VST System Link with iMac and Mac Pro

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

VST System Link with iMac and Mac Pro

Postby SkM » Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:31 pm

Hi All,

I'm trying to get the most out of the available CPU power from both my iMac 2.9 i7 and Mac Pro 3 ghz 8 Core using VST System Link.
I'm using the RME fire face 800 to connect to my Mac Pro via Firewire which sends the audio to and from the Yamaha 01V96 VCM mixing desk.
I currently use the iMac with VSL's VEP networking software over ethernet. The manual suggests connecting both macs' via a digital cable, but as the iMac doesn't have a 'digital' I/O, how should i go about connecting these two up?
Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

SkM
SkM
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST System Link with iMac and Mac Pro

Postby Strophoid » Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm

I have no experience with these products, but don't VEP and VST system link both achieve the same thing? IE, you don't need both, just one.
The reason they suggest a digital connection is that it saves you the quality loss and latency of going DA and back to AD again between the computers. However, I thought VEP could transfer the audio data over the ethernet cable as well?
I'm sorry, the above might be all wrong, but that's what I've gathered from reading bits about this subject here.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3771
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 87 times

Re: VST System Link with iMac and Mac Pro

Postby SkM » Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:28 pm

Hi Strophoid,

Thanks for your reply, yes they do in away achieve the same thing but VEP is AU only, also it doesn't have the same audio editing abilities as cubase etc. Which in itself is not a problem just i'd like to split the overall processing across both Macs.

SkM
SkM
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST System Link with iMac and Mac Pro

Postby thinkingcap » Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:23 pm

SkM wrote:The manual suggests connecting both macs' via a digital cable, but as the iMac doesn't have a 'digital' I/O, how should i go about connecting these two up?
Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

SkM

That' s not a suggestion, it' s a system requirement for VST System link - No digital connection, no system link. Unless maybe you use an audio interface that uses network connections as virtual audio ports - not yet tried it this way.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: VST System Link with iMac and Mac Pro

Postby SkM » Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:28 pm

Hi Thinking cap,

Thanks for your reply. Yes you're quite right, it's a requirement. I'm hoping for a workaround given the hardware i have available. As the iMac has no digital I/O, is there a way i can use the RME 800 and Yamaha 01V96VCM to act as 'Go Betweens', given they both have SPDIF, ADAT etc.

Thanks,

SkM
SkM
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VST System Link with iMac and Mac Pro

Postby thinkingcap » Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:42 pm

SkM wrote:Hi Thinking cap,

Thanks for your reply. Yes you're quite right, it's a requirement. I'm hoping for a workaround given the hardware i have available. As the iMac has no digital I/O, is there a way i can use the RME 800 and Yamaha 01V96VCM to act as 'Go Betweens', given they both have SPDIF, ADAT etc.

Thanks,

SkM

Maybe if you find a driver for the 01v that let's you use it as audio card, or however that works on Mac
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 96 times


Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest