Nuendo output louder than external playback

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby Danell » Wed May 14, 2014 11:15 am

Hi! I have a big problem with Nuendo. I got a recored and mixed speaker for a job and listened to it, it sounded good. When I later imported it into Nuendo the audio gets distorted!
I exported the distorted project from Nuendo but when I listened to the exported file outside Nuendo it's not distorted anymore, so it's only while playing from Nuendo.
Just to try. I imported it into my trial of Cubase LE and it didn't distort, so it's only in Nuendo.
Before this my exports have always bin a little bit low but I just normalized it with dbPoweramp.

When I look on my soundcard's meter when playing from an external player it says -0,3, but in nuendo it says OVR (distorted). What i have to do is add a limiter (L1) and drag it down to -5,9 to get the same meter-output on my soundcard.

I haven't changed any settings that I know if except picking my Soundcard. I'm using a RME Babyface, if that's to any help.

I hope someone can help me with this because I have no idea what's going on.
Thanks!
Danell
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:02 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby Fredo » Wed May 14, 2014 1:27 pm

You should double check your output routings.
Sounds like a doubled output, like Control Room *and* output activated to the same output channels.

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby fenderchris » Wed May 14, 2014 1:34 pm

Fredo wrote:You should double check your output routings.
Sounds like a doubled output, like Control Room *and* output activated to the same output channels.

Fredo


Yes. I've made this mistake in the past.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Windows-7 64-bit, Nuendo-5.5.6 64-bit, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for Android
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.
User avatar
fenderchris
Member
 
Posts: 568
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby Danell » Wed May 14, 2014 1:52 pm

That was it. I most have expediently turned the control room. Really thanks!
Danell
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:02 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby Danell » Wed May 14, 2014 5:28 pm

Hmm.. Now I found out why I got this. When I open the MediaBay to search for sounds I don't have any audio if I don't add a pair of speakers in the Studiotab in VST Connections, but when I add this I get dubble output from the timeline. How can I fix this?
Danell
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:02 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby Hugh » Wed May 14, 2014 9:58 pm

Hello,

Either assign your mix bus to another baby face output or mix to a bus that's not assigned to a hardware output. In the Output tab of VST Connections right click on the bus and make sure it's the "default output" or wording similar. The CR will listen to that bus for output.

Hugh
Hugh
Junior Member
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby Danell » Thu May 15, 2014 9:48 am

Isn't there any way to make the mediabay use the standard sterieo output? Right now this is how my VST Connection-tabs looks like:
vstconnections.jpg
VST Connectiontabs
(118.77 KiB) Not downloaded yet

The stereo in the Output-tab is set as main mix.

I only use Analog 1 and 2 for output, it's the only speakers I have and they are connected to those outputs.
The only way for me to get sound in the mediabay is to add Monitor 1 in the Studio-tab.
I didn't understand completly what you ment for me to do.
Danell
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:02 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby DG » Thu May 15, 2014 10:00 am

In the Outputs tab (the left of your jpeg) you should disconnect the speakers.

DG
Nuendo 6.07
Intel Xeon 3.0GHz 10 Core 20 Threads
32GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
nVidia GT 640 graphics card
DG
Member
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby Fredo » Thu May 15, 2014 10:01 am

Your Output should be set to "not connected".
Then you configure Control Room,a dn everything should work perfectly.

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Nuendo output louder than external playback

Postby Danell » Thu May 15, 2014 11:02 am

Works perfect now. Thanks for all the help! :)
Danell
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:02 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron