Need some help restoring Windows audio

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

Need some help restoring Windows audio

Postby Mr M » Thu Sep 26, 2013 6:43 pm

As oft mentioned, I've relocated studio space and just moved all equipment. I installed the newest Cubase and got back up and running,Cubase works fine. However I can't get any audio to stream as before. I'st noticed last night when checked out the embedded tutorial links in the new Cubase. Also found WinAmp not to play and reinstalling doesn't work. My EMU 1820m works fine for Cubase but can't play mp3s off my hard drive with Windows Media Player

Sound familiar to anyone? Any ideas?
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths
Mr M
Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Need some help restoring Windows audio

Postby Bane » Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:06 pm

Hey Mr M,

Have you confirmed that Windows is reading your EMU as your default device for common applications? (Found in the Audio section of your control panel).

If you are talking about this happening while Cubase is running, be sure that the "Release Driver when Application is in Background" is checked in Device Setup.

I know you are very experienced, so I fear it must be more complicated than this...
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud
User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Need some help restoring Windows audio

Postby kzarider » Thu Sep 26, 2013 10:18 pm

Still win7 operating system?
go to:
Control Panel>Hardware Sound>Manage Audio Devices> Select Playback- View to see audio device is enabled and Windows audio device (exp realtek) is disabled - also confirm that main outputs are selected to correct port on audio card (exp main out 1-2 not optical etc)
Hope this helps
Kenny
PC i7-4770K Asus Z87 Expert Win8 64bit -24gb ram; Power Notebooks Sandy Bridge 2820k 12gb; Cubase 7.5.2, Wavelab 8.5, Presonus 2, Access Virus TI2, Vienna Instruments Cube-MIR-Pro 5, Imperial Grand, EastWest PlayComposer, UAD Quad, Hammond B3-VK3c-Sk2, Rhodes, Clav & Wurly, Waldorf, NI Komplete 8, Pearl E-Drums, Omnisphere, Trillian, RMX, Superior Drums, BFD, etc... Motu 828x, 8pre, Track 16, and MR816CSX
http://zkeysmusic.com/
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=zkeysmusic
User avatar
kzarider
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Need some help restoring Windows audio

Postby Mr M » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:49 am

Thanks to both of you, I found the problem by taking a fresh step by step based on Banes post. Sound card had rest itself to 48k. Now everything works as expected

Banes using Win 8 are you also KZarider? Any advantages; I just got Win 7 installed last fall.
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths
Mr M
Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Need some help restoring Windows audio

Postby firestamper » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:57 am

Right click on your default playback system in the toolbar.
Choose sounds,
choose playback tab,
highlight speakers ,
click on properties.
Choose advanced tab
Now you should be able to choose sample and bit rate and match it with cubase
User avatar
firestamper
Member
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Need some help restoring Windows audio

Postby Bane » Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:35 am

firestamper wrote:Right click on your default playback system in the toolbar.
Choose sounds,
choose playback tab,
highlight speakers ,
click on properties.
Choose advanced tab
Now you should be able to choose sample and bit rate and match it with cubase


Good shortcut! I'll be caught using that.

I heard that Windows 8 supposedly has better performance, but if you are on a normal laptop or desktop instead of a touchscreen device, I wouldn't be in any hurry to upgrade. Based on workflow/user interface I would rather have Windows 7. This metro start screen is an unnecessary middleman between me and my desktop.
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud
User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Need some help restoring Windows audio

Postby kzarider » Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:25 am

I have windows 8 on one computer (I just built it) and do really like it. I can't really say it has advantages over 7 but seems to have a smaller system footprint. I actually have it setup to boot to desktop and also use the start menu just like win7, I know a lot of people complain about it but after a few days of working with it and setting it up for audio I do like it.
If you do install I'd do a clean install not an upgrade :)
PC i7-4770K Asus Z87 Expert Win8 64bit -24gb ram; Power Notebooks Sandy Bridge 2820k 12gb; Cubase 7.5.2, Wavelab 8.5, Presonus 2, Access Virus TI2, Vienna Instruments Cube-MIR-Pro 5, Imperial Grand, EastWest PlayComposer, UAD Quad, Hammond B3-VK3c-Sk2, Rhodes, Clav & Wurly, Waldorf, NI Komplete 8, Pearl E-Drums, Omnisphere, Trillian, RMX, Superior Drums, BFD, etc... Motu 828x, 8pre, Track 16, and MR816CSX
http://zkeysmusic.com/
https://soundcloud.com/search?q=zkeysmusic
User avatar
kzarider
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 25 times


Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests