Missing licence on elicenser

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software

Missing licence on elicenser

Postby lowjk » Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:24 am

Hi,
Cubase 6.5.5.3 hung this morning. When I restarted the computer, the following licences went missing:
Cubase 6.5
HALion 4
Hypnotic Dance
(along with some Arturia V-Collection licences).

Went to mySteinberg and got the activation code for them but when I tried to enter them, the elicenser reports them as being used and I could not enter them.

Please assist.

Thanks,
JK Low
lowjk
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby thinkingcap » Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:11 am

lowjk wrote:Hi,
Cubase 6.5.5.3 hung this morning. When I restarted the computer, the following licences went missing:
Cubase 6.5
HALion 4
Hypnotic Dance
(along with some Arturia V-Collection licences).

Went to mySteinberg and got the activation code for them but when I tried to enter them, the elicenser reports them as being used and I could not enter them.

Please assist.

Thanks,
JK Low

As always in such cases, download and install the latest eLCC-software first...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby lowjk » Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:44 pm

Nope did all that and still no go.
lowjk
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby Arjan P » Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:35 pm

Did you also perform maintenance from the eLCC software? This usually synchronizes licenses with online data at Steinberg. Otherwise you need to contact support. Activation codes do just that; they activate your license and therefor can only be used once.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 8.5.20 | Cubase 7.5.30 | HALion Sonic 1.6.3 | Win7 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio
User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1949
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 46 times

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby lowjk » Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:36 pm

Yes, done all the above.
Arturia was great though. Got back to me with a new set of activation code for V-Collection in 2 hours.
lowjk
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby lowjk » Thu Jan 16, 2014 4:27 am

Strangely when I switched on my computer today, all the licences appeared.
Even though I had switched my computer on and off a few times yesterday.

So all is well, fingers crossed. Just hope 2 sets of V Collection licences dont screw up the elicensor.

BTW, I glad I dont this for a living. The local Steinberg dealer hasnt got back to me yet!
lowjk
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby lowjk » Fri Jan 17, 2014 8:05 am

Any Steinberg personnel reading this?
The local dealer did not even bother to answer my email after 18hr
I thought that Cubase is a pro product. Even if it is working now, they should at least check in on me to see how I am doing.

Time to switch DAW perhaps??
lowjk
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby thinkingcap » Fri Jan 17, 2014 9:44 am

lowjk wrote:Time to switch DAW perhaps??

Well, probably none of us users here cares what DAW you use, so don' t talk - just do it
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby lowjk » Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:54 am

thinkingcap wrote:
lowjk wrote:Time to switch DAW perhaps??

Well, probably none of us users here cares what DAW you use, so don' t talk - just do it


Nonconstructive reply. No one cares what u say.
lowjk
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby Elektrobolt » Sat Jan 18, 2014 4:37 am

Have you contacted Steinberg support?
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby thinkingcap » Sat Jan 18, 2014 9:00 am

lowjk wrote:Nonconstructive reply. No one cares what u say.

Well, actually some do - of course (like you) only if I say what they want to hear...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby lowjk » Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:03 pm

Elektrobolt wrote:Have you contacted Steinberg support?


Contact the Steinberg distributor in my country as listed in MySteinberg|MySupport.
That's the issue. No reply from them at all (after 3 days).
Arturia was fantastic. They got back to me within 2 hours.

Why am I paying good money for software that is poorly supported??
lowjk
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Missing licence on elicenser

Postby Elektrobolt » Tue Jan 21, 2014 1:24 am

lowjk wrote:
Elektrobolt wrote:Have you contacted Steinberg support?


Contact the Steinberg distributor in my country as listed in MySteinberg|MySupport.
That's the issue. No reply from them at all (after 3 days).
Arturia was fantastic. They got back to me within 2 hours.

Why am I paying good money for software that is poorly supported??

I do not know why you are doing that, sorry.

Did you PM a moderator in this forum, to see if they can help elevating your case or maybe even resolve it?
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times


Return to Older Cubase versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest