[ISSUES] VST performance related

Everything else...

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby promotouk » Sun Apr 21, 2013 1:37 am

Sesso wrote:I am having the same issue on PC. It only does it in ONE of my projects.

It also seems that when I remove VSTs that the usage doesnt go down.

I want to know if it has to do with the preferences but I doubt it... I am about to try to export all the of tracks to wav create a new project.

UPDATE: I was able to export all the files and made a new project.. Now its all wav's so there is no VST issues... SO. its def project related somehow.


Yes it will be your pref folder for C6 as I have just had the same issue. I moved my C6 pref file to my desktop then deleted C7s pref file then restarted C7 and it picked up all the plugins from scratch and the problem has gone away C7 is working amazing for me now in fact better performance then C6
If you have done that and are still getting high meter readings then look at your plugin info if you are using plugins that are below SDK 2.3 then your going to have a bit of heavy loading on your meter as the older plugins don't run that well in the latest programming of C7
Hope this helps
promotouk
Junior Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby orchetect » Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:39 pm

Just thought I'd add that I did the trash prefs thing. Nuked the whole enchilada and started from scratch. And installed latest iLok/Syncrosoft drivers. Hasn't shown any improvement in stability like some have claimed. :?
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film, TV & Games | www.orchetect.com | imdb
DAW #1: Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 12-core 64GB RAM | DAW #2: iMac 14,2 3.5GHz 4-core 32GB RAM | OS X 10.9.3 | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | UA Apollo
User avatar
orchetect
Member
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby madsv » Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:21 pm

[quote="gianni"

After contacting the support team (they told me to disable ASIO Guard and to activate the High Performance Power scheme in the Windows Control Panel, but unfortunately everything was already in place) I tried to activate the Steinberg Audio Power Scheme in Device Setup, and the spikes are gone.

At the moment I just tried one song in Cubase 32 bit where I had spikes, but the change is evident: Power Scheme on = no spikes, Power Scheme off = a lot of real time peak meter spikes.
[quote][/quote]

Here it is the opposite - with High Performance Power scheme VST runs better than with the Steinberg Audio Power Scheme.
I tried setting SAPS scheme to the same values as the HPP scheme but performance is still better with the HPP sceme.
Hmm..
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 1.0) Socket LGA1366
Core i7 I7-920 8 MB
Kingston 6 G RAM
ATI XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB
RME Fireface 800, Windows 7/64 bit prof.
CB 7.5.20, Wavelab 8.5, Sibelius 7.5
madsv
Junior Member
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:50 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby promotouk » Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:38 pm

Ye I too experimented with those setting to get the best overall performance. Still my biggest issue was the pref file one. once I had sorted that my issues have gone and I would say the performance of C7 is amazing.
I do know some older audio cards may have issues but overall most will work fine with C7
promotouk
Junior Member
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

C7 VST unuseable performance

Postby Iancarrot » Tue Apr 23, 2013 7:18 pm

HI all, anybody else having serious performance issues with C7? just upgraded from C5 which worked flawlessly to C7.. I have installed the Ver3 upgrade, have tried setting affinity settings for processor core use, disabling ASIO guard etc ... No real difference it really is unuseable. I use a Yamaha N12 mixer with latest drivers.... Any ideas would be welcome... Thanks in advance
i7 3770. 16gb ram, 2gb Sata, FireWire system, Yamaha N12 interface/Mixer, KVR Rockets, JBL control ones, Yamaha FX770, TC Helicon voiceworks, Toontracks etc.
Windows7 enterprise 64bit
Cubase 7.5.10 64bit.
SE2200,SM58, Matched C5s..
BcRich Bich (1978 USA), Fender Tele, Fender strat, Taylor Big Baby, Yamaha 12 string, Yamaha Bass, Takamine concert.. Mandolins and crazy *flower*
Iancarrot
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: C7 VST unuseable performance

Postby Iancarrot » Tue Apr 23, 2013 8:26 pm

I have noticed that whenever I move the mouse or simply left or right click I get VST peaking causing serious audio glitches.....
i7 3770. 16gb ram, 2gb Sata, FireWire system, Yamaha N12 interface/Mixer, KVR Rockets, JBL control ones, Yamaha FX770, TC Helicon voiceworks, Toontracks etc.
Windows7 enterprise 64bit
Cubase 7.5.10 64bit.
SE2200,SM58, Matched C5s..
BcRich Bich (1978 USA), Fender Tele, Fender strat, Taylor Big Baby, Yamaha 12 string, Yamaha Bass, Takamine concert.. Mandolins and crazy *flower*
Iancarrot
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: C7 VST unuseable performance

Postby Peacey » Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:47 am

Hi Iancarrot,

I am too in the same situation!

Upgraded from 5 to 7 (7.0.3) and it becomes unstable unusable and i get VST peak issues from one Instrument.... I think that Steinberg do know about this issue but they are focussing on MAC users first....

have a look here: http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=175&t=34772&start=125

I have gone back to 5 now... very angry about this.... :x
Cheers,

Peacey

=========================
PC: Windows 7 32 Bit
E8400 @ 3.0GHZ Dual Core
4GB RAM
Cubase 7.03
Novation Nio 2|4
Novation Remote SL 25 MkI
Oxygen61 Gen3
KRK RockIT 6 SE Monitors
=========================
Peacey
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:38 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: C7 VST unuseable performance

Postby Outsounder » Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:49 pm

There been quite a few issues with C7 reported but overall stability has been excellent
Main-Intel i7/Asus mobo/Gforce GPU/16gig ram. Secondary-Intel Q9950/Asus mobo/Radeon GPU/8gig ram. Win 764bit, Cubase 6.5 & 7.5, Studio One 2 Pro, ACID, Ableton Live, Sonic Core Scope DSP Audio System, Roland VMC 7200-48 Channel Digital Mixing System & Focal Monitors. Software includes NI Komplete 8, East West Play Libraries, Heavyocity Libraries, Sample Logic Libraries Best Service Libraries, Sonokinetic Libraries, 8Dio Libraries,Project Sam Libaries, Sound Iron Libraries,Melodyne Pro, Uberschall Elastic & Liquid Libraries.
User avatar
Outsounder
Member
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:36 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby Jey » Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:53 pm

If it helps:

I just tried opening the same project in Cubase 6.5 and had exactly the same problem: Basically no levels, everything lags like hell and it takes ages to shut Cubase down.
ASIO guard is switched off and because I don't have an external soundcard (yea, i know -.-) I set the buffer rate to 1024.
None of this actually seemed to make a difference to the problem...

I just don't see why an external soundcard should get rid of the problem since Ableton and Logic run just fine even if the projects have more than 10 or 20 channels in them.

I would appreciate it if someone could help me solve this problem!

Regards,

Jeremy
Macbook OSX 10.7.5
Jey
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:29 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: C7 VST unuseable performance

Postby Iancarrot » Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:20 am

I received a support email back suggesting I upgrade to Win7 64bit and C7 64bit.... so I spent a full day doing just that and simply have exactly the same problem on a 64bit platform.... run a small project sounds ok, move the mouse and the VST peak meter goes straight into the red and audio glitching makes it unuseable.... Now looking at having to upgrade to an i7 3007 machine..... The minimum spec on the C7 documentation needs to be uprated because there is no way C7 will even run on a Core2 Quad with 4GB ram, which is a far greater spec than they list as a minimum......
i7 3770. 16gb ram, 2gb Sata, FireWire system, Yamaha N12 interface/Mixer, KVR Rockets, JBL control ones, Yamaha FX770, TC Helicon voiceworks, Toontracks etc.
Windows7 enterprise 64bit
Cubase 7.5.10 64bit.
SE2200,SM58, Matched C5s..
BcRich Bich (1978 USA), Fender Tele, Fender strat, Taylor Big Baby, Yamaha 12 string, Yamaha Bass, Takamine concert.. Mandolins and crazy *flower*
Iancarrot
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby Roblor » Wed May 08, 2013 8:44 pm

Hi

I have the same issue with cubase 7.03, vst peak randomly and freeze the Mac.
the problem recurs often and makes the program unusable.
I have reinstalled the OS and cubase, I have unchecked the asio guard, but the problem remains.
I am waiting for a new upgrade(7.04) after that if the problem remains, I will ask for the repayment at Steinberg.
I do not want to pay for a program that does not work

I use a MacBook intel core 2 duo 2,4 Ghz 4GB Ram SSD 256GB
I tried to install cubase 7 on a pc with windows 7 (i5) and I have the same problems

regards
Roblor
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:04 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby steve355 » Tue May 28, 2013 11:00 pm

I'm having a disastrous time with C7.04 / W7 Q6600 8Gb RAM, FF800 @ 128.

High ASIO meter with just 1 Kontakt instrument loaded, Glitches, Spikes, no chance of me getting any serious recording done. Very unhappy.

6.5 was excellent!

Spending precious time fiddling with settings rather than playing music.

Steve
steve355
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 10:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby xphen0m » Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:50 pm

I, too, a new Cubase user, have noticed a high VST performance load in the program.

And I'm a relatively new i7 processor, and a new computer.

W8, i7 3770, 14 GB DDR3 RAM

I notice the high load with both my UCA202 (from Behringer) and on board sound card.

However, through all of this, my CPU usage is very low according to Task Manager.
xphen0m
New Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 2:19 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby maara » Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:19 pm

I bought a new computer running 64bit W8 so I installed 64bit version of cubase.
Its a i7 4770k processor with 16GB ram so WHY THE HELL IS THIS NEARLY 1000eur SOFTWARE RUNNING LIKE A PIECE OF SH*T??
I add few vst's to the project and I am experiencing "real-time peaks" and audio glitches even the overall system cpu usage is not higher than 15%... I simply can't get constant audio without any disruptions.
What the hell is wrong with C7 and why it doesn't work ask expected???? :evil:
maara
New Member
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:22 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby ARNK » Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:24 am

One thing that might help, not sure if it's been mentioned yet..

Have you all tried praying to Jesus?

Chances are, you're more likely to find resolution there than here on this forum.

Good luck to you all.
ARNK
New Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby ARNK » Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:31 am

Also, realize that only the chosen ones have no problem. They were born to write music and music they're writing. Don't be bitter. They might be using a copy of Windows and hardware combination that was expertly hand-crafted with cinnamon and sugar..
ARNK
New Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby ARNK » Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:32 am

Regards,

Judas
ARNK
New Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby Iancarrot » Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:53 pm

It really is bad... almost unusable.... To be honest I wish they would spend less time adding features and just make the basic program work.... The spec of my dedicated recording PC is pretty good and I should be spending time recording music not fixing the system.... Its a joke, If this software was free I would think "Ok ill put up with its limitations"... but its not and we have all paid a lot of money to be able to use it.....
i7 3770. 16gb ram, 2gb Sata, FireWire system, Yamaha N12 interface/Mixer, KVR Rockets, JBL control ones, Yamaha FX770, TC Helicon voiceworks, Toontracks etc.
Windows7 enterprise 64bit
Cubase 7.5.10 64bit.
SE2200,SM58, Matched C5s..
BcRich Bich (1978 USA), Fender Tele, Fender strat, Taylor Big Baby, Yamaha 12 string, Yamaha Bass, Takamine concert.. Mandolins and crazy *flower*
Iancarrot
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby wcb123 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:52 pm

I was mixing an hour ago in my usual template, VST Performance was its usual higher than normal self but managable.

Then i decided to route all my kicks and snares to two additional seperate kick and snare groups, and then route those groups back into the main drum group (where the original kicks and snares were initially routed to)


This change alone in ROUTING increased vst performace and crackling started to occur.


Since making that slight routing change my VST Performance in my template is permantly higher. WTF
Windows x64 Pro
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Intel i7 980 @3.33GHz (12 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory - 48Gb
______________

Cubase 7
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Focusrite Saffire Pro24
Casio Privia 330
Quested s8r
wcb123
Junior Member
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:40 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: [ISSUES] VST performance related

Postby Iancarrot » Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:19 pm

It really is crazy... STEINBERG !!!Stop developing new features and go out and buy a few different makes of PC... install your stuff on them and test it.... Use a Yamaha N12.... use a few different interfaces then try and record some music.... I wish you luck because I can record hardly anything without ASIO spikes on an i7 with 16GB or RAM.....
i7 3770. 16gb ram, 2gb Sata, FireWire system, Yamaha N12 interface/Mixer, KVR Rockets, JBL control ones, Yamaha FX770, TC Helicon voiceworks, Toontracks etc.
Windows7 enterprise 64bit
Cubase 7.5.10 64bit.
SE2200,SM58, Matched C5s..
BcRich Bich (1978 USA), Fender Tele, Fender strat, Taylor Big Baby, Yamaha 12 string, Yamaha Bass, Takamine concert.. Mandolins and crazy *flower*
Iancarrot
New Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 1:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Previous

Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests