Logic Pro X is out.

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby G-string » Sun Aug 04, 2013 5:56 pm

Patanjali wrote:Touch is the only way to simply have configurable interfaces that are immediate (don't need a mouse, which would be very inconvenient in the studio). Control surfaces are just so restrictive, and so tedious to setup for anything except blocks of channels.

I think your going to cause a riot with these ridiculous comments . :roll: :roll: .
If you want perfect integration with touch screen and DAW I really hope logic implement it fully so you can move over to that platform and leave Cubase how it should be ...Hardware controlling .
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 843 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby ThePresent » Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:13 pm

Jeff Hayat wrote:
Blackout wrote:look at the difference in price tho....Cubase is waaayyy too expensive. they need to get with the program.


If you factor in the dongles, Cubase is WAY cheaper.

Cubase7 + dongle = $624.98

LogicX + dongle = $2,799.99

:lol: :lol:

:lol: :lol:
ThePresent
----------------
i5 750 - Windows 7 64 Bit - Cubase 6.5.5 32 bit - Arturia Minimoog V - M-Audio Fasttrack Pro - Emu XBoard 61
ThePresent
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:35 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby orchetect » Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:58 pm

Blackout wrote:look at the difference in price tho....Cubase is waaayyy too expensive. they need to get with the program.

Keep in mind a factor with this is that Cubase is developed and supported on 2 platforms (not just Mac like Logic). There is a cost associated with maintaining both platforms.

Jeff Hayat wrote:Cubase7 + dongle = $624.98

LogicX + dongle = $2,799.99

The hackintosh community would argue against this assertion. :D
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film, TV & Games | www.orchetect.com | imdb
DAW #1: Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 12-core 64GB RAM | DAW #2: iMac 14,2 3.5GHz 4-core 32GB RAM | OS X 10.9.3 | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | UA Apollo
User avatar
orchetect
Member
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby curteye » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:52 am

foolomon wrote:
JMCecil wrote:...then by that "logic" everyone needs to catch up with the times and buy Reaper.


:lol: End of thread.


Scoring notation features world class?
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mac Pro w/3 4k monitors.
On-line in Jan 2015

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4856
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 169 times

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby jweisbin » Sat May 24, 2014 4:59 pm

krem wrote:To use Logic X you need to have purchased an expensive Mac fairly recently(only works with 10.8.4). And that`s just to open it, say nothing of using it for large projects.
Last time I checked Steinberg didn`t make or sell computers.


Logic X performs fine on Mac Pro's from 2009 on. The reason for that is that Apple did not refresh their Mac Pro lineup significantly for about 5 years.

I'm sick of hearing about how much better Cubase/Nuendo are on Windows. Even if it performs better, I would not want to deal with the constant stream of Windows updates, the absolute necessity to maintain anti-virus, anti-spyware, and anti-malware software, and the hideous Windows 8.x interface. All of which I, unfortunately, have a lot of experience with, because it's part of my job to keep my Windows users running - none of whom are musicians BTW. All of the many composers I work with use Macs.

I love Nuendo. It is stable and powerful - on my Mac Pro. However, it is 6 times as expensive as Logic X, and doesn't include as much additional content. And it is 3 times as expensive as Cubase. Does Nuendo really offer 3 times more features than Cubase? Steinberg should combine them into one product, IMAO.

The price is not an issue for pro's making a living at music - they will buy what they want and need, and can justify the expense. But there's no doubt that this price competition will reshape the market. In a good or bad way? I don't know.
Jim Weisbin
C.T.O. Human LLC
www.humanworldwide.com
Mac Pro, UA Apollo, Adam P11A monitors
Neve, Chandler EMI, Audient Pre's
jweisbin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:04 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby Puma0382 » Sun May 25, 2014 10:49 am

@jweisbin
I'd suggest these days, the necessity to maintain anti-virus/spyware/malware is a requisite everyone should be vigilant of, no matter what OS you are running - either via 3rd party auto-update tools (Norton etc) or through the OS tools (Microsoft or Apple's own). And lets be fair, there have been many reports of 'hacks' and virus attacks targeted at the MAC platform too.

If its a network you are running in a professional environment, then any such malware shouldn't IMHO be getting anywhere near the workstations in the first place. Keeping server-side rules in place/up to date is key (with a 'restricted access' policy to employees/students - less headache for the Net Admin ;-)).

As to the Win 8.1 interface, you may or may not be aware you can quickly switch in to a 'classic' (more familiar..?) Windows GUI experience with the new OS, should you wish.

Just a few thoughts.

Cheers,
Bob
C7.5.30; Win 8.1 32bit; Q6600 2.4 Ghz; 4Gb RAM; NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS; MIDISPORT 2x2; Delta1010LT;
WL8.5.10; Komplete9, StylusRMX
Puma0382
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby Elektrobolt » Mon May 26, 2014 3:18 am

mozizo wrote:and is the dark grey is the new fashion for DAWs ?!!

It's the in thing on portable devices for energy savings. There may be some relation to that?
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1384
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby Patanjali » Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:13 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:What is the program SB should get with exactly? Match the price of the lowest price competitor? The other DAWs that include midi, score and audio editors, DP and Pro Tools, don't cost $200 to buy, as far as I know.

Cubase covers a lot of functionality, as shown by its winning the highest functionality score in Digital Music Doctor's DAW shootout several years in a row.

That Cubase covered so much was why we went for it 12 years ago. We were just starting and didn't want to have to jump DAW ship if we started needing functions we hadn't bought from the very start.

So far, we haven't used all facilities, but who knows what the future holds!
Patanjali
Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : SSDx4+2 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & Samsung 55" 4K.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+uKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.20 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath/SO PP/Pianos/Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby Patanjali » Wed Jun 11, 2014 5:32 pm

G-string wrote:leave Cubase how it should be ...Hardware controlling .

If Cubase was meant to be 'hardware controlling', it would have been made to mandate it.

Oh, and touch devices ARE hardware!


I did not say 'perfect'. I said 'simply', which are two quite different levels of applicability.
Patanjali
Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : SSDx4+2 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & Samsung 55" 4K.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+uKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.20 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath/SO PP/Pianos/Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Logic Pro X is out.

Postby Patanjali » Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:28 pm

orchetect wrote:The hackintosh community would argue against this assertion.

It is a violation of the licence to run Apple OSs and Apple OSX apps on anything but Apple hardware. Therefore the relative costs argument is relevant for those who want to operate according to the licenses purchased.

Of course, the argument is actually flawed, because Cubase does have a secondary dongle: the computer that you have to buy to run it on, just like you have to have a Mac for Logic. And for those who already have their respective computers, then Cubase is the more expensive option.


In the end, it comes down to what you want to get your head around and how much you want to pay vs how much time you want to put into it. Those three things make the issue of raw costs seem almost trivially simple.

It does not matter whether you are using your stuff professionally or as a hobbyist (and people do spend fortunes and lots of time on their hobbies), use what you can understand easily enough and that works for you effectively. It does not matter if someone else can do what you do with your stuff more cheaply with theirs, because you can work well with yours, and not theirs.


However, if one prefers Cubase to Logic, then is there really a choice, no matter the price difference (as long as it is not $Ks)? To me, something cheaper or free that I don't really want to use is not a choice.


I think some are trying to use Logic's price to try to leverage SB into lowering their prices. Don't bother, SB has been dropping the price of Cubase over the years as a normal part of increasing competition and economies of scale, but it will never be free (at least not for the flagship version) as it must make money in its own right.
Patanjali
Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : SSDx4+2 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & Samsung 55" 4K.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+uKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.20 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath/SO PP/Pianos/Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Previous

Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest