Avid S6 and Nuendo

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

Avid S6 and Nuendo

Postby Oliver.Lucas » Tue May 13, 2014 8:05 am

Hi Nuendoers,

has anyone ever seen an S6 controlling Nuendo yet?
I'd be interested to know how they play together.

Ollie
www.lucas-sound.com
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
skype: oliver.lucas
Oliver.Lucas
Member
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Avid S6 and Nuendo

Postby Antonio Escobar » Tue May 13, 2014 9:01 am

In this moment EuCon + Steinberg could not be the best option. EuCon does not work well in a lot of systems (crashes, lost of connection, etc). Do quick search and you will be amazed. Furthermore, EuCon, by itself, is full of nasty bugs, so it's not a good move now.
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Avid S6 and Nuendo

Postby Oliver.Lucas » Tue May 13, 2014 1:17 pm

I've got EuCon running on 4 machines and done hundreds of hours worth of TV mixes on the small artist controllers, both with and without clients. The small units are definetely working very well here.
We hardly do anything more exciting than levls, pan and transport, though.

Ollie
www.lucas-sound.com
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
skype: oliver.lucas
Oliver.Lucas
Member
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Avid S6 and Nuendo

Postby Antonio Escobar » Tue May 13, 2014 1:25 pm

Well, if your system is already running EuCon successfully, you have the answer :-)
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Avid S6 and Nuendo

Postby Oliver.Lucas » Tue May 13, 2014 3:32 pm

Antonio Escobar wrote:Well, if your system is already running EuCon successfully, you have the answer :-)

Not really, isn't EuCon a different product for the pro/high end market?
It's a different download/installer for sure.

Ollie
www.lucas-sound.com
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
skype: oliver.lucas
Oliver.Lucas
Member
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Avid S6 and Nuendo

Postby jvamos » Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:23 pm

This is an interesting question. The S6 and Nuage are both very interesting consoles. Is the Nuage completely divorced from the Eucon protocol now?
Regardless if anyone has access to one it would be very cool to see.

J
jvamos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:29 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Avid S6 and Nuendo

Postby Fredo » Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:42 am

Since the *hardware* Eucon driver is exclusive property of Avid, Steinberg is not allowed to use it in their hardware. Nuage offers much-much deeper integration into Nuendo than any existing protocol. Next best thing is Eucon, and so on ...

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1388
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Avid S6 and Nuendo

Postby jvamos » Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:00 pm

OK, I have been finding the Eucon troublesome for some time. The artist series does kind of feel a bit shallow as a control surface, soft keys are great but the layout is kind of terrible. The S6 is truly an achievement in console making but like the Nuage which I have yet to see, it is pretty expensive and not for the mass market even though it is simply a large mouse and keyboard.
Now please make a Nuage mini for home use and you may be sitting on a gold mine.
I'd pay a decent amount for a single fully contextual channel, with the possibility to expand.
jvamos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:29 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest