osx direct monitoring

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

osx direct monitoring

Postby broda_d » Sat Mar 15, 2014 9:45 pm

Hi, is it any possibility to have a direct monitoring under OSX? I love the cue idea in N6 but without direct monitoring you can not use it with larger projects. Do you have any idea how to resolve this problem without buying vendor equipment?
broda_d
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby ffg » Sun Mar 16, 2014 9:31 am

Not sure what you mean by buying vendor equipment, but as you probably know only Steinberg hardware can access direct monitoring in Cubendo OSX. I really don't know how or why that is, goodness knows it's been long enough (about 10 years) that you would think someone would have worked it out...

Me, I used hardware foldback (when I still had an analogue mixer) and then went to DSP monitoring on the RME card (Totalmix) and haven't looked back. Even if DM suddenly became available now, I'm not sure I would use it, I now prefer the workflow and flexibility of Totalmix.
best

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 5.5
Cubase 7.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX.9.x
MacPro 2.8 8-core OSX.8.x
Macbook Pro
RME Fireface 800
User avatar
ffg
Member
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby broda_d » Tue Mar 18, 2014 2:35 am

Thanks for the reply and please don't take this letter below personally. most of this questions are directed to Steinberg team, but guys... no injuries. I really love your products but there is some... bugs in there.


My question was little tricky... because the funniest think is that for over 10 years Steinberg didn't done anything with this problem and my question is why?.... I know, osx don't have a ASIO it works on core audio bla, bla, bla, bla... I'm very deeply aware.
A few yers ago I worked on win platform also with amateur audio interfaces and I loved "that" solution not only to make a cue for somebody - it's very, very important when you want be on the beat.

I'm working also on RME and I'm doing it exactly like you, but in my opinion it's misunderstanding - it's take a long time with crossing, switching to another window, changing buffer size, turning off delay compensation etc.

Why we can't use our "great" platform properly? why?...Are they for free? If it's possible with Steinberg hardware why it's no possible with other companies?
I don't think that apple will do something with this matter:) Is it really so complicated?
Maybe Steiberg should make very small interface only with four phones preamp with extremely low jitter witch we can aggregate with professional audio systems and use direct monitoring solution on OSX ?


Best
Damian
broda_d
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby broda_d » Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:47 pm

So... nobody else want's to have direct monitoring under OSX?....
broda_d
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby Kewl » Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:18 pm

On OS X, some audio interfaces, through their own drivers/control software, allow for direct monitoring. Case in point, you can configure a direct monitoring setup with Metric Halo's MIO Console software that controls their various audio interfaces.
MacBook Pro Retina Late 2013 (Intel Core i7 @ 2.3 GHz, 16 GB RAM) / OS X 10.9.5 / Nuendo 6.5.2 / Metric Halo ULN-8 & ULN-2 / SoundField SPS200
Kewl
Junior Member
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby Heiner Einbier » Thu Jun 05, 2014 8:08 pm

broda_d wrote:So... nobody else want's to have direct monitoring under OSX?....


Sure I do!
But I also want to drink a beer with Johnny Thunders. And I don't see THAT happening anytime soon either... ;)
HP Z800 Xeon 8-core 16GB RAM
RME Fireface UCX
BlackMagic DeckLink MiniMonitor SDI
MacBook Pro Core2Duo 2.8 GHz 4GB RAM

Nuendo 6
Cubase 7.5
User avatar
Heiner Einbier
Junior Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:25 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby curteye » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:33 am

Aloha b,

I am a lil bit confused (which is my normal state) but

You said:
Do you have any idea how to resolve this problem without buying vendor equipment?


And later you posted:
Maybe Steiberg should make very small interface only with four phones preamp with extremely low jitter witch we can aggregate with professional audio systems and use direct monitoring solution on OSX ?


??????
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
breaking in a Mac Pro.

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby broda_d » Mon Jun 09, 2014 8:29 pm

Aloha would you like add something to this discussion or just add a post...?
after over one year S resolve problem with AAF import, and that was much difficult so maybe finally it's a time to resolve this subject after almost 10 years?
Do you guys really believe it's impossible? over 4 version of windows it's work perfectly so...why with protools and pyramix you don't have a this stupid problems?
Do you really believe that is a osx problem? it's open platform and it's only cubendo problem that you can't mark this small box. Not osx ssl, rme, antelope etc. Is steinberg pay you for this posts? Come one if we collect every mac users from this forum maybe stein berg will do that for regular clients like with AAF.
broda_d
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby Fredo » Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:29 am

broda_d wrote:why with protools and pyramix you don't have a this stupid problems?


Because you have to buy their hardware to make it work.
The Direct Monitoring is done on the hardware DSP.

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby broda_d » Wed Jun 11, 2014 4:12 pm

Fredo what do you propose? witch hardware? I was trying also yamaha m Lan (this same company) fw connection and it's don't work. so... witch hardware do you propose to make an aggregate with bigger systems or with system do you propose to have a direct monitoring?

Damian
broda_d
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby broda_d » Wed Jun 11, 2014 4:14 pm

companies like RME have own dsp direct monitoring system but we can't use it with cubendo why?
broda_d
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby Fredo » Wed Jun 11, 2014 4:17 pm

See this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=194&t=60368

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: osx direct monitoring

Postby broda_d » Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:26 pm

and we really can make an aggregate with another systems and have direct monitoring?
broda_d
New Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests