you guys :)

And Happy New Year to all Cubase buddies & developer team too ;-)
* Cubase 6 : Version 6.0.7 * Dell Precision M6600 : i7-940XM, 16 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit * RME Fireface UFX * Access Virus TI2 * Focal Solo6Be
User avatar
Hemansu
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby Strophoid » Tue Dec 31, 2013 12:53 pm

I don't think there's much you can do without getting an extra harddrive. If you already have multiple harddrives, try splitting your sample libraries across them to reduce the load on each disk.

You didn't specify your OS, but if you are on XP or older it might help to defragment your drive, that could help improve your read speeds a bit.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 119 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby ThePresent » Tue Dec 31, 2013 10:20 pm

If you are on W7, try disk repair. Maybe some bad sectors need to be taken care of. I suppose the drive is out of warranty? Nowadays many drives only get one year of warranty but maybe you still have 3?
ThePresent
----------------
i5 750 - Windows 7 64 Bit - Cubase 6.5.5 32 bit - Arturia Minimoog V - M-Audio Fasttrack Pro - Emu XBoard 61
ThePresent
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:35 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby JamesTNL » Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:09 pm

Are you just getting disk spikes? Or does the disk cache meter creep up/remain overloaded? Does it affect playback, or is it just something you observed on the performance meter (F12)?

I ask this because Cubase's transport controls causes disk cache spikes and I don't think there's anything you can do about it.

If you have an (otherwise empty) project with just 1 audio track without even audiofiles loaded/recorded, the disk cache meter will briefly overload (and just as quickly disappear) when you press Play/Stop/ and all the other transport controls.
Cubase 7.06 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 - ASRock B85M-ITX - Intel Core i5 4570S - 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3 - Dawicontrol DC-FW800 PCIe - Presonus Firebox - Xigmatek Nebula - be quiet! Pure Power L8 430W CM - Steinberg CMC-AI - Steinberg CMC-TP - Steinberg CMC-CH
JamesTNL
Junior Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby Hemansu » Thu Jan 02, 2014 8:18 pm

Strophoid wrote:If you already have multiple harddrives, try splitting your sample libraries across them to reduce the load on each disk.

You didn't specify your OS, but if you are on XP or older it might help to defragment your drive, that could help improve your read speeds a bit.


Thanks for the tips man. 365 GB sample library already on secondary drive :p Im using Win7 Ultimate 64 bit & no need to defragment as its upto date.
* Cubase 6 : Version 6.0.7 * Dell Precision M6600 : i7-940XM, 16 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit * RME Fireface UFX * Access Virus TI2 * Focal Solo6Be
User avatar
Hemansu
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby Hemansu » Thu Jan 02, 2014 8:55 pm

ThePresent wrote:If you are on W7, try disk repair. Maybe some bad sectors need to be taken care of. I suppose the drive is out of warranty? Nowadays many drives only get one year of warranty but maybe you still have 3?


Just reinstalled the OS completely as my system was really slowed down & disk cache meter was spiking really high ! After reinstallation system gets faster but still disk cache meter is spiking when i work on a project with remarkable amount of audio tracks loaded like one below. And it causes audio glitches/stutter.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6Z1BCLWLGw

Luckily i have 3 year warranty :) But i think Dell will not replace until it completely stops working. HDD is from Western Digital.

Thanks for the reply :)
* Cubase 6 : Version 6.0.7 * Dell Precision M6600 : i7-940XM, 16 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit * RME Fireface UFX * Access Virus TI2 * Focal Solo6Be
User avatar
Hemansu
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby Hemansu » Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:28 pm

JamesTNL wrote:Are you just getting disk spikes? Or does the disk cache meter creep up/remain overloaded? Does it affect playback, or is it just something you observed on the performance meter (F12)?

I ask this because Cubase's transport controls causes disk cache spikes and I don't think there's anything you can do about it.

If you have an (otherwise empty) project with just 1 audio track without even audiofiles loaded/recorded, the disk cache meter will briefly overload (and just as quickly disappear) when you press Play/Stop/ and all the other transport controls.


Actually the disk cache meter shows spikes & causes audio stutter (choppy audio/audio glitches) but it dont remain overloaded. This usually happens while working with remarkable amount of audio tracks. No issue with the VST tracks.

I have no problem with a single audio track but while working on a mix CD like below i have to work with 10/30 audio tracks & thats the time when disk overload occurs.

Thanks for taking your time helping me out :)
* Cubase 6 : Version 6.0.7 * Dell Precision M6600 : i7-940XM, 16 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit * RME Fireface UFX * Access Virus TI2 * Focal Solo6Be
User avatar
Hemansu
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby JamesTNL » Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:08 pm

Hemansu wrote:
Actually the disk cache meter shows spikes & causes audio stutter (choppy audio/audio glitches) but it dont remain overloaded. This usually happens while working with remarkable amount of audio tracks. No issue with the VST tracks.

I have no problem with a single audio track but while working on a mix CD like below i have to work with 10/30 audio tracks & thats the time when disk overload occurs.

Thanks for taking your time helping me out :)


How much RAM have you got in your system?

I'm not sure exactly what Cubase means by 'disk cache' or how Cubase loads audiofiles and such when you open a project, but I'd assume Cubase tries to load as much as it can from your HDD into RAM and once your RAM is 'full' (as in: Cubase is unable to allocate anymore RAM for audio files), it'll have to page out existing data from RAM and load more data from (the much slower) HDD into RAM, which can't keep up with the project playing back, thus causing the disk spikes.

So another take on this could be insufficient RAM. Are you running 64-bit Cubase? Might be worth a shot if you aren't already, as Cubase 32-bit on a 64-bit OS still can only allocate max 4GB memory.
Cubase 7.06 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 - ASRock B85M-ITX - Intel Core i5 4570S - 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3 - Dawicontrol DC-FW800 PCIe - Presonus Firebox - Xigmatek Nebula - be quiet! Pure Power L8 430W CM - Steinberg CMC-AI - Steinberg CMC-TP - Steinberg CMC-CH
JamesTNL
Junior Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby Hemansu » Thu Jan 02, 2014 10:29 pm

JamesTNL wrote:
How much RAM have you got in your system?

I'm not sure exactly what Cubase means by 'disk cache' or how Cubase loads audiofiles and such when you open a project, but I'd assume Cubase tries to load as much as it can from your HDD into RAM and once your RAM is 'full' (as in: Cubase is unable to allocate anymore RAM for audio files), it'll have to page out existing data from RAM and load more data from (the much slower) HDD into RAM, which can't keep up with the project playing back, thus causing the disk spikes.

So another take on this could be insufficient RAM. Are you running 64-bit Cubase? Might be worth a shot if you aren't already, as Cubase 32-bit on a 64-bit OS still can only allocate max 4GB memory.



My workstation has 16GB RAM (you guys can see that in my studio gears description under my every single comment) & i'm using 64 bit Cubase. Not pretty sure but Disk Cache Meter depends on hard disk's data reading speed, so upgrading to SSD could fix this issue but its costly option as i told above. So any alternative if anyone know...
* Cubase 6 : Version 6.0.7 * Dell Precision M6600 : i7-940XM, 16 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit * RME Fireface UFX * Access Virus TI2 * Focal Solo6Be
User avatar
Hemansu
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby JamesTNL » Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:10 pm

Hemansu wrote:
My workstation has 16GB RAM (you guys can see that in my studio gears description under my every single comment) & i'm using 64 bit Cubase. Not pretty sure but Disk Cache Meter depends on hard disk's data reading speed, so upgrading to SSD could fix this issue but its costly option as i told above. So any alternative if anyone know...

Whoops, I did look to see if you had a signature with specs, but I was looking for it in the window where you post a reply, which hides the signatures apparently. :)

Hmm, yeah...16GB would seem enough to me. But you could check Windows Task Manager to see if it's maxing out RAM. If so, a RAM upgrade might do the trick. But it does seem it's most likely the HDD that's the bottleneck. But it's hard to say, as I don't know exactly how much data you have going on in the project and how Cubase handles this exactly.

I can't imagine getting an SSD for my audio HDD at this point, prices are still ridiculous! :shock:

Good luck anyways!
Cubase 7.06 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 - ASRock B85M-ITX - Intel Core i5 4570S - 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR3 - Dawicontrol DC-FW800 PCIe - Presonus Firebox - Xigmatek Nebula - be quiet! Pure Power L8 430W CM - Steinberg CMC-AI - Steinberg CMC-TP - Steinberg CMC-CH
JamesTNL
Junior Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:59 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby ThePresent » Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:36 am

Try the disk repair function of windows. It might take very long maybe even 24 hrs to complete. Either way things will get better or not, but if it is taking that long, it is likely that the HDD is the problem. The rest of your system specs are just fine. But a harddisk with lots of bad sectors, there is no cure for that, you should send the the drive back to your shop. Or install a spare one just to check it out.
I have had to send back a drive three times already because of spikes and audio stutter. Each time the shop returned me a refurbished one and the problem was gone (of course untill another one went bad :D )
ThePresent
----------------
i5 750 - Windows 7 64 Bit - Cubase 6.5.5 32 bit - Arturia Minimoog V - M-Audio Fasttrack Pro - Emu XBoard 61
ThePresent
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:35 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby Hemansu » Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:29 pm

JamesTNL wrote:Hmm, yeah...16GB would seem enough to me. But you could check Windows Task Manager to see if it's maxing out RAM. If so, a RAM upgrade might do the trick. But it does seem it's most likely the HDD that's the bottleneck. But it's hard to say, as I don't know exactly how much data you have going on in the project and how Cubase handles this exactly.

I can't imagine getting an SSD for my audio HDD at this point, prices are still ridiculous! :shock:

Good luck anyways!


CPU & RAM usages are normal, so i dont think its a RAM issue. I'm pretty sure its a HDD issue.

Anyways thanks very much for help mate :)
* Cubase 6 : Version 6.0.7 * Dell Precision M6600 : i7-940XM, 16 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit * RME Fireface UFX * Access Virus TI2 * Focal Solo6Be
User avatar
Hemansu
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby Hemansu » Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:39 pm

ThePresent wrote:Try the disk repair function of windows. It might take very long maybe even 24 hrs to complete. Either way things will get better or not, but if it is taking that long, it is likely that the HDD is the problem. The rest of your system specs are just fine. But a harddisk with lots of bad sectors, there is no cure for that, you should send the the drive back to your shop. Or install a spare one just to check it out.
I have had to send back a drive three times already because of spikes and audio stutter. Each time the shop returned me a refurbished one and the problem was gone (of course untill another one went bad :D )


I think i gotta call Dell support & ask them for a replacement as its in warranty. Hope they co-operate.

Thanks anyway mate :)
* Cubase 6 : Version 6.0.7 * Dell Precision M6600 : i7-940XM, 16 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit * RME Fireface UFX * Access Virus TI2 * Focal Solo6Be
User avatar
Hemansu
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Disk Cache Usage Meter Spike !

Postby Hemansu » Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:43 pm

MY PERSONAL OPINION..

WESTERN DIGITAL HDDS are not for me ! One failed & another slowed down..
* Cubase 6 : Version 6.0.7 * Dell Precision M6600 : i7-940XM, 16 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit * RME Fireface UFX * Access Virus TI2 * Focal Solo6Be
User avatar
Hemansu
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:21 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times


Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests