Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Discuss all Sequel related topics.

Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Mon Oct 07, 2013 10:54 am

After opening a project I have been working on recently and making quite a few edits, when saving the project, Sequel gives the message 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred.....blah blah blah'.....(not the first time this has happened). This has happened a few times now on both PC's and is very annoying, particularly when I have spent an hour or so doing edits. All edits are lost when this message comes up when trying to save the project, even with another name (unsuccessful) because the project does not save successfully. Sequel is seems to be not as stable or reliable as Cubase and to me is only useful for quick ideas only, not complex projects. More disappointment from Sequel on top of dropped MIDI notes during playback and when Exported to Audio (yes BOTH PC's I run Sequel on have these same problems)...... :( :( :(
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby Chris Dobbs » Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:03 pm

What version and build of Sequel do you have help installed (Help, About)? What operating system is the PC on? Before this version of Sequel, did you have any other versions on this system?
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Moderator
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Thu Oct 10, 2013 6:13 am

Sequel 3 purchased and downloaded one month ago from the Steinberg shop, I'm pretty sure this is version 3.0.1. I have already checked the version number at installation to see if I bneeded to download the update. I run this on either of two PC's depending on what I'm doing at the time. One is Windows 7 with a Dual core AMD CPU (main DAW) and 4 GB RAM, the other is WIndows 8 with a Quad core AMD and 16GB RAM with SSD (convenient for Sequel use). Both PC's have had this problem. Prior to the full version I had the Sequel 3 Trial version installed on the Windows 8 PC. As mentioned in another post, I have MIDI note dropout issues on BOTH PC's as well. If I import the Sequel project into Cubase 7, also installed on the Windows 7 PC, the project plays back OK with no dropouts and no problems with saving. Two days ago I was working on the same project in Sequel on the Windows 7 PC and all I was doing was changing the BASS intrument in the BASS midi track and this error popped up again......'A Serious Problem Has Occurred.....' so now it is not limited to just when the project is being saved. Sequel locked up when this happened this time around, I could not stop playback and could not shutdown Sequel. Had to use Ctrl-Alt-Del to get to the task manager to stop Sequel. The Windows 7 PC uses high end MOTU audio interfaces with rock solid ASIO drivers, ie PCIe-424 with 2408 MKIII, 24IO and 8 Pre connected via optical ADAT link. This setup has been working for a number of years with Cubase (from version 4, regularly upgraded, now at version 7).
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby Chris Dobbs » Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:56 pm

I would suggest trashing your Application Data for Sequel 3 to give it a fresh start:

First, please shut down Sequel. Then go to the Start menu, All Programs, Sequel 3, Sequel 3 Application Data Folder. In the top address bar, you should see “App Data (roaming) Steinberg” Click on Steinberg at the top. This will put you in the Steinberg app data folder. Trash any Sequel folder that you see here. This will trash your key commands, preferences, sound card settings, etc. It also should clear up the problem you are having. Restart Sequel and reset your Audio Interface.

Start a new empty project and save it. Do you get the same error?
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Moderator
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Fri Oct 11, 2013 9:04 am

I would like to know the details (rationale) behind/about why you think this will solve the problem, before blindly trashing everything that has been set up. The problem occurs intermittently, so it may not occur the first time, or the next time I open a new blank project and save it. Has this solved the problem for other people?
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby Chris Dobbs » Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:37 pm

The most common cause for the "A Serious Error Has Occurred..." is damaged App Data/Preferences. It can also be caused by Operating System conflicts and third party software/drivers, but most commonly it is the App Data/Preferences (particularly when the problem is only intermittent). Some users choose to save their old app data in a folder on the desktop (I call mine "old app data") to test if the issue persists. I generally advise users to trash because starting from a clean set of App Data is the best option for testing a problem that is system specific and intermittent. I hope this information is helpful.
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Moderator
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:04 pm

OK. I'll try this at some point. But It is quite interesting that I have had the same problem on two entirely different PC's. Question is, how did the preferences get corrupted? And, will it happen again? Then if it happens again, I have to go and reset the preferences again. How often is this going to happen? I don't have any other program on my PC's that have issues like this. I have a plethora of other Business, Graphics, Utility and Professional design software on my main PC (Windows 8) and none of these the issue Sequel 3 has. I am an Electronics Design Engineer by profession and I am intimately acquainted with PC hardware and software. I write code for Microcontrollers and design Electronics hardware of all kinds. I also like photography. So you can imagine what types of software I have installed on my PC. As I was writing this, I had Sequel in the background after running the tests above. I just went to close down Sequel and guess what????? 'A serious problem has occurred:.................again............the other thing is that Sequel will not restart after this has happened. I have to at least log out of Windows and log back in to get Sequel to start up. Keep you posted.........
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:11 pm

Anyway, mysteriously and with NO CHANGES to the PC as yet, I have not had this issue in the last few days. Definitely totally RANDOM. It must be the way I frown, or hold my tongue that makes the difference. Or maybe its related to the power line frequency, sunspots or moon phases.......
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby Chris Dobbs » Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:26 pm

Gremlins. Glad to hear it's working for the time being (knock on wood)!
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Moderator
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:58 am

GREMLINS? GREMLINS? I DON'T THINK SO!! New PC setup. Decided to update my DAW PC with a new Motherbord, CPU, RAM. AMD FX4300, ASUS M5A78L-MX V2, 4GB DDR3 etc etc, since the old hardware was a bit long in the tooth. Installed Windows 8 OS, Cubse 7, Sequel 3. MOTU PCIe424 sound with 2408MKii and 24I/O as audio interface. Guess what!! After running for a little while then loading a few projects to check for MIDI dropouts and other issues, MIDI drops out and I got back my old friend 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred.......'. ON A NEW PC, CLEAN OS INSTALL, CLEAN CUBASE AND SEQUEL INSTALL. SEQUEL HAS THESE ISSUES - NOT ANY OF MY HARDWARE!!!!!! NOT ANY OF MY SETTINGS!!!!!

Steinberg, please fix your buggy software!!!!!!! SEQUEL 3 user = Unhappy user.
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby Chris Dobbs » Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:38 pm

I'm sorry that the problem is occurring for you on another system.

One other thing, just because you did not mention it in your post, you have updated to 3.0.1 and the HSSE update now, correct? http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... quel3.html

At this point, I would suggest creating a support request with your local distributor so they can help. If you were in the US, I'd setup a remote to take a look at it with you.
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Moderator
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Tue Oct 22, 2013 5:40 am

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, Sequel 3.0.1 and HSSE udpates applied (versions checked in startup splash screen).........

Cubase loads and runs the same Sequel pojects on the same PC without MIDI dropouts of any kind. Same setup, same hardware. BUT, for the first time yesterday Cubase 7 threw 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred....' message when loading a second Sequel project, this happened when the first project was being closed to open the second.

There would be little point in a remote session with anyone, because we could be there all day before the issue occurred. You would likely check all the settings on the PC, Sequel etc and go away scratching your head. There are just too many variables. What are the specs of the PC's the Steinberg developers use? How many PC's types are used for testing and verification? What types of Audio hardware do you use on your dev PC's. etc etc etc.......we are in a 'Needle in a haystack' scenario. Obviously you are aware that Sequel throws this error message in some scenarios. And you have suggeted a fix. But have you actually found WHY the damage occurs to App Data/Preferences?????? Are the developers using a bad function call or old dev library????? Who knows...........Sequel is usable, just, but annoying. Maybe someday there will be another update. I'll wait.
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby Chris Dobbs » Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:17 pm

Did you trash your Cubase folders from App Data as well? Since Cubase has also given the error, perhaps it is a shared item. It was not in my original suggestion, but considering that it happened in C7, I would suggest giving it a try.

After you trash the App Data, load C7 first, then shut down. Then load Sequel. I hope this will be helpful.
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Moderator
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:54 am

You missed my point entirely. The latest incident happened on a NEW PC, new CPU, new MB, new RAM, new HDD - fresh, clean installation of everything, including OS, no other programs, only Sequel 3 and Cubase 7 onto a formatted HDD. Then the first run of Sequel 3 and first run of Cubase 7 on the new PC resulted in the 'A Serious Problem...........' error message. Why has the App Data become damaged/corrupted in the first place??????? Why don't you find the cause of this?????? IF this is happening, does that not point to some coding error/problem/bug in Sequel? (and maybe Cubase 7 now). And to reiterate - the error message has happened on two other PC's with Sequel 3. Additionally, Sequel 3 drops MIDI notes for several of my projects on ALL FIVE different PC's that I have now loaded Sequel onto and tried. When I get time and the inclination to do your troubleshooting for you, I may try and route all MIDI tracks to other instruments other than Halion, if that is possible, to see if NOTES are still dropped.
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby Chris Dobbs » Wed Oct 23, 2013 2:37 pm

I am sorry that I do not have a simple answer for why this problem is persisting across multiple systems for you. I am not able to recreate it. Since you are having the issue on a newly formatted system, I would suggest contacting your local technical support through MySteinberg so they can tech the problem directly with you.
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Moderator
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:42 pm

Response from local Steinberg support in Australia:

>>

"I did notice that if I tried to do particular things with the project you sent me I was able to cause a crash everytime.. Such as deleting the 4th track.. Or opening the 3rd insert on the 4th Track (This was on a Mac... On PC I was able to delete it but got Serious Error occurred from other things)

I tried to replicate what that channel had on it in another project and didn't have the crash problems.. So there is the possibility that some of the data within the project is corrupted in some way (could be caused by the number of crashes etc.. The crashes themselves could be caused by something else)"

>>


Soooooo.......crashes are happening on MAC and PC platforms.

My crash logs all report the same error, C0000005 ACCESS VIOLATION in Sequel.exe. Web search tells me that this error is an application (Sequel.exe in this case) attempting to access an 'unknown' memory location. Definite BUG in Sequel code that affects MAC and Windows OS's. Hopefully Steinberg Developers have information on hand from my local support guy. Hope you find the problem guys...........
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby Chris Dobbs » Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:15 pm

I would agree though that the best thing to do would be to start a new empty project. Do you get a crash from a new empty project?
Chris Dobbs
Application Specialist
Steinberg US Support

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Chris Dobbs
Moderator
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:21 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Thu Nov 21, 2013 1:22 am

Hi Chris,

Thanks for your reply and attempts to help to date.

It may surprise you, but all of my projects start out as new, empty projects. I can't say if a new empty project has crashed or not, because I don't generally open and close same. The whole idea of Sequel is to create music, using audio and MIDI loops, isn't it? So as soon as you load a track with something, using Sequel as intended, the project is no longer empty. My issues usually start at some point during the adding and manipulation of tracks and content.

As my local support person has found, the problem with one of my project on hand to load, is repeatable on MAC and PC platforms to varying degrees. Does it take a rocket scientist to figure out that Sequel must be doing something to the project content to cause the crashes and dropouts? As tracks are altered and effects and inserts are added the problem seems to worsen. Just the other day I was just loading and listening to my recent projects, nothing else. I loaded them in random order. On loading the third project Sequel just sat there waiting forever after bringing up the track content. After closing (using Windows Task Manager to shut it down) and restating Sequel and going through the process again, loading different projects and listening to them, Sequel threw the message 'A Serious Problem........'

My local support person has sent the project and his findings to Steinberg engineers in Germany. It's now up to them to find the issue/s.

The point here is that THE LOCAL SUPPORT PERSON HERE IN AUSTRALIA HAS EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEMS ON HIS PC AND MAC with my project loaded, repeatably. My project is nothing special, uses nothing but Steinberg content and features available in Sequel 3 and should in theory run without issues. But it doesn't.

It is now about 2 and a half months since I first bought Sequel 3. I have been messing around for a lot of my time during that period trying to find fault with my gear. MY gear is not faulty. I have run the software on several different systems with the same issues on all of them. They all have differing configurations, typical of most home user PC's, and exceed Steinbergs' recommended minimum system requirements. I am not spending any more time on fault finding Steinbergs' product. That is their responsibility.........I can send you my project if you like, or you can get it from the Yamaha support person here in Australia. Techsupport_MPD@gmx.yamaha.com.

You have suggested (10 Oct 2013 post above) that the project Apps/Preferences file/folder getting corrupted is to blame. Why doesn't someone at Steinberg figure out why this happens?????? Why don't you find out why C000005 ACCESS VIOLATION errors occur. Why don't you find out why Sequel drops MIDI notes???? Why don't you find out why Sequel 3 .exe throws a 'R6205 - Pure virtual function call error' while you are at it??????? I have also had this happen on a couple of my PC's when Sequel is starting up (randomly of course!). Over to you to get all of these randomly occurring bugs and issues fixed along with Steinberg Germany developers. Good luck.
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby leo tolstoy » Tue Nov 26, 2013 2:30 pm

I've always had midi drop out - i just assumed it was my system set up not realising its a glitch....please sort it out SB - you have the power!
leo tolstoy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:44 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby MeyersRoche999 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:44 pm

I share your frustration, as Sequel 3 gives me the exact same problem. This has been occurring for months. Someone at Steinberg needs to realized how HUGE of a problem this is, and take whatever methods necessary to FIX it. This is not just some minor annoyance. It is a detrimental issue that renders the software basically useless. If we can't save our work, what's the point? This bug, whatever it is, defeats the entire purpose of the program itself. I cannot begin to describe the level of frustration that occurs when a week into working on a song, happy with the material...everything is brought to a crashing hault by this. Project dead and unalterable. Nothing can be changed, added or removed. An entire week of work down the toilet, pretty much. Did you ever hear back form Steinberg on this issue? Did you ever find a solution?
MeyersRoche999
New Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:52 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby rkabz54 » Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:09 pm

Obviously the Steinberg software engineers who write and maintain Sequel are incapable of fixing this problem....still get this problem intermittently and still waiting for a fix....any comments from Steinberg engineers?????
rkabz54
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Sequel gives 'A Serious Problem Has Occurred'

Postby sandman44 » Sat Sep 20, 2014 7:04 pm

"A Serious Problem Has Occurred" BINGO! this may get us all a little closer the root of this problem, seeing i have this random occurrence as well,this all happened after upgrading my cubase 7 to the latest version and installing my Novation impulse midi controller software (AutoMap), I was thinking the AutoMap was the sole problem it was glitchy when loaded properly and other issues as aforementioned within the DAW but now after reading this thread - Cubase 7 seems to be the common denominator.
sandman44
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 6:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Sequel

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest