Um, I am stumped (can't record MIDI)

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software

Um, I am stumped (can't record MIDI)

Postby twilightsong » Fri Mar 15, 2013 3:00 am

Oh gawd, this is probably an obvious one, like "Set your markers" but I am unable to record any MIDI data. The track(s) is armed, the Input and Outputs are set correctly...I hit "RECORD" and as I play my controller I can hear the VSTi playing back, and a new MIDI Part is created, but there isn't any note or controller data contained therein. STUMPED :evil:
"There is no avant-garde; only some people a bit behind." -- Edgar Varese
-----------------------------------------------------------
Cubase 5.5.2/ Win 7 64-bit/ Quad 9550/ UAD-2/ Wavelab 4/ more sample libraries than I can remember
twilightsong
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1808
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Um, I am stumped (can't record MIDI)

Postby thinkingcap » Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:57 am

Filters..?!
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Um, I am stumped (can't record MIDI)

Postby Alexander Andresen » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:36 pm

Im having a similar problem right now. I just recorded a Woodwind part. Then continued on to record a Brass part, but although I get sound, and the record button is armed, nothing records when I hit record and play along to it. I dont even get a midi region.
Cubase 7.0.2, Macbook Pro 2.5 GHz i7, 8GB RAM

Alexander Andresen
New Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Um, I am stumped (can't record MIDI)

Postby Elektrobolt » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:57 pm

Like thinkingcap said... preferences > MIDI > filter
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Um, I am stumped (can't record MIDI)

Postby Alexander Andresen » Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:00 pm

Thanks, I figured it out. It was a, like most cases, an error on my part to due ignorance. Im new to Cubase and some how accidentally set my punch-out button. :oops:
Cubase 7.0.2, Macbook Pro 2.5 GHz i7, 8GB RAM

Alexander Andresen
New Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Um, I am stumped (can't record MIDI)

Postby Elektrobolt » Tue Mar 26, 2013 5:02 am

No need to feel embarrassment, mate. We're all beginners at some point. :)
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: Um, I am stumped (can't record MIDI)

Postby curteye » Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:45 am

Elektrobolt wrote:No need to feel embarrassment, mate. We're all beginners at some point. :)


+1
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5280
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 208 times


Return to Older Cubase versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest