Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Postby pjproby » Tue Aug 20, 2013 7:25 pm

Changing workspaces should not move your location on the timeline. I have locators and Zoom Zap for that. Its annoying to change your workspace for the purpose of, say, going full screen for editing, just to have the window take you to some place you happened to be when you saved the workspace.

Is this an option that I am not seeing?

PJ
pjproby
New Member
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:36 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Postby Oswald Schwander » Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:05 pm

I sort of remember this being the reason why I stopped using Worksaces at all. Didn't go into it deeper. Perhaps anybody else?

Oswald
N6 64bit on OSX 10.8 - Fireface 400 - Decklink Intensity - Artist Control
http://www.schwander-sounddesign.de
Oswald Schwander
New Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Postby csd » Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:09 pm

Workspaces need an option to remember or not remember zoom and location settings. This would solve this problem.
csd
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Postby The Sound Post » Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:17 pm

I made a macro for that years ago. It's rather simple and works prefectly fine.

Macro.jpg
(18.83 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Regards,
Martijn.
Nuendo 5.1, 5.5 and 6.0.6 OSX 10.8.5 MacPro Hexacore 3.33 GHz Antelope Orion32 02R96
User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Postby csd » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:01 pm

The Sound Post wrote:I made a macro for that years ago. It's rather simple and works prefectly fine.

Regards,
Martijn.


A reasonable partial workaround, but I would prefer if it would remember the current zoom setting and location rather than a zoom preset - similar to how ProTools handles memory location options. Macros are also more sluggish than single key commands.
csd
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Postby The Sound Post » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:08 pm

Okidoki. Maybe one of the other members will find it useful.

Regards, Martijn.
Nuendo 5.1, 5.5 and 6.0.6 OSX 10.8.5 MacPro Hexacore 3.33 GHz Antelope Orion32 02R96
User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Postby csd » Tue Aug 27, 2013 10:24 pm

Don't get me wrong - it is very useful. Hats off to you for coming up with the macro.

And thank you for posting it!
csd
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:01 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Postby The Sound Post » Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:08 pm

That's quite all right ;-)
Nuendo 5.1, 5.5 and 6.0.6 OSX 10.8.5 MacPro Hexacore 3.33 GHz Antelope Orion32 02R96
User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Workspaces should not change your location on the timeline

Postby Oliver.Lucas » Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:49 pm

From an in depth product presentation of Cubase I remember that Helge spoke about window handling as one of the next big challenges for a future major version update. I guess workspaces will be addressed as well...
I never started getting into them, with multiple monitors I find it less of a problem these days to keep stuff where you expect it.

Ollie
www.lucas-sound.com
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
skype: oliver.lucas
Oliver.Lucas
Member
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Workspaces should not change your location on the timeli

Postby Chewy Papadopoulos » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:17 am

Has anybody made this issue a feature request?

The more I get into workspaces (and I am really starting to get into them!) the more it bugs me.

My way around it is to generally call up the workspace on my MC Control on the fly-- then calling up a workspace doesn't take you back to its original location.

Chewy.
N6.5x, C4, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI and Satellite), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, Mac(s) 10.9.x, 10.8x, 16G
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 17 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests