Cubase and 4K monitors?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby Reiknir » Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:29 am

Patanjali wrote:If one wants to run 4K video at high refresh rates, multiple top-end video cards are required, which is why I suggested feeding video in at lower resolution into another monitor or an actual TV(with overscan off), or timecode sync to a separate video machine.


Nope, Nvidia does not support it in software but AMD/ATI and some Matrox cards with dual outputs allow output combining, so we can use fairly cheap cards to drive 4K screens, we have been using them with IBM T221 and DVI adapters for that purpose for years.
User avatar
Reiknir
Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby Patanjali » Mon Aug 05, 2013 10:22 am

Reiknir wrote:That HDMI is sending the signal as 24Hz does not mean that they will be displayed as such

Generically, the limitation with current 4K TVs is exactly about the input rate, not about the display rate after that.

The quality of up-conversion is the next issue with the likes of the Seikis, compared to the major brands that are charging 4-5 times as much. As I have said, if the Seikis will at least work as reasonable monitors for Cubase and general computing (but not necessarily TVs or video editing)

Reiknir wrote:Nope, Nvidia does not support it in software but AMD/ATI and some Matrox cards with dual outputs allow output combining ...

Sorry, what do you mean by 'output combining' as it relates to current and future 4K TVs?

When I said about multiple video cards, I was referring to CrossfireX (AMD) and SLI (NVidia) links to combine the GPU power to go out one high bandwidth video port, like DisplayPort or DL-DVI. Most of the power is about getting high framerates for gaming/video, because only one card will handle Cubase non-video stuff at 4K.
Patanjali
Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : SSDx4+2 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & Samsung 55" 4K.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+uKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.20 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath/SO PP/Pianos/Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby theRoyal1 » Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:04 am

I have been eyeing that very monitor and also considering getting 2- 2560x1080 Ultra-wide monitors Stacked

The one thing that I noticed in the reviews for the 4k Monitor is the 30hz rate gives noticeable lag on the mouse.
The reviewer said while it's noticeable, you can get used to it...sigh... I think I'll wait til at least 60hz to jump onto my 4k or just go w/an Ultra-wide stacked setup :)
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby Patanjali » Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:58 am

theRoyal1 wrote:The one thing that I noticed in the reviews for the 4k Monitor is the 30hz rate gives noticeable lag on the mouse.

I thought that was mitigated when the vertical sync lock was disabled? One user mentioned it in relation to using an Xbox controller.
Patanjali
Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : SSDx4+2 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & Samsung 55" 4K.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+uKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.20 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath/SO PP/Pianos/Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby theRoyal1 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:13 am

Patanjali wrote:
theRoyal1 wrote:The one thing that I noticed in the reviews for the 4k Monitor is the 30hz rate gives noticeable lag on the mouse.

I thought that was mitigated when the vertical sync lock was disabled? One user mentioned it in relation to using an Xbox controller.
I didn't see the review you are referring to.

I was speaking of a review on YT where they reviewed the SEIKI as a monitor @4K (runs @30hz) & @ 1920x1080.
and the reviewer noted the mouse lag @30hz
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby serenity » Tue Aug 13, 2013 9:48 pm

Reiknir wrote:Dislayport supports 3840 × 2160 × 30 bpp @ 60 Hz, HDMI does support 4096×2160 24bpp @ 60 but only if you have HDMI 2, none of the budget 4k TV's support either of these standards, so far.


Hi. Do you know what cable is better for me ? I have a Dell U2713H (2560x1440). When working with tracks/mixer in Cubase its no problem with ghosting, but when watching video it is a problem. I'm using DVI-D cable. Is Display Port or HDMI will better for ghosting ? What is best cable for it ?
Pawel

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit / Cubase 7 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
User avatar
serenity
Member
 
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby Stealth » Tue Aug 13, 2013 11:34 pm

I would love to see what the Mix Console looks like on a 4k display :shock:
i7 4800MQ 2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, Win7 64bit, Cubase 7.5 64bit
Stealth
Member
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby ptbbos » Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:22 pm

The 50" Seiki is working great as a main display for Cubase. I use it for the project and midi windows, the mixer is off to the side on another monitor. I have not noticed any lag due to the monitor, but still experience Cubase-related slowdowns (the same as on a Dell 30") when working on longer (~2 hours), larger projects. No issues driving the Seiki, the Dell and 2x 24" off a single GTX 670, but have not tried PC gaming on the screen (it works well enough for PS3 gaming though - 1080P@60hz).
ptbbos
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:52 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby Stealth » Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:17 pm

ptbbos wrote:The 50" Seiki is working great as a main display for Cubase. I use it for the project and midi windows, the mixer is off to the side on another monitor. I have not noticed any lag due to the monitor, but still experience Cubase-related slowdowns (the same as on a Dell 30") when working on longer (~2 hours), larger projects. No issues driving the Seiki, the Dell and 2x 24" off a single GTX 670, but have not tried PC gaming on the screen (it works well enough for PS3 gaming though - 1080P@60hz).

Just curious, if you put the mix console full screen on the 50" 4k display can you see everything (ALL rack elements including every strip device fully extended) all at once?
i7 4800MQ 2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, Win7 64bit, Cubase 7.5 64bit
Stealth
Member
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby Maincat » Wed Aug 14, 2013 8:34 pm

janpeek wrote:I have two 23" HD monitors but it's still pretty awkward.


I remember the Atari mono monitor :geek:

Awkward with those? :roll: :lol: If you don't want them, you could donate them to me :shock:
Steve
Cubase 7.5.30 64 Bit
Windows 8 Professional 64 Bit
Maincat
Junior Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:34 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby theRoyal1 » Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:56 am

ptbbos wrote:The 50" Seiki is working great as a main display for Cubase. I use it for the project and midi windows, the mixer is off to the side on another monitor. I have not noticed any lag due to the monitor, but still experience Cubase-related slowdowns (the same as on a Dell 30") when working on longer (~2 hours), larger projects. No issues driving the Seiki, the Dell and 2x 24" off a single GTX 670, but have not tried PC gaming on the screen (it works well enough for PS3 gaming though - 1080P@60hz).

Excellent info!

Are you running the 50" at full res (3840x2160) @30hz over HDMI?
From my understanding HDMI 2.o will support 60hz w/4k but the current HDMI standard doesn't and hence the 30hz.

Also, how does the text look!?? No sense in going 4k if I can't read what's on my trax...lol

ftr, This Seiki does support 120hz at 1080p... very tempting and wondering if a firmware upgrade would be feasible when HDMI 2.o the standard comes through...
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby ptbbos » Thu Aug 15, 2013 12:39 pm

Just curious, if you put the mix console full screen on the 50" 4k display can you see everything (ALL rack elements including every strip device fully extended) all at once?

I haven't tried, but will give it a next time I've got Cubase open.

Are you running the 50" at full res (3840x2160) @30hz over HDMI?
From my understanding HDMI 2.o will support 60hz w/4k but the current HDMI standard doesn't and hence the 30hz.

Yes, running at 3840x2160 at 30hz.

Also, how does the text look!?? No sense in going 4k if I can't read what's on my trax...lol

Crystal clear. I'll try a screen grab later.

ftr, This Seiki does support 120hz at 1080p... very tempting and wondering if a firmware upgrade would be feasible when HDMI 2.o the standard comes through...

From what I've read, it doesn't sound like it will be upgradeable. But, for the trade-off in size/resolution/price vs. other monitors, I can live with 30hz.
ptbbos
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:52 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby Patanjali » Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:55 am

theRoyal1 wrote:... how does the text look!?? No sense in going 4k if I can't read what's on my trax ...

A 50" is like 4 Full HD 25" screens, so the pixels will be 4% larger than on a 24" screen.

A 50" at monitor distances is NOT retina. A 32" like the ASUS or Sharp 4Ks is getting a bit closer to retina.
Patanjali
Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : SSDx4+2 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & Samsung 55" 4K.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+uKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.20 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath/SO PP/Pianos/Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 825
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby theRoyal1 » Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:07 am

Thanks for all the input gents...
A screen grab would be awesome! :geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby ptbbos » Fri Aug 16, 2013 5:02 pm

Ok, here's a couple images.

One is the mixer channel (and at the default width, 36 channels fit across the screen).

Another is from the project window, just illustrating font clarity, etc.

The final image, is just the full screen (on an empty project).
Attachments
C7 - Full window.PNG
(351.32 KiB) Not downloaded yet
C7 - Project view.PNG
(48.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet
C7 - Mixer Channel.PNG
(92.83 KiB) Not downloaded yet
ptbbos
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:52 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby Stealth » Fri Aug 16, 2013 7:36 pm

ptbbos wrote:Ok, here's a couple images.

One is the mixer channel (and at the default width, 36 channels fit across the screen).

Another is from the project window, just illustrating font clarity, etc.

The final image, is just the full screen (on an empty project).

:shock: :shock: :shock: Very impressive! Thanks for posting the images :)
i7 4800MQ 2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, Win7 64bit, Cubase 7.5 64bit
Stealth
Member
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby HarrySound » Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:34 pm

I have a 27" top spec 2012 iMac and of course i'm running in 2560x1440.
I find text of something like Kontakt is hard to read it's so small. Cubase is generally ok but imaging that on a 4k res is going to be silly.
User avatar
HarrySound
Junior Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby theRoyal1 » Sat Aug 17, 2013 5:28 am

ptbbos wrote:Ok, here's a couple images.

One is the mixer channel (and at the default width, 36 channels fit across the screen).

Another is from the project window, just illustrating font clarity, etc.

The final image, is just the full screen (on an empty project).

Awesome...and definitely huge! lol
Is there a way that you can grab a pic with of the actual set with Cubase open... it will give us a sense of scale ;)


Definitely appreciate the grabs!! :geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby knuckle47 » Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:43 am

I am enjoying reading this. It is quite over my head technically but I still surprisingly comprehend quite a bit. Read several reviews on this TV and have a question.

Which video cards are you thinking would perform best driving this type of monitor?

I am using an AMD 6700 Radeon HD series card for my 3 dell 22" monitors and have 1 using dvi from the card and 1 hdmi from the card. The third is dvi from the motherboard . All works well but you guys are describing something seemingly superior for the very near future.
PC Win 7 64bit | VST Instrument Collection | i7 3930 | 32gb Corsair ram : MOTU 896 HD FireWire, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256gb Win 7 OS | 2nd Crucial 64gb with Cubase 7.5.2| WD 2 TB Caviar Black | 500gb project drive | Cubasis and iPad 4th 64gb. Guitarist not really a keyboard player, but tryin' like hell
User avatar
knuckle47
Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:24 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby knuckle47 » Mon Aug 19, 2013 4:31 am

Well, scratch that idea.... I did a bit more reading on this and it might appear the near future cost-wise is 2-3 years down the road. The 60 fps reality took something like 4 super cards powered with 2 - 1500W power supplies

Very cool stuff however. I love it
PC Win 7 64bit | VST Instrument Collection | i7 3930 | 32gb Corsair ram : MOTU 896 HD FireWire, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256gb Win 7 OS | 2nd Crucial 64gb with Cubase 7.5.2| WD 2 TB Caviar Black | 500gb project drive | Cubasis and iPad 4th 64gb. Guitarist not really a keyboard player, but tryin' like hell
User avatar
knuckle47
Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:24 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby mbr » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:48 pm

i use 2 of these on top of each other with great success with C 7

http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/LN32D405E3DXZA

very happy with it
Win 7 64-bit SP1 ;i7 Intel @3.50 Hz ;32 Gigs RAM ; SSD OS ;1 X 3 TB RAID0 for Recording
1 X 3TB RAID0 for Sample Streaming ;Cubase 7.5.30 ;Hammerfall RME ; O1V96(v2) & 3 UAD-1
Many hardware synths and sample libraries ; Midisport 8/8 ; BIG BEN Apogee
CMC ( FD, CH, PD, TP, AI & QC )

Recordings done in 88.2 / 32 bit

aka MIDISLUT (old forums)
mbr
Junior Member
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 4:26 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby JMCecil » Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:11 pm

mbr wrote:i use 2 of these on top of each other with great success with C 7

http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/LN32D405E3DXZA

very happy with it

yeah, but that is still crap resolution. Heck those are 720p. A single 30" monitor will have nearly the screen space as both of those combined.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3858
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 169 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby Freddie H » Mon Aug 19, 2013 9:03 pm

I´m using 2x Full HDs 28# Samsung Monitors in 1920 X 1080 resolution.
I don't want a screen even smaller then HD resolutions like crazy small 2560x1440. That's horrible small in my opinion if its not on a 52- 72# screen. How are you expect to work and see and edit things with it? You can't see?


I have perfect eyesight. :) Some 3part software's GUI is already to small today in 1920 X 1080 resolution. Especially if you are into program and editing your software's. I don't know why so many are so afraid of making it bigger? Until the software manufactures keep making these small GUI made for old 800 X 600 resolutions screens, I will stay in HD 1920 X 1080.


Check this horrible small GUIs example. This picture is even zoomed in. :?
http://www.samplitude.com/en/wp-content ... ndence.png
http://proaudioboutique.com/wp-content/ ... -880px.jpg


I saw UAD 2 start making bigger GUI! Finally someone gets it.
Its more then welcome. ;)
http://static.kvraudio.com/i/b/bx_tuner_gui_hq.jpg
http://static.kvraudio.com/i/b/e765_param_hq.jpg
http://static.kvraudio.com/i/b/engl_e765_gui_hq.jpg


Best Regards
Freddie
-Highly developed spirits often encounter resistance from mediocre minds. -It really matters!
User avatar
Freddie H
Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 7:59 am
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 79 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby SteveInChicago » Mon Aug 19, 2013 9:20 pm

Hm. I am using a 27 inch 2540X1440, it's perfect. Small stuff like Kontakt 5 is small, but not too small. I have presbyopia something fierce too.
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4793
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 293 times

Re: Cubase and 4K monitors?

Postby knuckle47 » Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:08 am

My son uses 3 27 " monitors and a 42" TV monitor. He is into games and I am quite impressed when I go to his house. That surround sound and video brings some big experiences to the entertainment portion.
Forgive my dumb question here but...is the purpose of obtaining these 2560 and higher resolution numbers is so fonts and graphics look sharper on a large screen ?

I see where a big 4k monitor can provide some massive real estate for mixers and recording functions it seems to be the pixel makeup that I don't understand
PC Win 7 64bit | VST Instrument Collection | i7 3930 | 32gb Corsair ram : MOTU 896 HD FireWire, Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256gb Win 7 OS | 2nd Crucial 64gb with Cubase 7.5.2| WD 2 TB Caviar Black | 500gb project drive | Cubasis and iPad 4th 64gb. Guitarist not really a keyboard player, but tryin' like hell
User avatar
knuckle47
Member
 
Posts: 519
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:24 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 6 times

PreviousNext

Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests