Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby etl17 » Wed May 28, 2014 3:57 am

Well, it may be helpful to make sure that it is FIXED first!
As a Cubase 7.X user, I am one of the "lucky" ones that HUB never worked for me.
There are other users among the Cubase community that also have similar problems. It is well documented on the Cubase forums.

The funny thing is that Steinberg hasn't even publicly acknowledged the issue! :(
Nuendo 6 / Cubase 7.5 / Wavelab 8 / Windows 7 x64 / Custom build PC 990X, 24GB RAM / RME HDSPe / UAD 2 Quad / PoCo MkII
etl17
Member
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby curteye » Wed May 28, 2014 4:17 am

Aloha e,

I do not use the 'Hub' anymore but when I did
it seem to connect/work fine here.

And like you I have read many reports from Cubase users of it not connecting/working properly.

Which makes me now wonder what percentage of users are successfully
using the Hub and which percentage are not?

And for those who say 'not', is it because the Hub is not simply working for them
or it is working ok; but users just don't like/use it?

IMHO if the Hub is truly coming to Nuendo,
Steiny must have some pretty positive numbers on usage.

Perhaps a poll is in order.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4694
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 145 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby iBM » Wed May 28, 2014 10:23 am

The first thing I did was to turn it off (pref wise).

I DON'T want it in Nuendo, but there are also many other things no user ever asked for.

I wonder how many Nuendo users have asked for this?
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby iBM » Wed May 28, 2014 10:26 am

curteye wrote:IMHO if the Hub is truly coming to Nuendo,
Steiny must have some pretty positive numbers on usage. {'-'}

I think Nuendo just follows Cubase, just as much as the other way around :roll:
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Brandy » Wed May 28, 2014 1:47 pm

This is the first thing which is getting disabled in any Cubase installation here... I do not mind it as long as I can disable it. There is nothing which is more useless for me than this hub.. It can even cause troubles when you open projects from the "recent project" menue - for example when there was a "crash on quit" - there would be the risk to work on in an old project version which is NOT the most recent one...

That Hub is something which seems to be made for more hobbyist users - giving them first assistance a la "what do you want to do now?"... There is nothing bad with it. As long as I can disable it :-)
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C6/C7.5 - N5.5/N6 - WL7 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001
Brandy
Member
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Oliver.Lucas » Wed May 28, 2014 2:12 pm

Showing ads in a pro application IS bad imho.
www.lucas-sound.com
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
skype: oliver.lucas
Oliver.Lucas
Member
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Brandy » Wed May 28, 2014 2:18 pm

Ads?

When connected to the www?
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C6/C7.5 - N5.5/N6 - WL7 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001
Brandy
Member
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby johngar » Wed May 28, 2014 3:09 pm

iBM wrote:The first thing I did was to turn it off (pref wise).

I DON'T want it in Nuendo, but there are also many other things no user ever asked for.

I wonder how many Nuendo users have asked for this?

I don't like it either. It seems like it was designed to help users learn the program, providing assistance and product announcements.
I don't need that, that's what the web is for.
PC | Nuendo 6.5 64bit | Cubase 7.5 64bit| i7920 | Windows 7 Pro 64bit | 12gb ram | Blackmagic Intensity Pro | NVIDIA GeForce GTX550Ti | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

elfxi.com
User avatar
johngar
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Boatman » Thu May 29, 2014 5:07 pm

johngar wrote:
iBM wrote:It seems like it was designed to help users learn the program, providing assistance and product announcements.


To me it seems like it was designed to earn money by showing you third-party ads. They might not start doing that to you immediately, but in the fullness of time, expect it.
Boatman
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby SteveInChicago » Thu May 29, 2014 5:19 pm

Boatman wrote:To me it seems like it was designed to earn money by showing you third-party ads. They might not start doing that to you immediately, but in the fullness of time, expect it.

And this is based on what?
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4494
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Dog and Pony » Thu May 29, 2014 7:00 pm

To me it seems like it was designed to earn money by showing you third-party ads. They might not start doing that to you immediately, but in the fullness of time, expect it.


It's okay though because Steinberg is also deeply involved in the spraying of chemtrails that will affect your brain in such a way that you won't notice the advertising. I know it's true because I read it on the internet! :roll:
4 rooms with N5/N6, Nuage, Tango II, Euphonix MC Pro, Euphonix Artist, MacOSX 10.7.5 and many more toys.
Dog and Pony
Junior Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Fredo » Thu May 29, 2014 8:08 pm

Dog and Pony wrote: .... Steinberg is also deeply involved in the spraying of chemtrails ...

OMG ... It's out in the open ....
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1316
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby iBM » Thu May 29, 2014 11:14 pm

Dog and Pony wrote:
I know it's true because I read it on the internet! :roll:

Lucky you, got the internet, and all...... We only got the Web World Wide thingy over here :mrgreen:
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby TimoWildenhain » Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:49 am

Hello,

the Nuendo Steinberg HUB is in several ways different to the Cubase 7.5 HUB. First of all, it is not a fullscreen
window anymore. Secondly, the Nuendo HUB incorporates a folder management system with access to the 4 most often used project folders right out of the HUB. And thirdly, you can switch off the HUB if you don't like it and choose from a few standard settings. However, I encourage everyone to try out the HUB folders once 6.5 is available, as it enables fast access to recent projects.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Product Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!
TimoWildenhain
Moderator
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Oliver.Lucas » Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:05 pm

Thanks for the info Timo. But do you really consider showing ads in the file dialog of a pro app appropriate?

As I said in another post: I cannot imagine sitting in a mix with a director, actors and the broadcaster and have my software show adverts.
www.lucas-sound.com
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
skype: oliver.lucas
Oliver.Lucas
Member
 
Posts: 440
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby etl17 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 5:50 pm

For those that are curious about the connectivity issues of the SB Hub in Cubase, now a solution has been identified.
The problem seemed to be a Qt library installed in the Windows/System32 directory that interferes with the Hub.
Nuendo 6 / Cubase 7.5 / Wavelab 8 / Windows 7 x64 / Custom build PC 990X, 24GB RAM / RME HDSPe / UAD 2 Quad / PoCo MkII
etl17
Member
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby TimoWildenhain » Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:05 pm

Oliver.Lucas wrote:Thanks for the info Timo. But do you really consider showing ads in the file dialog of a pro app appropriate?

As I said in another post: I cannot imagine sitting in a mix with a director, actors and the broadcaster and have my software show adverts.


Hi Oliver,

I don't consider this an "ad" window. It will basically show information on new updates and products
and - occassionally - a link to a user story. Real "advertising" nowadays is something different.
So no funny, blinking, skyscraper banner highlighting the content of the previous websites you have
visited.... ;)

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Product Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!
TimoWildenhain
Moderator
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Lydiot » Tue Jun 17, 2014 5:49 pm

Information on new products = advertising

period.

I don't need to see that.
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Boatman » Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:35 pm

Lydiot wrote:Information on new products = advertising
period.
I don't need to see that.


Personally, I think that it's possible to consider Steinberg using this "hub" to announce their own products as a borderline case. On the other hand, why bother coding it, testing it, and maintaining it, if it's only going to do something that can be done just as effectively via email? They surely didn't do it for the sake of letting me open one of the the four most recent projects that I've opened... because I already know how to navigate to wherever I need to go by using the "Open File" dialogue box. So is the "hub" a typical "software-developers' self-serving solution for a problem that doesn't exist"? The only reason for creating this "hub" that comes to mind - well, to my mind - is that at least some of those product announcements are going to be from third parties and are going to be paid for by those same third parties.

That Steinberg will claim that all the ads will be of interest to their users and won't have blinking banners does not really make them anything other than ads. And really, if this hub proves to be worth its maintenance and support costs, does anyone think that it will be very long before we see Google ads for counterfeit drugs, Asian and Russian brides, and, uh, "male enhancement products"? They seem to be searching for new revenue streams and that seems to be why we have this "hub".
Boatman
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Fredo » Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:49 pm

And notifies the user when new updates are available.
Links to knowledge base, manuals, tips, downloads, etc ...
Allows you to have direct links to your most used locations, and so on ...

Really guys, you are making a lot of fuzz out of nothing.

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1316
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Lydiot » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:04 pm

Fredo wrote:And notifies the user when new updates are available.
Links to knowledge base, manuals, tips, downloads, etc ...
Allows you to have direct links to your most used locations, and so on ...


False dichotomy. Look it up.

Fredo wrote:Really guys, you are making a lot of fuzz out of nothing.

Fredo


You're entitled to voice your opinion. More so than us even.
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby SteveInChicago » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:41 pm

Lydiot wrote:False dichotomy. Look it up.

A false dichotomy is when someone proposes that there are only two possible views, ignoring others, and then makes an an argument based on that fallacy, but in this instance Fredo has simply asserted that additional uses outweigh the harm. No fallacy there. ;)

(Back on topic) And of course, you can switch it off.
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4494
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 90 times
Been thanked: 247 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Big K » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:48 pm

Boatman wrote: ... because I already know how to navigate to wherever I need to go by using the "Open File" dialogue box. So is the "hub" a typical "software-developers' self-serving solution for a problem that doesn't exist"? The only reason for creating this "hub" that comes to mind - well, to my mind - is that at least some of those product announcements are going to be from third parties and are going to be paid for by those same third parties.

....does anyone think that it will be very long before we see Google ads for counterfeit drugs, Asian and Russian brides, and, uh, "male enhancement products"?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This HUB thing...
Something nobody I know has ever asked for, unlike some long overdue bug fixes .
I am with Boatman on this. Anyhow, this feature has an off-switch.

Well..., male enhancement products ads would not bother me much...
After all, who can improve "perfection"....
;-)

Cheers, Big K
Presonus Studio ONE, Harrison Mixbus!, Nuendo 5.6 (6), WL6 (7), RME, UAD, PoCo, Win7 64, i7 3930K, 16 GB RAM, Intensity, Melodyne, Spectrasonics, VSL, Brainworx, Genelec 5.1, sevaW lla, LAWO, Sony DASH 3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware & excellent acoustic studio design, ...SB user *1989 ✝2014
User avatar
Big K
Member
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby Lydiot » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:51 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:
Lydiot wrote:False dichotomy. Look it up.

A false dichotomy is when someone proposes that there are only two possible views, ignoring others, and then makes an an argument based on that fallacy, but in this instance Fredo has simply asserted that additional uses outweigh the harm. No fallacy there. ;)


It is if the assumption is that you can either turn it all off, or have it on with the advertising. The obvious third choice is get rid of it in software (programming). Right?

SteveInChicago wrote:(Back on topic) And of course, you can switch it off.


While then switching off the other functionality.

But I agree with Big K: There are bigger fish to fry that haven't been fried for years.
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Steinberg hub coming to Nuendo...

Postby iBM » Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:30 pm

If this will be like in C7.5, to remove projects from the recent list you have to use the hub.
Remove from the recent projects list cannot be done from the File menu.

Are everybody having their main DAW's online these days?

Not in my studio.
So I need to use an offline hub solution to use the new "Remove from Recent Projects list" feature. At least it is so in C7.5.

This is wasted time and energy to implement when resources could and should be used at more important tasks. I don't get it :?
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests