CPU/ASIO/VSTI Performance (Cubase 7.06+7.5 vs Studio1+))

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

CPU/ASIO/VSTI Performance (Cubase 7.06+7.5 vs Studio1+))

Postby bugishcompany » Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:29 pm

Hello!

Ever since version 7 was released it felt like the performance had become worse and with 7.5 it really started to upset me, so now I have done some testing over the weekend.

The test is simple:
One project, identical settings and ofcourse identical song.
The conversion was done manually, every setting copied by hand.
Inserts, fx chains, buses and ASIO settings are identical aswell.

Project settings:

* 1 Battery 4 with 5 outputs active
* 1 NI Massive
* 1 Tone2 Gladiator
* 1 FXpansion Amber
* 1 Albino 3
* Fabfilter EQ on every track
* 3+4 NI Solid Compressor
* 3 SIR2
* 1+2 JB Smash Pro
* 1 Cableguys Filtershaper
* 2 Sidechains with Fabfilter comp

* ASIO buffer set @ 2048 to allow for maximum processing time for both apps.
* Computer specs: Win7, 12gb RAM, 3.8ghz quad core, MAUDIO

Both screenshots were taken during playback with _only one_ app loaded to ensure maximum performance.

C7
c7.jpg
(509.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet


S1
S1.jpg
(402.97 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Results:
C7: Permanent 80% load, constantly spiking into red.
S1: Stable load at 30%, no spiking whatsoever.Could barely get it to max even after 10 L360's.

Whether this test can be called conclusive or not, I recommend everyone to do a similar test.
Ableton/Logic users would be very much appreciated :)
bugishcompany
New Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:08 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: CPU/ASIO/VSTI Performance (Cubase 7.06+7.5 vs Studio1+))

Postby Buchanan » Thu Dec 12, 2013 12:32 am

Can we have the EXACT spec of your computer so we can all buy one to do the test with ? It's awful isn't it? Doesn't work for anyone does it?

Every time I get an upgrade I get this. Always on top of a deadline too. And with clients looking over my shoulder laughing at me for buying Cubase. I can never hold my head up in Hollywood again...
Everyone wants perfect software. But nobody's perfect.
Buchanan
Member
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:15 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: CPU/ASIO/VSTI Performance (Cubase 7.06+7.5 vs Studio1+))

Postby wcb123 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:24 pm

omg this is the problem im having
Windows x64 Pro
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Intel i7 980 @3.33GHz (12 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory - 48Gb
______________

Cubase 7
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Focusrite Saffire Pro24
Casio Privia 330
Quested s8r
wcb123
Junior Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:40 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: CPU/ASIO/VSTI Performance (Cubase 7.06+7.5 vs Studio1+))

Postby Strophoid » Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:21 pm

Can you check if it's a specific plugin that causes the high load in Cubase?
Software: Steinberg Cubase Artist 6.5.5 64-bit.
Hardware: HP elitebook 8530b with W7 Home 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.
Analog: Alesis M1 - Behringer Powerplay Pro-XL - Studio Projects C3 - AKG K612Pro
Instruments: Yamaha DTX750k - Yamaha MO-6 - Waldorf Blofeld - Korg Wavedrum WDX.
3rd party plugins: Native Instruments Prism - Rob Papen Distort - Rob Papen Delay

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.
User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3944
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: CPU/ASIO/VSTI Performance (Cubase 7.06+7.5 vs Studio1+))

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:38 pm

Buchanan wrote:Every time I get an upgrade I get this. Always on top of a deadline too. And with clients looking over my shoulder laughing at me for buying Cubase. I can never hold my head up in Hollywood again...


:lol: a fricking laugh riot!
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1620
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: CPU/ASIO/VSTI Performance (Cubase 7.06+7.5 vs Studio1+))

Postby mozizo » Sun Jan 19, 2014 12:27 am

Asio meter is different from DSP meter.
if u open task manager when cubase running you probably gonna see less cpu meter level then the Asio meter level in cubase..
but maybe S1 is running more efficiently on your system or in general.. i really dont know !
cubase 7.5.30 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1264
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 71 times


Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests