Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby Jeff Hayat » Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:27 am

Cant connect to it, whereas I could just a month ago (give or take). Any chance you guys can leave that up? There is a ton of good info there...
Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby Scab Pickens » Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:39 am

There was a topic discussing this before the forum shutdown/transformation. It seems to have disappeared.

The way it sounded, it is gone for good.

No explanation, either ... :|

Some kind of "heads up" would have been nice, for sure.
Main: Win 7 64 | Cubase 7.5.20 64 | WaveLab Elements 8.0.3 64 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40
Mobile: Win 7 64 | Cubase Elements 7.0.7 64 | Core2Duo 2.4 8GB | Tascam US-144MKII
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1390
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Davenport, IA USA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:04 pm

it is totally gone..... all your base be long to no one
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby twilightsong » Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:15 pm

I seem to recall someone had downloaded the entire forum... not sure what format this would have taken. Let me try and recall --
"There is no avant-garde; only some people a bit behind." -- Edgar Varese
-----------------------------------------------------------
Cubase 5.5.2/ Win 7 64-bit/ Quad 9550/ UAD-2/ Wavelab 4/ more sample libraries than I can remember
twilightsong
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1765
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby SteveInChicago » Mon Sep 16, 2013 11:16 pm

twilightsong wrote:I seem to recall someone had downloaded the entire forum... not sure what format this would have taken. Let me try and recall --
please do!
i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 16gb: Mac 10.8.5,
Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 8gb: Mac 10.9,
Cubase 7.5.10, Nektar P6 controller
User avatar
SteveInChicago
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3986
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 181 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby NorthWood MediaWorks » Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:42 am

Try the wayback machine.... google it.
Robin
Join Us At The Forest

| Cubase 7.5.1 | Wavelab 8.0.3e | HSO | Padshop Pro | Win7 64 |
User avatar
NorthWood MediaWorks
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby SteveInChicago » Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:56 am

NorthWood MediaWorks wrote:Try the wayback machine.... google it.
Bits and pieces of the forum are archived there: web.archive.org

Problem is the method isn't meant for sites where the content changes frequently.
i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 16gb: Mac 10.8.5,
Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 8gb: Mac 10.9,
Cubase 7.5.10, Nektar P6 controller
User avatar
SteveInChicago
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3986
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 48 times
Been thanked: 181 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby twilightsong » Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:29 am

Okay, I am positive someone archived the old forum, not longer after it was closed. I think I know who it was; let me try to contact them

What's interesting is that if one googles using the

site: cubase.net [insert topic here]

method to search for old forum posts, it generates results, but when you click on any of them, it re-directs to this forum
"There is no avant-garde; only some people a bit behind." -- Edgar Varese
-----------------------------------------------------------
Cubase 5.5.2/ Win 7 64-bit/ Quad 9550/ UAD-2/ Wavelab 4/ more sample libraries than I can remember
twilightsong
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1765
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby twilightsong » Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:12 pm

Gentlemen, I was mistaken. The person who I thought had archived the old forum had actually only archived the infamous "The String Theory -- Heard of It?" thread. I apologize for the mistake
"There is no avant-garde; only some people a bit behind." -- Edgar Varese
-----------------------------------------------------------
Cubase 5.5.2/ Win 7 64-bit/ Quad 9550/ UAD-2/ Wavelab 4/ more sample libraries than I can remember
twilightsong
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1765
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby curteye » Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:05 pm

Wish I had thought of that for Weasel's 'Cornfield' thread. :(
Took me an entire weekend to read thru it.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4347
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby NorthWood MediaWorks » Sun Sep 22, 2013 3:45 am

Well, if you want a long read, and some entertainment,

http://recording.org/hybrid-recording-f ... setup.html

:roll:
User avatar
NorthWood MediaWorks
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby Jeff Hayat » Sun Sep 22, 2013 4:07 am

NorthWood MediaWorks wrote:Well, if you want a long read, and some entertainment,
http://recording.org/hybrid-recording-f ... setup.html



If it's an open, clean sound, then the compression is more understandable...

Compress a clean sound? Uhh.... sorry to break it to you but for the most part you're almost completely defeating the purpose of using compression doing that.

Lightly compressing a clean guitar to even out the peaks and tighten up the dynamics is pretty common. Ask around on this one. Maybe you need to reexamine the "purpose of compression".

Compression doesn't "tighten up dynamics" imbecile, it clips the peaks, period.

-------------

...and I could easily give back any minimal dynamics lost compressing with a bit more eq on my mixer

You're going to do what with what?

I do what needs to be done, not what YOU *think*. Don't mistake it and get your ego all in a knot again, its not about what you want, its about what I want.

I'm sure you had a great time learning to be an 'engineer' from the back of Guitar One magazine, but it's pretty apparent you don't even know what the words you use mean, let alone have a clue about how things work. Enjoy your time here, I'm done with you.

ROFL!!!!!
Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby alexis » Sun Sep 22, 2013 2:22 pm

NorthWood MediaWorks wrote:Well, if you want a long read, and some entertainment,
http://recording.org/hybrid-recording-f ... setup.html



...
...and I could easily give back any minimal dynamics lost compressing with a bit more eq on my mixer





That's an interesting one, to be honest! Maybe the boy is a genius. As compression can also have the side effect of changing the tone of the processed signal ... he may be working on a restoration plug in to send to Cedar that uses "Smart EQ* " for the effect of "ReverseComp * " (to "undo" compression)!

*Sorry boys, I've just already copyrighted these!

PS - I've just been reading about this concept called, "String Theory". Anyone know anything about this, I wonder if it has musical applications?
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 6.5.0, XP SP2 32-bit, Seagate Barracuda 80/160/160GB; Intel 550 Pentium 4 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, HT+; Intel D915PBL mobo; Dual Radeon ATI X300SE 128MB video; Delta 66 in Omni I/O Studio; Motif8; UAD-1, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K, Melodyne Cre8 3.2; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2089
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby NorthWood MediaWorks » Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:20 pm

^^^^ JP Genius - hmmmm... not what most were thinking :lol:
Robin
Join Us At The Forest

| Cubase 7.5.1 | Wavelab 8.0.3e | HSO | Padshop Pro | Win7 64 |
User avatar
NorthWood MediaWorks
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby alexis » Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:26 pm

It's the ones that we least expect that always surprise us. He might just be thinking in some parallel way none of us can follow. Like Einstein failed math, per multiple verified urban legend urls.

It might not be as *Ludacris* as it sounds!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 6.5.0, XP SP2 32-bit, Seagate Barracuda 80/160/160GB; Intel 550 Pentium 4 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, HT+; Intel D915PBL mobo; Dual Radeon ATI X300SE 128MB video; Delta 66 in Omni I/O Studio; Motif8; UAD-1, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K, Melodyne Cre8 3.2; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2089
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby curteye » Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:44 pm

alexis wrote:Anyone know anything about this,


Yes,
At a fundamental level everything is vibrating strings of energy.
Reality is music. [R=M]
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4347
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby Oedipus Driftpunch » Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:04 am

Einstein stole all his ideas from the patent office. JP22 at least was original in his thinking
User avatar
Oedipus Driftpunch
Junior Member
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:21 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby twilightsong » Tue Sep 24, 2013 7:48 am

Jeff Hayat wrote:...and I could easily give back any minimal dynamics lost compressing with a bit more eq on my mixer



I know this guy jp22 is not the brightest bulb, but... you DO realize that EQ affects volume, right?
"There is no avant-garde; only some people a bit behind." -- Edgar Varese
-----------------------------------------------------------
Cubase 5.5.2/ Win 7 64-bit/ Quad 9550/ UAD-2/ Wavelab 4/ more sample libraries than I can remember
twilightsong
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1765
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby matjones » Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:50 pm

NorthWood MediaWorks wrote:Well, if you want a long read, and some entertainment,

http://recording.org/hybrid-recording-f ... setup.html

:roll:



I remember reading the whole thing one morning a while back.......... it's HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)
Cubase 6.5/7/7.5 Asus P6TSE, i7 920 @ 2.67GHz, 18GB Corsair 1600 RAM, ATI HD4890, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, Duende NE, UAD2 Solo/Quad, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM, Waves Gold 9, HALion 4, The Grand 3 SE, BFD2 (+ Expansions), WL8 elements, Melodyne Editor 2, MOTU Midiexpress 128 , Various toys, Neumann, AKG, SE Mics, Adam A7X, Aventone Monoblock monitors, AKG K702, Warwick, Spector, and Peavey Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.
User avatar
matjones
Member
 
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby alexis » Tue Sep 24, 2013 1:24 pm

twilightsong wrote:
Jeff Hayat wrote:...and I could easily give back any minimal dynamics lost compressing with a bit more eq on my mixer



I know this guy jp22 is not the brightest bulb, but... you DO realize that EQ affects volume, right?


And vice versa, compression affects eq/tone, that was my point above.
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 6.5.0, XP SP2 32-bit, Seagate Barracuda 80/160/160GB; Intel 550 Pentium 4 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, HT+; Intel D915PBL mobo; Dual Radeon ATI X300SE 128MB video; Delta 66 in Omni I/O Studio; Motif8; UAD-1, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K, Melodyne Cre8 3.2; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2089
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby Jeff Hayat » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:24 pm

twilightsong wrote:
Jeff Hayat wrote:...and I could easily give back any minimal dynamics lost compressing with a bit more eq on my mixer



I know this guy jp22 is not the brightest bulb, but... you DO realize that EQ affects volume, right?


EQ affects level, sure. But overall level - not dynamics.
Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby JMCecil » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:38 pm

pffft .. everyone knows compression just increases density. It lets you fit more guitar into a smaller space.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3717
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby JMCecil » Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:01 pm

by the way, I hate you for linking that thread... f'n hilarious. Just what I needed was another time sink
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3717
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby Jeff Hayat » Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:02 pm

JMCecil wrote:pffft .. everyone knows compression just increases density. It lets you fit more guitar into a smaller space.


more guitar --- GOOD!!!!!

JMCecil wrote:by the way, I hate you for linking that thread... f'n hilarious. Just what I needed was another time sink


:lol:
Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Is the old (blue) Cubase.net down for good?

Postby JMCecil » Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:05 pm

I loved this advice

"Think about how you would do it, then do the opposite"

that pretty much sums it up.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3717
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Next

Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests