Yamaha buys Line 6

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby MrSoundman » Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:58 pm

Line 6 to be Acquired by Yamaha Corporation
I wonder what this might bring to Cubase?
Cubase 7.5.30 x64 | WaveLab 8.5.10 x64 | HALion 5.0.1 x64 | HSO 1.5 x64 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | Windows 7 x64
User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby curteye » Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:10 am

MrSoundman wrote:Line 6 to be Acquired by Yamaha Corporation
I wonder what this might bring to Cubase?


I use several Line 6 products and these folks are very good at raunch guitar
modeling.

As a guitarist I find that L6 stuff does not 'feel' as good as IK stuff
but their stuff does 'sound' just as good/real/authentic as the real thang.

Could be a nice addition to the 'VST Rack'.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mac Pro w/3 4k monitors.
On-line in Jan 2015

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5026
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 183 times

Re: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby MrSoundman » Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:19 am

I'm wondering about direct note recognition .... plug a guitar directly into Cubase and have it control soft synths directly via audio detection without the added latency of having to go via MIDI conversion first.
Cubase 7.5.30 x64 | WaveLab 8.5.10 x64 | HALion 5.0.1 x64 | HSO 1.5 x64 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | Windows 7 x64
User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby curteye » Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:37 am

MrSoundman wrote:I'm wondering about direct note recognition .... plug a guitar directly into Cubase and have it control soft synths directly via audio detection without the added latency of having to go via MIDI conversion first.


Ah the Holy Grail of MIDI guitar!!!

I have been waiting since 1990 for that.
But ain't gonna happen because the laws of physics have not changed.

'Pitch to Voltage' recognition will always take as much time as it needs for the 'cycle' to complete.
While this works fine on higher notes (frequencies) it is not so kool on lower notes.
That's why this tech is rough for bassists.
It simply takes too long for the Pitch to Voltage recognition part to be usable in works
other than ballads or adagio (slow) stuff.

There are other ways around this limitation such as the Zeta 'wired fret' technology
but that is another topic for discussion.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mac Pro w/3 4k monitors.
On-line in Jan 2015

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5026
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 183 times

Re: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby papi61 » Sat Dec 21, 2013 4:04 am

MrSoundman wrote:I'm wondering about direct note recognition .... plug a guitar directly into Cubase and have it control soft synths directly via audio detection without the added latency of having to go via MIDI conversion first.


And legions of guitarists who for decades have learned to cope with MIDI delays and adjusted their style of playing accordingly will suddenly feel lost and clueless... Pat Metheny might be too old to adjust back and will likely keep playing with his Roland thingie... :lol:
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby Newman50 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:26 pm

Yamaha made some really good modeling amps .. I think they were called the DG series.... could be a big jump in guitar amp modeling, particularly where Line 6 has been working with Bogner and using actual tubes in the modeling amps
Newman50
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:55 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Yamaha buys Line 6

Postby BriHar » Tue Dec 31, 2013 2:58 pm

Let's stick to one thread:
viewtopic.php?f=198&t=52548
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.30 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1983
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 136 times


Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests