Variaudio crashed C6

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

Variaudio crashed C6

Postby sonicstate » Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:11 pm

Just in info to Steinberg developers.

Was editing vocal. Playback off. Switched to segment mode, clicked to cut.... freeze. Mouse froze on scisors, even switching to other app, scissors mouse remained. C6 stopped eventually, but remained running in background, had to restart.

Win XP 32, C6.0.2
Cubase 7.5, Win 7 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, 2x RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...
User avatar
sonicstate
Member
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Variaudio crashed C6

Postby sonicstate » Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:44 pm

Another Variaudio crash, within 15 minutes of work, but another kind.

Vorking on vocal, did variaudio edits. Then I applied gate, using Process/Noise Gate. Was notified, that I will loose Variaudio. Said ok, let me see what happens. Did gate fine. Tried to undo..... C6 started to flash with window "analyzing audio", like for 1 second window, then gone, again for 1 second windoww, .... This repeated itself some 20 times, then Cubase crashed. Sure enough, it remained running in background, so I had to restart again.

Steinberg, am I doing something wrong? Two crashes in 15 minutes, requiring restart, is a bit much. Please suggest, what do I do?

XP32 SP3, C6.0.2
Cubase 7.5, Win 7 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, 2x RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...
User avatar
sonicstate
Member
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Variaudio crashed C6

Postby thinkingcap » Sat Apr 30, 2011 10:13 pm

sonicstate wrote:XP32 SP3, C6.0.2

Looks like you´re using a non supported OS anyway... :roll:
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Variaudio crashed C6

Postby Guest » Sun May 01, 2011 2:54 pm

thinkingcap wrote:
sonicstate wrote:XP32 SP3, C6.0.2

Looks like you´re using a non supported OS anyway... :roll:


In C553, variaudio crashes very frequently for me, with WinXP, which IS a supported OS for that app.

Variaudio in C6 (on WinXP) is a bit more stable, but I still get the odd runtime error.
Not as many as before, but they come occasionally. Now of course when there IS a crash, a reboot is required :( this too is not a WinXP-only thing, I believe it affects Win7 users too.

So thinkingcap, I am 99% certain this has nothing to do with OS, and everything to do with Steinberg code.

Also, I must point out that, as a C++ developer, there really is no excuse for allowing an application to terminate in this way, by throwing unhandled exceptions all the way to the top level like this... The app should catch all exceptions and handle them in a controlled fashion.

/FD
Guest
 

Re: Variaudio crashed C6

Postby thinkingcap » Sun May 01, 2011 4:54 pm

FunkyDrummer wrote:In C553, variaudio crashes very frequently for me, with WinXP, which IS a supported OS for that app.

It doesn´t for me...
FunkyDrummer wrote:So thinkingcap, I am 99% certain this has nothing to do with OS, and everything to do with Steinberg code.

It doesn´t really matter. Fact is: XP is not supported for C6. Where do we draw the line XP or maybe Win 98? I mean if it´s everything to do with Steinberg code and not OS anyway...

There were people complaining that Steinberg did not give official announcements on if C6 will work on XP. Well, probably this is the reason why.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Variaudio crashed C6

Postby kyleknapp » Thu Oct 03, 2013 6:28 pm

This happens often to me too, and I'm using Windows 7.
~kyle

kyle knapp, Omaha NE USA
www.drycreekstudio.com | Cubase 6/7| Windows 7 | Core i5 1400 | 8GB RAM | M-Audio Delta 1010
kyleknapp
Junior Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 7:39 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Variaudio crashed C6

Postby OldFecker » Thu Oct 03, 2013 6:52 pm

sonicstate wrote:Just in info to Steinberg developers.

Was editing vocal. Playback off. Switched to segment mode, clicked to cut.... freeze. Mouse froze on scisors, even switching to other app, scissors mouse remained. C6 stopped eventually, but remained running in background, had to restart.

Win XP 32, C6.0.2


I think you need more RAM. Variaudio uses up a lot of memory.
Cubase 6.55 (32 bit) on Windows 7 (64 bit) // Intel core i7 920 (4 CPUs @ 3.6 GHz) // UAD2 QUAD
OldFecker
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Variaudio crashed C6

Postby alexis » Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:17 pm

The only problem I have w/ VariAudio on 6.5 in XP is it slows down a lot if my analyzed segments are too long. Breaking the song into shorter segments (a verse, for example, rather than the whole song), and it works OK.
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2354
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: Variaudio crashed C6

Postby Parrotspain » Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:22 am

Variaudio categorically works fine under XP.

I agree with Alexis, bounce audio into short sections to avoid graphics lag. Don't just cut it, you must use 'Bounce Selection' - Otherwise the full length audio is still being analysed.

P
Cubase 6.5.5 Build 176

System 1: AMD FX 8350 8 core 16Gb Win 7 64 Asus M5 A97
System 2: AMD FX 8320 8 core 16Gb Win7 64 Biostar A960D+
User avatar
Parrotspain
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:28 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests