How many midi channels on one midi 5-pin cable is reliable?

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

Re: How many midi channels on one midi 5-pin cable is reliab

Postby andyoc » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am

@ Steve

Have a look at the VSL [Vienna Symphony Librayr] Ensemble Pro 5.

It acts as a host for AU/VST/VST3/AAX Native/RTAS instruments....The software connects your main DAW to plug-ins running on your slave computer. All Midi and Audio are done via ethernet. You can use 32bit and 64bit plugs.
VST3 supports up to 48 midi ports [ie 48 * 16 channels!!], and 768 audio ports!! Comes with Epic Orchestra - 9Gig orchestra sample library.

http://www.viennaensemblepro.com

Cheers
PC1 i7 4790k/32G/RME MADI & Raydat
PC2 i7 940/9G/RME 9652/VSL Symph
PC3 i5 2600k/MOTU 2408Mk3/VSL Symph

Cubase 7.5.20/ Nuendo 6.5.20/Wavelab 8.0.1
VSL Ensemble PRO 5.3.13240
Sup Drum 2/VG Gtr2/Omnisphere/Trillian/Stylus RMX
Hardware synths / SSL Alpha Link MADI AX
Komplete Ultimate 9/EZ Keys
Mackie MCU / NI Maschine
andyoc
Junior Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How many midi channels on one midi 5-pin cable is reliab

Postby knuckle47 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:04 pm

Here's something I was thinking, if MIDI were to be replaced with a new pending technology, is there something out there that could forcibly replace it currently?
PC Win 7 64bit | VST Instrument Collection | i7 3930 | 32gb Corsair ram : MOTU 896 HD FireWire, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256gb Win 7 OS | 2nd Crucial 64gb with Cubase 7.5.2| WD 2 TB Caviar Black | 500gb project drive | Cubasis and iPad 4th 64gb. Guitarist not really a keyboard player, but tryin' like hell
User avatar
knuckle47
Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:24 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: How many midi channels on one midi 5-pin cable is reliab

Postby Strophoid » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:20 pm

I think it would need backward compatibility. There is so much excellent 'old' gear you wouldn't want to throw that out.
I believe copperlan doesn't actually solve the problem because it still relies on MIDI connections.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3893
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Re: How many midi channels on one midi 5-pin cable is reliab

Postby JMCecil » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:30 pm

An updated midi spec has been in the works for years. I think it's called midi hd or hd midi now.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3817
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 166 times

Re: How many midi channels on one midi 5-pin cable is reliab

Postby Dipmcus » Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:42 am

knuckle47 wrote:Here's something I was thinking, if MIDI were to be replaced with a new pending technology, is there something out there that could forcibly replace it currently?


Actually, that technology has existed for some time: it's called an SSD and recording those MIDI tracks instead of thinking you have to keep changing them. Trust your instincts.

Commit! Take a stand!

;)

p.s. just sayin'
Stuff, lots of it.
Dipmcus
New Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 3:50 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Previous

Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests