[ISSUES] VST performance related

Everything else...

[ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby frenzdamillaman » Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:46 pm

Update:

Update your eLLC to 6.5.3.4113 here to resolve ASIO performance issues.

----------------------------------------------------------------
I could record with my RME card really well, low latencies, 96 samples buffer size in C6
Now it is not that good anymore. No clicks and pops at 256..but when recording guitars I really like it when it's low as possible

Does somebody got any tips for tweaking c7 for the best results? asio guard on/off

I am on windows 7, again cubase 6 had no problems before

thanx

edit, I got 16 gb ram i5 2500 3.6 pc, I think that is pretty up to date
Last edited by frenzdamillaman on Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:20 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Windows 7, Cubase 7, CC121, RME Babyace, Fostex VC-8, Voicemaster pro, VTP-1 Blue Skys Monitors, 2x24", Line6 Podfarm, Axiom 49 and a lot of coffee
frenzdamillaman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:52 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby feck » Sat Dec 08, 2012 4:16 am

Same here - in N5 and C6 on my 8 core Mac I always run at 128, no problems at all. Now, recording only 2 audio tracks (with 6 tracks in playback and no FX/VSTi's) I get constant CPU overloads at 256! Not good!
Scott Fritz
President/Producer
Stranded On A Planet Productions

Recent artists include - Amirah, Nadia Ali, Cavalier King, Martha Berner, A Friend Called Fire, Karen Kiley, The Hawthorne Effect

scott@strandedonaplanet.com
www.strandedonaplanet.com
www.facebook.com/strandedonaplanet
www.myspace.com/strandedonaplanetproductions
www.twitter.com/strandedplanet
646-408-6013

Intel Mac 8 core Xeon 2.8 GHZ, 10 GB 800mhz DDR2 RAM, OSX 10.7.5, RME Raydat/SSL Alphalink.
feck
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Hick-ups in Cubase 7

Postby TwanV » Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:00 am

When I load a project and start playing the song, Cubase 7 continuous gives hick-ups or stutters.
I had the same problem with 6.5.4. In 6.5.3 there is no problem, runs smooth.
Getting mad about this.

Made a clean re-instal windows 8 pro, nothing else.
Installed Cubase 6.5.3
Installed Cubase 7.0.0
Installed MR816X driver (administrator)
Did not install CC121 driver, maybe this is the problem.

Opening Cubase 6.5.3
Loading Steinberg demo Teleporter (version that came with 6.5)
It runs perfect.
Closing 6.5.3

Opening Cubase 7.0.0
Loading Steinberg demo Teleporter (version that came with 6.5)
The problem is here again, bumping, hick-ups.

What am I doing wrong or what do I miss?
Who can help, no project works in Cubase 7.0.0

Best regards and thanks in advance,
Twan
Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit, Cubase 6.5.5, Cubase 7.0.7, Cubase 7.5.20
Intel DX58S02, I7 X990 4,13GHz, 24GB DDR3 1772MHz, Sapphire HD6970.
SSD (OS, Cubase), Raid 4hdx1tb (Plugins), 1hdx 1tb Backup Cubase projects,
1hdx 1tb General Backup,

CC121 and MR816X
TwanV
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:36 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Emergent Design » Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:38 pm

*bump*
I have the same issue...performance seems to have taken a hit :S
Emergent Design
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby braineeter » Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:47 pm

Me three.

I'm seeing the performance meter go into the red in projects with only a few VSTi's, something that never came close to happening in Cubase 6.5 -- i've got an i5 SandyBridge system with a whack of RAM and an SSD system drive, and i am running the x64 version of Cubase.

With C7, I am seeing actual dropouts in large projects that had no such problem in C6.5.

Regards
Glenn
i5 2500k/8G DDR3/SSD System Drive & SATA III recording and sample HDDs/ RME Multiface/UAD2/
Duende and Liquid Mix
braineeter
New Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:01 pm
Location: Toronto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Cantankerous » Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:57 pm

I thought I was the only one having this. I thought the ASIO guard and ASIO delay compensation on midi tracks was suppose to take care of this, but I get worse performance according to the performance meter in Cubase 7 than I do in Cubase 6.5. :o
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5
Cantankerous
Member
 
Posts: 871
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby beatpete » Sat Dec 08, 2012 6:24 pm

Oh great...
Comp1: Windows 7 64bit, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, Intel I7 970, 12 gig Patriot DDR3 ram, RME Digiface, Steinberg MR816x, Geoforce 66000 PCIe, , Cubase 7.5.20 64bit
Comp 2:Windows 7 64bit,Celeron G540,16 gb ram, VEPro.
User avatar
beatpete
Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Hick-ups in Cubase 7

Postby JohnnyMackGuitar » Sun Dec 09, 2012 3:07 am

2ghz 4 core 4 gb ram
Mr816csx & mr816x
Cc121
Runs great. Using amp rack presets

XP32 bit Works great

But with Windows 7. 32 bit spiking processor
Uses too much memory
Cracks spikes hiccups.


Mr816 just fizzled out, no sound at all. I had to reboot the PC when there seemed to be nothing going on at all. After reboot it came back.
MR816csx (connected via FW)
MR816x (connected via FW)
CC121
Win7 64
Cubase 64
Asus Intel_Socket_1155/P8Z77V_PROTHUNDERBOLT
i7 Ivy Bridge
32 GB Ram
Internal Kingston SSD 120GB (Only for OS)
JohnnyMackGuitar
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 7:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Hick-ups in Cubase 7

Postby Puma0382 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:34 am

JohnnyMackGuitar wrote:2ghz 4 core 4 gb ram
Mr816csx & mr816x
Cc121
Runs great. Using amp rack presets

XP32 bit Works great

But with Windows 7. 32 bit spiking processor
Uses too much memory
Cracks spikes hiccups.

Really...? thats interesting... interesting indeed... ;)
C7.5.30; Win 8.1 32bit; Q6600 2.4 Ghz; 4Gb RAM; NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS; MIDISPORT 2x2; Delta1010LT;
WL8.5.10; Komplete9, StylusRMX
Puma0382
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1067
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Hick-ups in Cubase 7

Postby vydrai » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:57 am

AMD FX8120, Asus M5A97 evo r2.0 motherboard, 8GB RAM, Focusrite Saffire Pro 14, Win7 Pro 64 bit, Cubase 7.0.0 (64 bit), Cubase 6.5.4 (64 bit)

I have just made a project in Cubase 7 with a few MIDI and audio tracks. In Cubase 7 on definite places (always about on the same place) come pops, scratches, craks and hicks and the performance monitor shows high pikes and overload for a short time. Before and after the average performance is about 25% or less. If I switch off all the traks and instruments (there is no sound) the pikes and overload are shown farther.

New experience: if the parts are pushed to an other place on the timeline all works fine without any craks and overload. Pushed back the issue comes back.

In Cubase 6.5.4 the same project runs smoothly without any problem.

What would be wrong?
AMD FX8120, M5A97 EVO rev 2.0, 8 GB RAM, Focusrite Saffire PRO 14, Win7 Prof. 64 bit, Cubase 7
vydrai
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Average Performance Load issue

Postby nickster » Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:37 pm

I am getting spikes (jumps) in the Average Performance Load. These occur both when a track is loaded and when I have no audio or instruments loaded in a song. The peak occurs sharply going all the way up into the red area and causes a drop out/glitching in sound on a track I'm playing. This does not occur with Cubase 6.5. What steps can I take to prevent this happening, or is this a bug that needs to be fixed?
nickster
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 12:29 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby bigbluebarry » Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:22 pm

frenzdamillaman wrote:I could record with my RME card really well, low latencies, 96 samples buffer size in C6
Now it is not that good anymore. No clicks and pops at 256..but when recording guitars I really like it when it's low as possible

Does somebody got any tips for tweaking c7 for the best results? asio guard on/off

I am on windows 7, again cubase 6 had no problems before

thanx

edit, I got 16 gb ram i5 2500 3.6 pc, I think that is pretty up to date


I'm also experiencing this issue as well. Thought I was crazy. My typical setup is to have one instance each of Superior Drummer 2, Halion Sonic SE, and Stylus RMX loaded in the VST Instrument Rack, five audio tracks each with an instance of Guitar Rig 5 and Waves Q10 EQ, two Waves TrueVerb FX tracks, one delay FX track, Slate VCC and Slate VTM as inserts on each of the VST output channels and each of the 5 audio tracks. I can record in Cubase 6.5.4 at a buffer size of 64/96/128 without any problems, clicks, pops, and no real discernible audible latency. Using that exact same template in Cubase 7, I have VERY noticeable audible audio latency when recording my guitar tracks (but none when recording MIDI) at the same buffer settings.

As much as I want to use the new version, at this point for me it's completely unusable with the amount of latency I'm experiencing. I've tried it with the ASIO Guard both on and off and it has made no difference. I also see similar issues with the performance meter that others have mentioned as well.

I'm definitely disappointed as the one feature I've never been happy with in Cubase (since switching from Pro Tools a year ago) has been the mixer, was really excited about using the MixConsole. But for now Cubase 7 is a no-go for me. I've had to switch back to using 6.5.4 until this issue can get resolved so I can get my work done.

Oh, I'm running Windows 7 with 16GB RAM on an Intel Core i7 930 @ 2.80GHz with a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 interface.

thanks,
Barry
Cubase 7.5 64-bit / 7.0.6 64-bit / 6.5.4 64-bit; Win 7 SP1 64-bit; Intel Core i7 2.80GHz; 16GB RAM; Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
bigbluebarry
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:54 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Stealth » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:46 pm

FWIW Cubase 7 seems to be performing better for me than Cubase 6.5. Its especially noticeable in larger projects with tons of plugins. The only thing is, I set my buffer really high (also I have ASIO Guard turned off BTW). I just temporarily switch on the new "ASIO Latency Compensation" button on the individual track I'm recording audio on or playing in midi. This way of working is giving me the best results.
i7 4800MQ 2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, Win7 64bit, Cubase 7.5 64bit
Stealth
Member
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby paula00prima » Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:43 am

Hi,

SAme issue here, cant set up a low latence anymore...I get a lot of drop out even if the cpu is running at 50%

Win 7, cpu i7 3930 @3.2GHz/24go ram, rme fireface400

So many bugs in that new Cubase!!!!

M.
paula00prima
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Hick-ups in Cubase 7

Postby paula00prima » Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:57 am

vydrai wrote:AMD FX8120, Asus M5A97 evo r2.0 motherboard, 8GB RAM, Focusrite Saffire Pro 14, Win7 Pro 64 bit, Cubase 7.0.0 (64 bit), Cubase 6.5.4 (64 bit)

I have just made a project in Cubase 7 with a few MIDI and audio tracks. In Cubase 7 on definite places (always about on the same place) come pops, scratches, craks and hicks and the performance monitor shows high pikes and overload for a short time. Before and after the average performance is about 25% or less. If I switch off all the traks and instruments (there is no sound) the pikes and overload are shown farther.

New experience: if the parts are pushed to an other place on the timeline all works fine without any craks and overload. Pushed back the issue comes back.

In Cubase 6.5.4 the same project runs smoothly without any problem.

What would be wrong?


Same issue here!!! No prob with C6.5
Win 7, i73930@3.20GHz, 24go ram, SC FF400.
paula00prima
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Raphie » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:44 am

Same issue here, RME HDSPe MADI
C6.x always worked @ 128
Now even 1 instance of U-HE Diva causes crackling and red peaks in the new ASIO meter @ 256...
Very dissapionted with performance, needs to be fixed
IMHO C7 feels more sluggish, less tactile overall.
Actions after clicking buttons, opening/closing mixer etc.
Everything feels like you give a "command" C7 "thinks" a few ms, like processing a checklist and then "executes" it
Feels like a latency in the GUI / commands in general.
The ASIO performance probably just suffers too.
Cubase 6.5 was realtime, felt very agile.
Also midi timing, playing outboard realtime seems not as tight as 6.5 yet
Much jitter on midi notes killing outboard groove.
http://www.analoguemastering.com
Now supporting VST Connect Pro!
User avatar
Raphie
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Tp3 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:19 am

I have an RME card too and performance seemed to drop ... I've updated the driver and ran DAWbench and things got much better.

It is expected that those issue surface with a x.0 version. I believe they will be sorted out with the following versions.
Tp3
Junior Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Raphie » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:58 am

I've got the latest driver from Nov.
http://www.analoguemastering.com
Now supporting VST Connect Pro!
User avatar
Raphie
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby dr » Mon Dec 10, 2012 10:54 am

same happened to me with RME raydat

BUT

I noticed that the steinberg power profile thing was disabled by default - so CPU (i7) wasn't in turbo mode. Renabled it and peformance was just about back to normal....slightly worse than 6.5 but still ok.

worth checking ?
dr
Junior Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Raphie » Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:32 am

Good catch! Will check that later thnx
http://www.analoguemastering.com
Now supporting VST Connect Pro!
User avatar
Raphie
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby sensorychaos » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:41 pm

Windows 7/8 ultimate 64 bit
i7 3960x -- 4.3 Ghz (oc)
Asus p9x79
16 Go Hyper-X 1866 Mhz RAM
ASUS GTX 560 DCII TOP
OCZ Agility3 240 Go SSD
Barracuda 7200.12
Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 800W
Corsair hydro series H100
------------------------------
RME Fireface UFX
RME Fireface 800
Cubase 7.0.3 (64 bit)
Live 8.4.x (beta x64) - rewired
Neve 8816 summing mixer
Genelec 1031 A --- Genelec 1092 A
Moog Subphatty
DSI Tempest
Arturia Minibrute
Novation Supernova 2
Roland JP-8000
Keith McMillen QUNEO
NI Maschine
sensorychaos
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:11 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Raphie » Mon Dec 10, 2012 12:43 pm

Doesn't work on Win8
Also if you read you see the difference is within the host (in this case cubase) not on system driver level
http://www.analoguemastering.com
Now supporting VST Connect Pro!
User avatar
Raphie
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Tp3 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:24 pm

Raphie wrote:I've got the latest driver from Nov.

OK

Well, FWIW, I get crackling even when CPU is at 25% (128 buffer).

Latest driver from RME (3.31 for HDSP 9632).

I think it's a eL driver issue cause DAWbench gives me roughly (if not exactly) the same results on Cubase 6.5.4.
Tp3
Junior Member
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Raphie » Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:30 pm

might be, same config, same project C6.54 no issues.
whatever it is it needs to be resolved
http://www.analoguemastering.com
Now supporting VST Connect Pro!
User avatar
Raphie
Member
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: performance low buffer sizes not good

Postby Conman » Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:53 pm

Raphie wrote:might be, same config, same project C6.54 no issues.
whatever it is it needs to be resolved


Easy. Contact support for both Steinberg and RME. You'll be here for weeks on the forum ruining any "workflow".
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."
Conman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2284
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest