Exorting 30 sec of Video - how?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

Exorting 30 sec of Video - how?

Postby drorh4 » Sun May 04, 2014 7:03 pm

Nuendo 6 users.
I want to send a client a slice of film with music. In PT it takes only a second with "Bounce to QT".
In Steinberg, for ages there was the "replace audio in video" - time consuming and not practical cause I want to send a sketch via Email.

Now, we have Nuendo 6, do we have this option since I tried it with Nuendo 4?

Now I need to open a PT project only for that. by now the Nuendo crashed so hard my computer restart itself over and over. 40 minutes of my time just to send 30 seconds of movie to the film maker.
Nuendo crash when I start (unable to uplaod KONTAKT samples) or crash when I quit the program.

:x
drorh4
Junior Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Exorting 30 sec of Video - how?

Postby rpaillot805 » Sun May 04, 2014 7:54 pm

No there is not.

What I do is I export the music with the dialogs/Fx , notate the timecode where the export starts.

Then I open the video in quicktime , and go to the corresponding timecode with the mouse then use the keyboard arrows to go exactly to the right timecode ( Quicktime is very precise when you hit left or right arrow, it goes frame by frame )

Then,

I open the audio export ( with music and dialogs/fx ) , do cmd + A ( select the whole audio ) , then cmd + c ( copy )
then I return to the video ( still in quicktime ) , then go to Edit, "add to sequence" , then "only keep the selection", and you've your clip ! ( dont forget to go in sequence property = cmd + J , then delete the original audio track otherwise you'll have both the original audio playing and the exported one )

This seems complex , but it really takes 2 minutes to do.
Seems much simpler to me than using Video editor like Vegas or Premiere.
rpaillot805
Junior Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:41 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Exorting 30 sec of Video - how?

Postby drorh4 » Sun May 04, 2014 8:04 pm

Thanx dude
drorh4
Junior Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Exorting 30 sec of Video - how?

Postby f.e » Sat May 10, 2014 3:06 pm

rpaillot805 wrote:No there is not.

What I do is I export the music with the dialogs/Fx , notate the timecode where the export starts.

Then I open the video in quicktime , and go to the corresponding timecode with the mouse then use the keyboard arrows to go exactly to the right timecode ( Quicktime is very precise when you hit left or right arrow, it goes frame by frame )

Then,

I open the audio export ( with music and dialogs/fx ) , do cmd + A ( select the whole audio ) , then cmd + c ( copy )
then I return to the video ( still in quicktime ) , then go to Edit, "add to sequence" , then "only keep the selection", and you've your clip ! ( dont forget to go in sequence property = cmd + J , then delete the original audio track otherwise you'll have both the original audio playing and the exported one )

This seems complex , but it really takes 2 minutes to do.
Seems much simpler to me than using Video editor like Vegas or Premiere.


This is also exactly what i do since ages, but it is strongly permitted to asked why is it so complicated to add this feature to Cubase or at least Nuendo...

Also, should be a sticky somewhere about this QuickTime Pro workaround because a lot of people keep asking the same question (which is understandable : they use a software mostly designed to help them making music to pictures but there's no way to export it properly. Kinda crazy, isn't ?)
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1 | i7 860 @ 3.37GHz | 16,00 GB DDR3 | Asus P7P55D-E Deluxe | 1024MB GeForce GTX 660 Ti | RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface | RME Fireface 800 | Steinberg Cubase 7.5
User avatar
f.e
Junior Member
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 12:04 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Exorting 30 sec of Video - how?

Postby drorh4 » Sun May 11, 2014 12:37 am

drorh4
Junior Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Exorting 30 sec of Video - how?

Postby MrSoundman » Sun May 11, 2014 1:44 am

Did you mean exort, exhort or export? Only kidding with you, ignore me, it's a weekend .... I'll get me coat.
Cubase 7.5.20 x64 | WaveLab 8.5.10 x64 | HALion 5.0.1 x64 | HSO 1.5 x64 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | Windows 7 x64
User avatar
MrSoundman
Member
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Exorting 30 sec of Video - how?

Postby Brain » Mon May 12, 2014 3:16 pm

MrSoundman wrote:Did you mean exort, exhort or export?


Extort ?
1.
N6.0.7, WL 8.5
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSP-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N3.2.1, WL 5.01b
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)
User avatar
Brain
Junior Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ed Doll and 2 guests